We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelente” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dos Reales Mexican Restaurant

Dos Reales Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 319 Restaurants in Champaign
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mahomet, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excelente”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Bien. Good cheese dip and salsa. Friendly staff REALLY FAST food. Parking is easy and have plenty of seats.

Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    36
    17
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanger, Texas
Level Contributor
271 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“great mexican food, no not really”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

had to check this place out as some of the reviews were rather stellar, well the food is good, but not great. also, the food is not really Mexican food, more Mexican style food, or better still, Tex-Mex.

went on a Thursday night, rather busy, however the hostess seemed like she would rather be any place else in the world than here. follow me, is not a greeting, at least reply to a greeting from your guests.

servers don't introduce themselves, however they are quick.

the food is hot and plentiful, but again, not really Mexican, only Mexican style. Prices are fair, pay on your way out the door. Whatever you do, don't look in the kitchen, scary, very scary. Probably better I did not see the view on the way in.

Overall, better than taco bell, but most places are.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pierce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minooka, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You will not regret eating here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a great choice if you like good mexican cuisine. The service is outstanding at an unbeatable price. Do not let the full parking lot scare you away, because it is unbelievable how fast and attentive their service can be.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbie8870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OK food, not great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant has good menu of food and I would say close to authentic. The problems I had during my visit were that it took a long time to be seated ( there was plenty of room), the servers never introduced themselves, the ambience was not very enjoyable because the staff appear to be running up and down and the bus boy almost hit me with his bucket full of dirty dishes. We were served a basket of chips with two kind of tomato sauce, one plain and the other with onions cilantro and just a little spice. I guess they don't have lime juice, garlic and salt. The food was average, the beef was dried and overcooked, the chicken was also dried and on the thin side. They serve plenty of pork flavored beans, rice and lettuce to fill the dish. I have had real Mexican food and they come close but not enough for my taste. It is obvious that they cater to the American taste of food with no spice, lime or salt. The could really do well if they did not have such a large menu and concentrated and making the meats appetizing. On the other hand the horchata was good, they served the food within ten minutes of ordering, and the prices were average. They waitress did check once to see if we were happy and then she got busy trying to get all the things that we needed to improve our meal. We did have to ask for more water and attention from other servers because our waitress got busy somewhere else. All in all we enjoyed the evening but the restaurant could use some music and a bit of training on their staff.

Helpful?
Thank Chivo1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Regular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We eat here almost weekly -- great chicken enchiladas, chicken quesadillas, or Numero Cinco. Staff are great. And I can understand almost all of them (adds to the atmosphere)!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ainnig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dos Reales Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
 
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
Champaign, Champaign-Urbana
 

Been to Dos Reales Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing