We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, but needs some tweaks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wingate By Wyndham Champaign
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Champaign
Reviewed May 19, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Reuben S B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
reneesample, General Manager at Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (972)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

812 - 818 of 972 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Gilbert H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
reneesample, General Manager at Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at this property and enjoyed it both times. Very clean rooms and comfortable beds. It's nice having a small microwave and refrigerator in the room. The in-room coffee "pot" is single serve, like a Keurig, and makes great coffee. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast could be better, in my opinion - too many carbs. But, all in all, I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reneesample, General Manager at Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you so very much writing a great review. I am in the process of adding items to our breakfast bar. I am working with a second vendor. We are adding hard boiled eggs and a variety of new pastries. I will continue to examine and improve our breakfast. Thank you. Renee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Bizbox
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
reneesample, General Manager at Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Friendly, clean, newer property.

The only problem is adjusting the temperature at the bathroom faucet, the water is either too cold or too hot, but the shower (thank God) doesn't have that problem. Of course this is less of a problem in summer when the regular water supply temp is ok, but in winter it can be annoying, since the water is either freezing cold or really hot.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank YojoChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reneesample, General Manager at Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you so very much for writing a review. I was unaware of the hot/cold temperature switch in your guest room. I will discuss this with our maintenance manager upon his return tomorrow. I am so very sorry for the inconvenience and am very relieved your shower temperature was perfect. Renee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I've stayed here about 4 times over the past 2 years. It is a fairly new hotel, and very clean. The rooms have all the standard amenities (TV, wireless internet, mini fridge). It's a good value hotel. The free breakfast is OK, not as good as a Hampton Inn, but not bad for free. Usually an egg dish (powdered eggs and bacon on our visit), Belgium waffle iron, canned fruit that was room temp, yogurt and milk, juices, breads, coffee. If you are a Wyndham rewards member, they give you a goodie bag at check in. Our only drawback on the most recent stay (May '13) was that the fitness center temperature was not regulated (very warm and humid), and the TV was removed. Not a huge issue, but if you wanted to workout, you would certainly work up a sweat! The pool looks clean, but we did not use it. Overall, the hotel is starting to age a little, but still very clean.

Room Tip: The king bed room has plenty of room, with a desk and chair, and separate chair / ottoman.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reneesample, General Manager at Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sorry about the warmth in the fitness room. We had an air conditioner needing a repair which was connected to this room. The television did go down about two weeks ago. The maintenance manager thought he could fix it but has since given up. I plan to have it replace by next week. Please accept my apology. We look forward to your next visit. Renee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Pam465
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
reneesample, General Manager at Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Champaign hotels
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Champaign
Red Roof Inn Champaign
#14 of 25 in Champaign
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Champaign
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Champaign
La Quinta Inn Champaign
#6 of 25 in Champaign
616 reviews
32.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#3 of 25 in Champaign
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate By Wyndham Champaign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate By Wyndham Champaign

Address: 516 W Marketview Dr, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61822-1391
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Champaign
#7 Business Hotel in Champaign
#8 Family Hotel in Champaign
Price Range: $81 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate By Wyndham Champaign 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Wingate By Wyndham Champaign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Champaign Hotel Champaign
Wingate Hotel Champaign

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing