We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In a university town but can't stay if you're under 23?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wingate By Wyndham Champaign

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wingate By Wyndham Champaign
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Champaign
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“In a university town but can't stay if you're under 23?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Booked this for unofficial at U of I for me and my girlfriend to find out you have to be 23 to stay here?! A Marriott only requires you to be 18 and 21 at very few ones. The customer service is terrible, will never do business with a Wyndham again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2jzgte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reneesample, General Manager at Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear 2jzgte.

I am so sorry you were told you and your girlfriend could not stay here. If you are over 21, have proper identification and a credit card to guarantee your stay, you CAN stay here at the Wingate. I am new to the hotel and working on training and retraining staff.

Please give us another opportunity to accommodate you.

Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    302
    153
    62
    28
See reviews for
384
150
73
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vincennes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a "no frills" hotel, no restaurant or lounge. Very clean, beds are very comfy, and staff was very frindly. Price is reasonable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank sherryatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reneesample, General Manager at Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for writing a review. We look forward to seeing you soon. Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed everything about our stay. Breakfast was very good with waffles, sausage links or patties, and cheese omelets in addition to the breads, cereals, fruits, and juices one expects at a "continental" breakfast. The pool and hot tub were warm but not too hot. Our room had a king bed along with adequate seating for 4 people. We will stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Goatman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reneesample, General Manager at Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your tripadvisor review. We strive to give the best customer service at an affordable price. We look forward to you next stay with us.

Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have stayed at this Wyngate twice, both times for a week.. We love the spacious rooms and bed was great. Staff is super friendly. But, the breakfast was terrible. I had hoped it would improve over a year. We bought our own granola. The housekeeping staff does not speak one word of English. They never refilled the toilet paper or tissue box. (finally called front desk for T.P.) Pool and hot tub was over run with hoards of very sweet 10 year old local boys celebrating a birthday, so no relaxing in hot tub. Wireless was so slow, we gave up. Could not send files. Finally, no weights in workout room.

We felt really bad that they do NO recycling, even of the newspaper! What decade are they in?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reneesample, General Manager at Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Deborah S.

Thank you for your review. I am the new general manager at the property ......less than one month. I am reviewing the quality of our breakfast and am about to make some changes. I have also hired a couple of bilingual housekeeping staff. This summer, we will be upgrading to high speed internet which is required with all Wyndham properties. Please give us another try.

Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel is marketed for business travelers, but their incredibly slow and spotty internet makes it next to impossible to get any work done while staying here. The hotel overall is nothing special and the terrible internet access is just really irritating. I will definitely be staying at one of the many other nearby options in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reneesample, General Manager at Wingate By Wyndham Champaign, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Dana R.

We appreciate your review. I am so sorry for the quality of the internet access while staying at the Wingate. We are in the process of receiving quotes and are working on upgrading to high speed internet access this summer. Please give us another chance to make your stay a good one.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Champaign hotels
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Champaign
La Quinta Inn Champaign
#5 of 25 in Champaign
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#2 of 25 in Champaign
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Champaign
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate By Wyndham Champaign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate By Wyndham Champaign

Property: Wingate By Wyndham Champaign
Address: 516 W Marketview Dr, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61822-1391
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Champaign
#7 Business Hotel in Champaign
#8 Family Hotel in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate By Wyndham Champaign 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Wingate By Wyndham Champaign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Champaign Hotel Champaign
Wingate Hotel Champaign

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing