We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy but decent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate By Wyndham Champaign
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Champaign
Lockport, Illinois
2 reviews
“Noisy but decent”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel was nice with large rooms and a good breakfast. However, the biggest disappointment was the thin walls and floor that let you hear a lot of noise from others, especially from above. Also had to wait for desk clerk to return to desk at check-in.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reneesample, General Manager at Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We do apologize for the noise last night. The individual's boss was contacted this morning and the guest whom was noisy did come back in an apologize. Regrettably, we cannot undo last night but, we do take action against this sort of thing. We operate under the three strikes and your out. Even though we did not have to call the police, we do apologize for any discomfort you experience. Please give us another chance. Don't hesitate to ask for a quiet location. We do our best to please. Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    331
    169
    77
    32
See reviews for
428
159
84
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed here one night in May. Hilton Garden Inn and Homewood Suites were booked out so I gave Wingate a try. I am happy with my choice. The room is very clean with layout similar to Hampton Inn. Check-in and check-out were quick and easy. Breatfast choices were limited but adequate. The hotel is close to highway and shopping mall. It is a 10-15 minutes drive to UIUC. It is a good place to stay for Champaign.Urbana visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXwonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reneesample, General Manager at Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you so very much for the awesome review! Also, we are adding new items to the breakfast bar this week. Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabetha
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Near as I could tell cleanliness is a priority. CLEAN IS KEY!!
everything seemed to be well kept. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reneesample, General Manager at Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so very much for your awesome tripadvisor review! We do hold our room attendants to the highest standards. It is very rewarding our guest notice and appreciate. We look forward to your next visit. Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights over Memorial Day weekend. The best part about it was the comfortable bed and a quiet A/C unit that doesn't wake you up with rattlings/shuttering like some hotels! the continental breakfast was good with a wide variety. The staff was all very friendly and accomodating. The workout room left a little to be desired--someone had removed the TV from the wall and the air conditioning wasn't working, which made for a long workout. Other than getting those things under control, it was a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 77runnergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reneesample, General Manager at Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for the great review. And .....yes we had an air conditioning issue in the fitness room. As of this past Tuesday morning, the repair has been completed and the room is nice and cool again! Additionally, our television also quit a couple of weeks ago. We have our new one ordered and it should be here in a few days. We are so sorry for any inconvenience and look forward to your next visit. Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Champaign hotels
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Champaign
La Quinta Inn Champaign
#7 of 25 in Champaign
584 reviews
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
2.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Champaign
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Champaign
Red Roof Inn Champaign
#16 of 25 in Champaign
121 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#3 of 25 in Champaign
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate By Wyndham Champaign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate By Wyndham Champaign

Property: Wingate By Wyndham Champaign
Address: 516 W Marketview Dr, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61822-1391
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Champaign
#7 Business Hotel in Champaign
#8 Family Hotel in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate By Wyndham Champaign 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate By Wyndham Champaign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Champaign Hotel Champaign
Wingate Hotel Champaign

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing