We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
I Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Champaign
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix,AZ
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed September 10, 2009

I stayed here only 1 night, but it was wonderful. I had room 432 which had a view of the Qual com building and front of hotel parking lot. The Hilton Garden and Homewood Suites were in the distance. This is a great hotel and walking distance to the Assembly Hall.
The room had a king bed,leather desk chair,club chair and ottoman,flat screen LG TV with sleep timer which I love. The room and hotel are a very modern decor.
The room comes equipped with an i home/clock radio which is very difficult to see the actual time on the clock. There are 2 robes in the closet as well as an in-room safe that accomodates a laptop. There is an iron and ironing board in the closet. There is a small refrigerator under the TV cabinet. There is complimentary high speed internet and WiFi in the room. I had no problem using the internet.
There is RUSK brand bath products that are very nice. There is a shower but no tub. A hair dryer is in the bath room.
The hotel is 100% smoke free.
Houlihans Restaurant is connected to the hotel and I ate there for dinner 1 night. It was good,service ok.
I received a coupon at check in for Starbucks for a coffee/beverage and or yogurt or pastry. This is located off the lobby on the way to Houlihans. Very nice and complimentary.
If the price is right I would stay here again without hesitation.
Parking is complimentary in the lot.
Very quiet hotel and great staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoenixreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    69
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
112
59
18
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dexter, Mi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Our stay at the I Hotel was brief but wonderful. The rooms are quiet, the beds are very comfortable, and the decor is modern and elegant. There is much beautiful woodwork throughout. The staff members went out of their way to be helpful and informative. The landscaping is lovely. They provide a free shuttle service to anywhere on the University of Illinois campus and a room rate discount for those of us on a college visit. I highly recommend this hotel and we certainly plan to stay there again on future visits to the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homebodyDexter_Mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

I had a negative experience here. I was staying with my elderly father, and there were no non-slip strips in the bathtub, nor mats. Long story short, he fell (fortunately he was ok), and so I asked for a change of room to a walk in shower. Frankly, after he fell, they should have comped us the room. We could totally sue for negligence. At any rate, the new room had a funny smell and an odd hum, which was later identified as the air conditioner of the conference center. Nothing they could do. They had no other room to change us to, and actually offered to give us a "discount" on another room! Further, the handicapped room had no place to hang clothes that were knee length (as if disabled people do not either travel with able bodied people). When I finally expressed my dismay, they gave me a discount to the hotel restaurant! (I don't live in Champaign--when am I going to use this?). The hotel staff was disingenuously nice. Yuck! I'm staying at the Hilton the next time.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank libmank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

This Hotel has to be the best Hotel Outside of Chicago by far. The rooms are large, tasteful and the hotel has the service offered by a first class big city exclusive boutique hotel with small town friendliness. The setting is peaceful, but still easy walking distance to Memorial Stadium and the Assembly Hall on the southern edge of the Illinois campus. My wife and I have stayed here twice in the last few weeks and will not consider anywhere else in Champaign-Urbana. Nothing else remotely compares. The hotel is new with a wonderful lobby, a great Starbucks as well as a nice restaurant. In addition there are multiple outdoor patios where you can either sit or eat.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UIAlums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2009

As soon as you walk in you know you're in a special place. The lobby's pizzazz makes it a place where you want to visit, sit and chat, or read. The staff is courteous and takes time to explain things and answer your questions. The rooms are comfortable and roomy and I loved opening the drapes to enjoy the view and sunset. I like its proximity to campus and being able to walk to university functions.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libbyChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manning, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Everything thing was top notch during our 2 night stay. Service was top priority there. Room was very spacious for 4 of us. Free bottled water by the exercise room was a nice plus. We got coupons for a drink and breakfast item which was delicous. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. Nice outside courtyard to enjoy a drink also.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyManning_Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

I had my wedding ceremony and celebrations at iHotel, and had booked my suite at same place. Everything there was perfect - from food to decoration and individual event organization. I still say to people that I had a dream wedding at iHotel. Staff there was especially very helpful and accommodating. Having a great bar and restaurant within the premises made our after-party even more fun. Food and drinks there were awesome!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agargi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Champaign
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#2 of 25 in Champaign
457 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign
1.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Champaign Urbana/Campustown
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Hotel & Conference Center

Property: I Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 1900 S 1st St, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61820-7450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Champaign
#1 Romantic Hotel in Champaign
#1 Family Hotel in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — I Hotel & Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I Hotel and Conference Center, a contemporary designed four-star property in Champaign, is ranked within the top 10 of the 2014 Insiders' Select list. The I Hotel, constructed to AAA Four Diamond standards, features 126 luxurious hotel rooms with an adjoining 38,000 square foot conference center. The I Hotel guest rooms invite you to settle in and enjoy the upscale amenities; spa quality personal care products, pillow top mattresses with fine linens, 42" flat screen HD televisions, in-room refrigerators, in-room safes, and Starbucks Coffee served both in- room, and served at the ICafe. Additional services include access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, complimentary luxury car service, and spa services by appointment. Guest my inquire about a room or group rates.The adjoining state-of-the-art Illinois Conference Center features 12 conference rooms; two large ballrooms and meeting rooms that accommodate groups of various sizes for both personal and business use. Whether planning a business luncheon, casual meeting, or social occasion, The University of Illinois Culinary team offers a variety of distinctive options to meet guests' needs and creates events with lasting impressions. Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar, located on the property, features a design-forward finish with architectural elements and a patio designed for social lounging. An American restaurant and bar serving quality food and drinks, Houlihan's menu features center-cut steaks, wood-grilled flatbreads, artisan salads and sandwiches, along with an interesting, everyday wine and cocktail selections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your I Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Hotel And Conference Center
i Hotel Champaign

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing