We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Champaign
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

WOW, we were expecting a typical chain experience, but this hotel is a notch above. Friendly service, clean facility, breakfast served on stoneware dishes with real silverware, an omelet station at breakfast - we felt spoiled!
The front desk does ask you to sign off on a no smoking policy and parking info as they want to be certain that you are clear about expectations and what will happen if you ignore them(the surrounding businesses have been known to tow cars parked in their spaces)
Located close to all we wanted to do on our weekend girls getaway.
Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vmadden, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for the review! I am glad to hear we impressed on your recent stay. Our breakfast is one of our points of pride and I strive to have a staff that is just as impressively friendly. I hope you think of us the next time you're looking to get away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    301
    179
    91
    41
See reviews for
362
97
39
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I was put on the third floor during my visit. The housekeeper I had was rude. She didn't bother to greet me after I told her good morning. She was on the telephone speaking in such negative language about being cheated on. She held this same conversation in front of my door for 30 min straight. I called down to the front desk to speak with the manager but the teenager that answered saying she wasn't available and quickly hung up on me. First and last time stay here. Don't waste your money here paying for the ghetto housekeepers and their pathetic lives. Go to the Hilton.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheilaF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vmadden, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your response. I apologize that more wasn't done at the time, that obviously is not that way we want to do business and the employee has been spoken to and disciplined, the content of her conversation doesn't even so much matter as she shouldn't have been on the phone in a public area in the first place. Feedback like this is very important to me. I hope you'll reconsider us in the future and give me an opportunity to win back your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Typically stay with another major brand, but chose this as everything else was booked up. Turned out to be a very nice facility. Didn't have my rewards number handy at check in and they weren't able to look it up either. Had to research it on my own and have them tag it to my reservation. Did not care fo rthe fact that they make you sign a form stating you won't smoke in the room, and that you understand their parking policy/locations. That part made me fel like I was staying at a bottom feeder hotel. Room had a nice appearance, and had excellent space. Sleeper sofa available to allow for more sleeping space, seperate desk/work area, and kitchinette with microwave and small fridge. Bathroom is split with tub & toilet in a seperate room, and the sink/vanity outside & part of the main room. Bathroom floor tile was about the oldest feature of the room. Bed was comfortable. Only complaint about the room was the paper thin door to the adjoining room. Breakfast area was tight but had room for a lot of people. Made to order omlettes were just right.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSGAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vmadden, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a thorough review. I understand your feelings about signing the extra smoking and parking policy sheets. We mainly do this because every so often someone checking in at the end of a long day on the road or in meetings will drift off when we tell them about parking, it has been my experience that just telling someone they could be towed isn't the same as making them sign a piece of paper that tells them the same thing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Champaign hotels
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#2 of 25 in Champaign
476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
I Hotel and Conference Center
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Champaign
La Quinta Inn Champaign
#7 of 25 in Champaign
582 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham Champaign
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign
Address: 101 Trade Centre Dr, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61820-7244
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Champaign
#9 Business Hotel in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign 2.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Champaign Hotel Champaign
Hawthorn Suites Champaign
Champaign Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing