We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
I Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Champaign
Certificate of Excellence
illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here last month for the Christie Clinic Illinois Marathon and it was perfect. The start line was just out in front of the hotel. The room was very nice with a huge walk-in shower. The staff were very pleasant and accommodating. I would stay there again next year, but they're implementing a 2 night minimum for the race weekend. At $200 a night, I can drive home after my race on Saturday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandRtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    69
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
112
59
18
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Illinois
Level Contributor
382 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here three days and had a great experience. I've stayed here a few times in the past and never had 100% positive experience, so I was on the lookout for failure, but nope, everything was wonderful. Great room, quiet, comfy bed, clean accommodations, perfect free wireless. Muffin and tea every morning. Friendly staff. Very, very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisamarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I wish I could have spent more than one night at this fabulous gem in -- who'd of thunk it? -- Champaign-Urbana. I was there for a conference and was dazzled by this stylish, hip hotel and conference center. The room was large and lovely with great beds/linens and a capacious bathroom with a top-notch shower. With a name like the iHotel, we wonder how long it will be before Apple files suit. It was a great spot for a conference. Wish I'd stayed long enough to check out the spa, pool, etc. (I did sit outside on a lovely, sunny terrace). The fact that the attached restaurant is a Houlihan's diminished the groove-factor only marginally (we ate elsewhere). Staff even found me a safety pin when my shirt button broke off minutes before I was scheduled to give a presentation. I don't know when or if I'll ever be in Champaign again, but I know for sure where I'll be staying if I do return: The iHotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHDSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectations. The staff was friendly and went out of their way to be helpful to me, as I did not know my way around the area, and offered shuttle service to area locations.The rooms were larger than many standard hotel rooms, and the bed was comfortable. I found that the cleanliness of the entire hotel was excellent. The fitness center was adequate and not very busy on the two days I was there, so there was no problem getting a chance to use the equipment. We only ate breakfast at the restaurant, Houlihan's, but the service was very fast and the food was prepared just as we had ordered. We attended an event at the conference center and the food there was very good as well. Overall, the hotel is very well run and I will definitely stay there again when I go to Champaign.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeightwatcherLdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I'm kind of a hotel snob, and this place exceeded all of my expectations! Wow! It reminded me of one of the nicer Westin hotels.

My room was exceptionally clean and well-appointed, with quality shower amenities, complimentary water, free Internet, and even a collection of books to read. The sheets were the softest sheets I've slept on in my life, and I have stayed in many good hotels. (I would have purchased a set, but it appeared from the catalog they only sell the flat sheets.)

The lobby was modern and inviting, with a nice fireplace and many places for people to sit and relax. Attention to detail showed everywhere, even in the lobby potted plants--beautifully arranged with lovely perennial flowers.

The restaurant, Houlihan's, had a good dinner and appetizer menu. I was particularly impressed by breakfast-- only $8 for a great breakfast of eggs, bacon, fruit, toast and coffee.

The fitness center was fine-- five pieces of cardio equipment and a selection of free weights.

Check-in and check-out were both easy and friendly. The front desk offers a good selection of newspapers, complimentary.

I didn't want to leave! I will definitely be staying here next time I'm in Champaign!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poolgirl7705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

After a 4 hour drive from Wisconsin, we were pleasantly surprised by the IHotel, a fairly new hotel in the south end of the campus of the University of Illinois. The facility was new, modern, clean and comfortable. We were greeted by a very friendly staff person and offerred complimentary bottled water while we checked in. The check-in was efficient and we were in our room quickly. The room had all the usual and customary amenities, with a decent television and large bathroom. A small cafe serving Starbucks and a Houlihans restaurant round out the food offerrings. A free shuttle service to and from various locations was very helpful and welcomed. If I am ever back to the University, I will definitely stay here agin.

Room Tip: Book your room through the admissions office if coming for a tour, for a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EjwEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was recommended to meand indeed booked for me when visiting the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign -sorry, I recognise that double-barrelled city name grates with some!

The hotel itself is only a few years old, and is still in good condition. It has a large conference centre attached, although at time of writing I haven't yet been in that part of the facility. It also has a small gym and a spa facility - although the latter is limited to massage and treatments, rather than an "all singing, all dancing" steam/sauna/chill-out facility.

Bedrooms are well-sized - as you'd expect in this part of the world - and are comfortably furnished. The bathroom has a large walk-in shower, but no bath, which suits me just fine. A good range of decent toiletries are provided, and wifi is also free and easy to access. Rooms contain a safe, iron and ironing board; there is also a small, empty fridge - ideal for storing a bottle or two of complimentary water (available from the fridges near to the lobby gym) overnight. House-keeping services are good and the laundry service was good value. THe only thing I could not fathom out was the strange arrangement of folded over sheet and duvet on the bed! Every night I had to tuck the duvet under the pre-folded leading edge of the sheet - but hey, if that's the biggest niggle, then it's hardly the end of the world!

Like many US city hotels, you really need a car to spend much time here, although the I Hotel does offer a complimentary hotel shuttle service which runs you around the local area. The on-site bar and dining facilities (Holihan's) is perfectly acceptable for a few nights if you don't have wheels however. It offers a decent enough range of US and imported beers and a range of dishes from light snacks right through to more substantive meals.

I have to say the "included" breakfast - which is provided by way of a voucher to enable a resident to obtain a drink and a breakfast snack (croissant, yoghurt or bagel) leaves a little to be desired - go for the bagels, not the tough old croissant! Hopefully I will have the chance to try a more fulsome breakfast before I leave.

The staff at the I Hotel are very friendly. From the front of house reception staff to those in the bar and dining area, I barely saw an unsmiling or unfriendly face. Alicia at the bar took time to explain a couple of different beer types to me, and was genuinely interested in knowing which one I enjoyed more. When dining along (albeit waiting for colleagues), that sort of personal enagagement with customers makes a real difference to the experience.

I do hope to return to Urbana-Champaign and if so, I will be more than happy to stay at the I Hotel again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jon_069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Champaign
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#2 of 25 in Champaign
456 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign
1.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Champaign Urbana/Campustown
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Hotel & Conference Center

Property: I Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 1900 S 1st St, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61820-7450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Champaign
#1 Business Hotel in Champaign
#1 Family Hotel in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — I Hotel & Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I Hotel and Conference Center, a contemporary designed four-star property in Champaign, is ranked within the top 10 of the 2014 Insiders' Select list. The I Hotel, constructed to AAA Four Diamond standards, features 126 luxurious hotel rooms with an adjoining 38,000 square foot conference center. The I Hotel guest rooms invite you to settle in and enjoy the upscale amenities; spa quality personal care products, pillow top mattresses with fine linens, 42" flat screen HD televisions, in-room refrigerators, in-room safes, and Starbucks Coffee served both in- room, and served at the ICafe. Additional services include access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, complimentary luxury car service, and spa services by appointment. Guest my inquire about a room or group rates.The adjoining state-of-the-art Illinois Conference Center features 12 conference rooms; two large ballrooms and meeting rooms that accommodate groups of various sizes for both personal and business use. Whether planning a business luncheon, casual meeting, or social occasion, The University of Illinois Culinary team offers a variety of distinctive options to meet guests' needs and creates events with lasting impressions. Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar, located on the property, features a design-forward finish with architectural elements and a patio designed for social lounging. An American restaurant and bar serving quality food and drinks, Houlihan's menu features center-cut steaks, wood-grilled flatbreads, artisan salads and sandwiches, along with an interesting, everyday wine and cocktail selections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your I Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Hotel And Conference Center
i Hotel Champaign

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing