We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was just fine.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate By Wyndham Champaign
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Champaign
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Nothing fancy, but was I wanting fancy? Nope! It was centrally located, breakfast was "Free breakfast included" food. I wasn't expecting anything else. The rooms were clean and so was the pool area.

Would we stay there again.. sure

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slick_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reneesample, General Manager at Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for the much appreciate good review. We look forward to your next visit. Renee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (957)
There are newer reviews for Wingate By Wyndham Champaign
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 957 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
reneesample, General Manager at Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A Wyndham traveler
Naperville
1010
Reviewed September 4, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
reneesample, General Manager at Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Since May 2013, every month I frequented this hotel for work. On my last stay, it started out on the wrong foot even before I arrived. I left work late at 8pm en route to Champaign and checked my voice messages. At 6:14 PM, the Wyndham-Champaign clerk left a message saying it was past 6 PM and I had not checked-in. He further said, unless I call by 6:30 PM, he would release my reservation.

I returned the call at 8 PM only to be fed some line about not having a guaranteed room and their policy for a 6 PM check-in. I informed him I reserved the room via Wyndham’s website and used my credit card. He continued talking jargon about a 6 PM check-in policy. Fortunately, he didn’t cancel my reservations.

I arrived around mid-night exhausted. I asked the clerk to further clarify the earlier call. He said he wasn’t aware of it, didn’t see a note and it a different clerk left the message. He gave me my room keys and directed me to the backside of the hotel for parking and entry to my room. When I entered the back door, I began looking for room number 166 the clerk wrote on the card holder. I couldn’t find it, went to the front desk but he wasn’t there. I eventually found him in the maintenance closet. He said he meant to write 106.

So I proceeded to my room only to discover it was an Accessible room. I went back to the front desk informing the clerk I specifically requested a King bedroom. According to the web selection and email confirmation it says, “1 King Bed Room No smoking; 1 King Bed Non-Smoking Business Class Room …” as compared to selecting an “Accessible 1 King Bed…” He said he wasn’t familiar with that web option nor did I enter a specific request not to have an Accessible room. He then informed me they were overbooked and this was the only room.

I returned to the room to freshen up only to discover multiple towels with red make-up and black eye-liner marks. I threw both on the floor grabbing another which appeared clean. The next morning I left the room with one more night stay remaining. Upon my return, the same two towels with makeup were still on the floor.

Maybe this bad stay was a one-off. I will stay at this hotel again but skeptical.

Room Tip: Confirm your reservation.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reneesample, General Manager at Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest.

I am very glad you recognize sometimes we all have "off" days. PLEASE give us another chance to serve you up to your expectations. Thank you. Renee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
reneesample, General Manager at Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
reneesample, General Manager at Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
reneesample, General Manager at Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Champaign hotels
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
32.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Champaign
La Quinta Inn Champaign
#6 of 25 in Champaign
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Champaign
Red Roof Inn Champaign
#14 of 25 in Champaign
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Champaign
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#3 of 25 in Champaign
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate By Wyndham Champaign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate By Wyndham Champaign

Address: 516 W Marketview Dr, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61822-1391
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Champaign
#7 Business Hotel in Champaign
#8 Family Hotel in Champaign
Price Range: $86 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate By Wyndham Champaign 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate By Wyndham Champaign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Champaign Hotel Champaign
Wingate Hotel Champaign

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing