We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super hotel staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate By Wyndham Champaign
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Champaign
Reviewed January 15, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
1  Thank susan933
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (957)
There are newer reviews for Wingate By Wyndham Champaign
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

845 - 851 of 957 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

I used to stop at Bloomington, IL but now, because of Wingate, my stop on the way to/from Virginia/Wisconsin is going to be Champaign, IL and Wingate. Love the rooms. Love the pool area. Love the location. Love it, love it, love it! Much better than the other options.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank jar50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank IllinoisIllini_1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is nice and is a good value. On the plus side, the breakfast was free and tasty (but be ware that they start picking it up about 15 minutes before it actually closes). The staff were nice. The beds and pillows were comfy. The rooms were spacious (the hotel pictures are accurate).

On the downside, as of thanksgiving 2012, there was construction next door. Be prepared to get up by 7:30 when they start work. I imagine there will be construction for at least a few more months.

We found the shower temps to be somewhat touchy (went from warm to hot fairly easily), but overall fine. They've replaced the bathroom lights with CFLs, which is great for the environment, but now it feels like we have floodlights in the bathroom. We ended up taking out 2/4 lights so we could bare it.

The clock radio was terrible. The alarm didn't work and it wasn't backlit (so useless in the dark).

On the second and third day, our cards stopped working. This is quite annoying when it's cold out and all you want to do is get in the stupid hotel. The staff were nice about fixing it, but why did it keep happening? We were careful to not store our cards with anything else electronic or magnetized.

The fitness room had a broken treadmill and the tv channels couldn't be changed.

There were several minor annoyances that really took away from the stay. Although it's conveniently located by where we wanted to be, I'm not sure we would stay here again. Thhere are plenty of other hotels to choose from in the samr area. Plus, we dint want to have to deal with construction noise on our vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaime D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is nice and is a good value. On the plus side, the pool and fitness room were nice. The breakfast was free and tasty (but be ware that they start picking it up about 15 minutes before it actually closes). The staff were nice. The beds and pillows were comfy. The rooms were spacious (the hotel pictures are accurate).

On the downside, as of thanksgiving 2012, there was construction next door. Be prepared to get up by 7:30 when they start work. I imagine there will be construction for at least a few more months.

We found the shower temps to be somewhat touchy (went from warm to hot fairly easily), but overall fine. They've replaced the bathroom lights with CFLs, which is great for the environment, but now it feels like we have floodlights in the bathroom. We ended up taking out 2/4 lights so we could bare it.

The clock radio was terrible. The alarm didn't work and it wasn't backlit (so useless in the dark). Not a big issue, since we had cell phone alarms.

On the second day, our cards stopped working. Apparently they can get demagnetized by sitting too close to a credit card and/or smartphone. Although annoying, the staff were nice about fixing it.

There were several minor annoyances (some that couldn't be helped by the hotel), but it was still an ok stay. It's conveniently located by where we wanted to be, so we would stay here again. We might just wait until the construction next door was done.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaime D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

In town for a meeting and found a great rate here. Nice and clean, no problems. Didn't try the breakfast so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Robert_B458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Champaign hotels
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
32.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Champaign
La Quinta Inn Champaign
#6 of 25 in Champaign
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Champaign
Red Roof Inn Champaign
#14 of 25 in Champaign
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Champaign
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#3 of 25 in Champaign
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate By Wyndham Champaign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate By Wyndham Champaign

Address: 516 W Marketview Dr, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61822-1391
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Champaign
#7 Business Hotel in Champaign
#8 Family Hotel in Champaign
Price Range: $86 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate By Wyndham Champaign 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate By Wyndham Champaign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Champaign Hotel Champaign
Wingate Hotel Champaign

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing