We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Job”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate By Wyndham Champaign
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Champaign
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Job”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Traveling on an extended stay for work so I am trying a number of hotels in the area 1 week at a time and was very impressed with the Wingate. Close to the interstate, major restaurants, nice clean room, freshly stocked every day and the pool/hot tub was enjoyable on the couple of times I used them. Normally, a "good" three circle hotel, but the service warrants four! Upon arrival late Sunday night, I was promptly greeted to check in. Was even ask what floor I preferred as they had capacity and if I had any questions about the area. Very impressed given the recent horrible experience I experienced at a different hotel (HI) the week before.
A couple of issues - my room keys on the 3rd day did not work but the front desk quickly fixed the problem and even explained magnetic device (cell phone, etc) might have knocked out the card if they were next to each other. Second was the internet speed. Ok for first 2 nights but afterwards, not acceptable for wireless. My 3G phone connection was faster (I tested it). Otherwise, great experience and I would recommend to others in the area. Mid-priced and much less than others in the area that had much worse service. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zahnpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    334
    171
    78
    33
See reviews for
436
163
85
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Champaign is the central point between Des Moines and family in Kentucy. The Wingate is a nice place to rendezvous. Clean rooms and the very pet friendly. The breakfast kept me from giving a 5 rating across the board but it is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sithlord66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Arrived very late Sat night. Check-in clerk first gave two rooms far away from each other, then found two almost adjoining. He was very nice. Nice workout room, and nice pool. All staff were friendly. Breakfast was good and not rushed..they didn't close down at the stroke of 9:30, and coffee was still available later. Lots of cheaper places nearby, but I think this was worth the nominally higher rate. Cheapest rate for me was found on their own site! The room was very large...one big room with bed towards the far end near the window, and sitting area nearer the door. Microwave and fridge were good to have in the room. (Bring popcorn!)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caratstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makanda, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Guess with all the great reviews I just had the fluke. I waited at the hotel desk for about 15 min before anyone showed up, it was after midnight, didnt make me feel the most secure.
Room was nice, but at breakfast the next morning there was no juice, fruit or yougurt.
Staff really didn't seem to care, "oh yeah, guess we are still out of that"
I checked out, and went to the Hawthorn Inn for the rest of my stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudon, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We traveled to Champaign to visit family and booked at neighboring hotel property. Unfortunately due to a flooding incident in a nearby room, we checked out at 11:45 p.m. as firetrucks and an ambulance headed our way. We remembered that Wingate had great Trip Advisor reviews when we made our original booking and decided to inquire and give it a try. The staff was most helpful, made last minute accommodations and helped us get situated. The room was well-appointed, even if a little small, and the breakfast was ample.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 37774ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I have stayed here the last 2 years during my daughter's basketball tournaments and both times I was very happy. The rooms are spacious, well / modernly decorated and clean. It is very nice to have a fridge and microwave in the room. There are 4 very comfortable pillows on each bed, ample towels. There were no issues with drains or anything else for that matter either year I was there as one reviewer stated. The breakfast was your typical hotel breakfast: scrambled eggs, sausages, waffles, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, bagels, pastries and more. The hotel is very clean, people are friendly and helpful and I would highly recommend it. Good location, close to interstate and several good restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbmom36382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Hts, IL
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Stayed here while visiting our daughter for Dad's Weekend. Clean, friendly front desk, Very nice bathroom, decent breakfast. We will stay here again, next year. On the outskirts of campus, but not bad. Not walking distance. Located near the Macy's Mall. One block to Panera.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia4227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Champaign hotels
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Champaign
La Quinta Inn Champaign
#6 of 25 in Champaign
597 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Champaign
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#3 of 25 in Champaign
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Champaign
Red Roof Inn Champaign
#14 of 25 in Champaign
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate By Wyndham Champaign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate By Wyndham Champaign

Property: Wingate By Wyndham Champaign
Address: 516 W Marketview Dr, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61822-1391
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Champaign
#7 Business Hotel in Champaign
#8 Family Hotel in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate By Wyndham Champaign 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate By Wyndham Champaign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Champaign Hotel Champaign
Wingate Hotel Champaign

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing