We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
I Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Champaign
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We spent the weekend in Champaign to attend a wedding and the bride and groom recommended the I-Hotel for our stay. We loved it. We called them shortly before our planned stay to add a day and they were great about accommodating us for a day earlier than originally planned. They have an agreement with the university to use their workout - pool facility. They even offer a shuttle even though it is a short walk away. The university was extraordinary. My fiance' enjoyed the equipment while I luxuriated in their olympic pool. The hotel offered shuttles to the reception location and back to the hotel. They gave us coupons to enjoy coffee and breakfast item in their coffee shop (very nice thing to do) and Houlihans restaurant was attached to the hotel. They didnt have chicken salad on the menu, so the waiter sent the chef out to ask me how I would like him to make it for me and it was DELICIOUS. I enjoyed eating it in their outside garden. The whole experience: hotel and Houlihans was perfect!

Room Tip: Our room was very nice. Make sure you take advantage of university workout facility. it was well w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koala4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 396 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Really great stay. The amenities of a boutique hotel. Lots of places to lounge in the lobby, work out or get a latte at the in-house coffee cafe. My room was very clean bedding and linens of high quality. Nice modern decor and super service from staff. Definitely recommend

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scheetzc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Upon arrival I was promptly greeted and checked in. The lobby was very serene and chill, not chaotic as some can be. The room was nicely appointed, quiet, clean and relaxing. Size wise it was rather spacious with plenty of room to spread out, a space to work and the bed was comfy.
I did find the bathrooms slightly odd, the walk in shower was fine but the fiberglass base of the shower seemed somewhat cheap and springy considering the details that went into the rest of the room. The amenities of rather large shampoo/conditioner/body wash and lotion was a nice upgrade from other hotels. A coffee maker with plenty of supplies was nice as well as receiving a coupon for free drink of choice and food item at the Starbuck's downstairs was a pleasant surprise. There is an adjacent restaurant with outdoor patios in addition to the Starbucks café, which is convenient. The hotel which hosts conferences has outdoor space as well, a couple patios with water features, with places to sit made the stay more enjoyable.
There are no other accommodations in the 'Champana' area that are as near as nice. Not really sure why, considering this is a Big 10 school. I would have thought there would be more choices of higher end lodging.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadWarriorInHeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is a cut above; attention to detail is evident everywhere. The room was spacious, comfortable and quiet. Loved the natural touches in a modern setting. The Starbucks coffee shop in the lobby was a plus and we each received a voucher good for coffee and pastry for breakfast. Would stay there again, for sure!!

Room Tip: We had a king side room that we booked on a last minute stay price. There was even an IPod docking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnieleeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I visit the Champaign-Urbana area four to six times a year for work. This is the first time I tried the I Hotel, and I will definitely be back. The rooms are large, spacious and clean with good work space and nice bathrooms. The bed was very comfortable too. I really appreciated the bottle of water at check in and the breakfast amenities too. If you need to be on the U of I campus, this is a great location for you and if you are just passing through, its worth the extra miles off of I-74 to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSandersCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We attended a wedding reception at this hotel so booked a room to stay overnight. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are very comfortable. We slept amazingly well on the super comfortable bed. There isn't a bath tub in the room, but that's OK as we prefer taking showers over baths anyway. A small breakfast was included, which was 1 breakfast item and 1 drink from the Starbucks cafe. There is a restaurant connected to the hotel that serves breakfast and they are not incredibly overpriced, so an alternative option would be to eat there. The staff was very friendly and courteous. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Clean neat and spacious rooms and excellent bath rooms
Excellent breakfast
Value for money
Very courteous staff
Restaurant / Coffee shop also pretty good ...
Good bar also .....
ideal location for parents who are visiting their kids in UIUS

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sibikthomas2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Champaign
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#2 of 25 in Champaign
572 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
3.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Champaign
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 1900 South First Street, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61820-7450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Champaign
#1 Romantic Hotel in Champaign
#1 Family Hotel in Champaign
Price Range: $114 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — I Hotel and Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I Hotel and Conference Center, a contemporary designed four-star property in Champaign, is ranked within the top 10 of the 2014 Insiders' Select list. The I Hotel, constructed to AAA Four Diamond standards, features 126 luxurious hotel rooms with an adjoining 38,000 square foot conference center. The I Hotel guest rooms invite you to settle in and enjoy the upscale amenities; spa quality personal care products, pillow top mattresses with fine linens, 42" flat screen HD televisions, in-room refrigerators, in-room safes, and Starbucks Coffee served both in- room, and served at the ICafe. Additional services include access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, complimentary luxury car service, and spa services by appointment. Guest my inquire about a room or group rates.The adjoining state-of-the-art Illinois Conference Center features 12 conference rooms; two large ballrooms and meeting rooms that accommodate groups of various sizes for both personal and business use. Whether planning a business luncheon, casual meeting, or social occasion, The University of Illinois Culinary team offers a variety of distinctive options to meet guests' needs and creates events with lasting impressions. Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar, located on the property, features a design-forward finish with architectural elements and a patio designed for social lounging. An American restaurant and bar serving quality food and drinks, Houlihan's menu features center-cut steaks, wood-grilled flatbreads, artisan salads and sandwiches, along with an interesting, everyday wine and cocktail selections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your I Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Hotel Champaign

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing