We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of I Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
I Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Champaign
Certificate of Excellence
illinois
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed overnight or a U of I basketball game. (Sadly the hotel was the highlight of the night.)
Immaculate, comfortable rooms with normal amenities, coffee, wi-fi, and a couple extras like robes and a choice of a free continental or discounted cooked breakfast at adjacent restaurant.
We normally drive to and from Urbana for events. May rethink our travel options just to stay here a few times.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    56
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
97
50
16
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Canton, MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I travel a fair bit for work through out the US and I have to say that this is one of the most pleasing hotels to stay. It is fairly modern in its design and the overall feeling is very zen like and relaxing. You will not find every amenity you may find at a 4 star or a 5 star hotel, but the overall experience at this hotel beats any of the 4 star or 5 star hotels around the country. We have stayed here many times visiting family in the area and it has always been a very positive experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salukidawgs91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padova
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I keep returning to this hotel as I feel very at home here. The rooms are lovely, and newish /newly refurbished but there are a few idiosyncrasies. The fridge in the room makes quite a racket-and is empty unless you put something in it of your own. So to sleep, I had to pull it out and unplug it.

The only other thing that bugs me is the breakfast. You get a 'free' coffee and yoghurt or equivalent at Starbucks (Hmm: those that don't pay taxes in the UK!) or half price at Houlihans. But the service in Houlihans is very 'Fawlty Towers' for those who understand the TV reference. They run out of tea, forget your order, and don't cater for those wanting something simpler: fresh fruit, and bagels for example. Meanwhile amongst the chaos, they ask you every two minutes: 'Is everything OK?' Well, it was two minutes ago........and two minutes before that........etc

Correct these details and I would happily award it five stars.

Room Tip: Service and sleep marked down for reasons given above
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidjohnPadova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We stay here whenever we visit family in champaign. It's always seems so fresh, bright and relaxing! Great staff, very helpful. One of my favorite hotels. Nice modern rooms, comfortable beds. Large attractive lobby area. Great bloody Mary's at the bar

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi48128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beltsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a very nice hotel. Appears to be relatively new, so everything's in good shape with modern, up to date furnishings. Single king rooms are very big, with a large desk area for working, large bathroom with a large walk-in shower, big thick bath towels, mini-fridge, in-room coffee maker (available for the asking at the front desk) and an in-room safe. Wireless and wired internet are free, but not real speedy. Front desk staff is friendly and very helpful. Continental breakfast is free at the I Cafe in the lobby, or 50% off prices for a full breakfast at the adjoining Houlihan's restaurant. Free van shuttle to and from the airport. Really enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hbavguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,861 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,290 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the I Hotel on the University of Illinois campus in each of the last two years while attending the induction ceremony for the Illinois High School Basketball Hall of Fame and Museum, which is based in Pinckneyville. What a wonderful experience. I mean, you don't usually rave about one-night stays at motels or hotels while traveling from here to there, do you? But the I Hotel, which wasn't a thought in anybody's mind when I was an Illini student from 1958 to 1962, is a truly enjoyable place to stay while attending Illinois football or basketball games in nearby Memorial Stadium or Assembly Hall or a banquet in the hotel's spacious ballroom or an event anywhere on the campus. Great accommodations, great food, great service, all within walking distance to any event on the campus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

It is often difficult to get a room in Champaign in the fall without planning well in advance. I was pleased that a block of rooms was reserved for our Alumni reunion for only $125 per night. The lobby and check-in process was very nice. The room was nicely appointed but the gap under the door was rather wide and let in light from the hallway. This was distracting when we were trying to get to sleep. The walls are paper thin and we had a noisy neighbor. The breakfast vouchers were a pleasant surprise until we waited a ridiculous amount of time for a very sad breakfast. The voucher is good for 50% off at the Houlihan's or a pastry and coffee from the coffee bar. I would try the coffee bar next time. The drink specials at the Houlihan's were very good.

Overall, it is clean, modern and close to campus. I needed Tylenol and was shocked there wasn't a gift/sundry shop. There was a refrigerator in the room but no mini-bar which was disappointing because again there was no store to grab a candy bar or soda if the coffee bar was closed.

We attended a catered breakfast and the food was really ordinary. Coming from Chicago I have to lower my standards when we visit Champaign but this is a pretty good option for accommodations just don't eat here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoSpaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Champaign hotels
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#2 of 25 in Champaign
4.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign
3.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Champaign
La Quinta Inn Champaign
#5 of 25 in Champaign
4.0 of 5 stars 506 reviews
3.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Champaign
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Hotel & Conference Center

Property: I Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 1900 S 1st St, Champaign, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61820-7450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Champaign
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Champaign
#1 Family Hotel in Champaign
#1 Romantic Hotel in Champaign
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — I Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I Hotel and Conference Center, a contemporary designed four-star property in Champaign, is ranked within the top 10 of the 2014 Insiders' Select list. The I Hotel, constructed to AAA Four Diamond standards, features 126 luxurious hotel rooms with an adjoining 38,000 square foot conference center. The I Hotel guest rooms invite you to settle in and enjoy the upscale amenities; spa quality personal care products, pillow top mattresses with fine linens, 42" flat screen HD televisions, in-room refrigerators, in-room safes, and Starbucks Coffee served both in- room, and served at the ICafe. Additional services include access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, complimentary luxury car service, and spa services by appointment. Guest my inquire about a room or group rates.The adjoining state-of-the-art Illinois Conference Center features 12 conference rooms; two large ballrooms and meeting rooms that accommodate groups of various sizes for both personal and business use. Whether planning a business luncheon, casual meeting, or social occasion, The University of Illinois Culinary team offers a variety of distinctive options to meet guests' needs and creates events with lasting impressions. Houlihan's Restaurant + Bar, located on the property, features a design-forward finish with architectural elements and a patio designed for social lounging. An American restaurant and bar serving quality food and drinks, Houlihan's menu features center-cut steaks, wood-grilled flatbreads, artisan salads and sandwiches, along with an interesting, everyday wine and cocktail selections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your I Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Hotel And Conference Center
i Hotel Champaign

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing