We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Illini!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Champaign
CHAMPAIGN
1 review
“Go Illini!!!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

A nice hotel very close to Memorial Stadium. The hotel is within walking distance to all athletic facilities. The bathrooms are dated with little room. The beds were very comfy!!! The living space was large. Good place for a family. Close to resturants, grocery stores, gas, and U of I campus. We have stayed at this hotel a number of times and will go back again. The hotel fills up quick for U of I activities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank KIM L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vmadden, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for the response. I apologize if the bathrooms feel dated, we have been updating them, the tub surrounds are less than 18 months old and the wallpaper was redone this time last year, but I understand if you still feel they felt out of date over all. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay overall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    301
    179
    91
    41
See reviews for
362
97
39
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
PALATINE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very good experience. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.Convenient and a great breakfast. The price is a bit of an issue.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
1 Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHAMPAIGN
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

While making a reservation I asked if it were possible to switch to a less expensive room if one became available. Staff member said this would be fine. At check-in I asked if there was a less expensive room available. The staff member said no. Another staff member told the girl I was dealing with to offer me a specific room which was cheaper. I took that room. The next morning I asked to NOT have my room cleaned. The staff member reported it at the front desk. When I returned to my hotel later that evening, my hotel room had been somewhat straightened and cleaned. It wasn't until the next morning while in the shower I realized that the staff member who "cleaned" my room had removed ALL soap from my room and not replaced it. I called the GM to inform her of the inconvenience of not having soap while in the shower. She has yet to return my call.
Overall everything was average. I felt it was kind of pricey for what I got. I felt the staff was not helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Lacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUGAR GROVE
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Was pleased that I was allowed out of my reservation when my first grandchild came early. I fully expected to have to pay for a night that I wouldn't actually be staying.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Fredrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHAMPAIGN
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Everything was very good. Service and location were great. Would not change anything. The front door staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHICAGO
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is friendly, clean and good food! Great breakfast and food for dinner!
Considerate staff. Would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank ROBERTA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLEN ELLYN
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Pros
Proximity to conference I was attending at Hilton Garden Inn
Excellent Rate
Complimentary Dinner on Wednesday was a 4
Staff friendly

Cons
Lack of parking
Room wasn't available upon my arrival at 11 p.m. due to "computer error". Provided free room on other side of town. Would have preferred to pay for the room I reserved in the location I wanted.
Soft/old matress
Porn programing was first thing that came up when I turned on the TV. Would'nt bring my kids to this hotel for that reason.
Narrow bath tub
Musty smell in room (I cleaned the hvac unit filter myself)
More noise from other rooms than normal
Poor impression of exterior due to revolving door being out of service with yellow warning tape wrapped around it. Looked like a construction zone/crime scene.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank STEVEN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Champaign hotels
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#2 of 25 in Champaign
476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
I Hotel and Conference Center
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Champaign
La Quinta Inn Champaign
#7 of 25 in Champaign
582 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham Champaign
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign
Address: 101 Trade Centre Dr, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61820-7244
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Champaign
#9 Business Hotel in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign 2.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Champaign Hotel Champaign
Hawthorn Suites Champaign
Champaign Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing