We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River Front Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cave in Rock State Park Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cave in Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cave in Rock State Park Lodge
Save
You added Cave in Rock State Park Lodge to your Saves list
Park Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“River Front Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The rooms are clean and well kept. From our porch each morning we watched the river roll past and the wild turkeys eat their breakfast as we enjoyed our morning coffee. The hummingbirds were at hit with us and we could watch them for hours as we enjoyed our breakfast in the restaurant. What a beautiful and relaxing place to stay and enjoy nature at it's finest!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wapella, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

From what we had heard from a friend who stayed a few years back, it sounded like the lodge would be outdated and maybe not so clean. However, we were pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness, spaciousness, room supplies (paper towels, kitchen dishcloths and soap, etc.), freshly painted/papered walls, new bathroom linoleum, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and more! The BEST part was the BEAUTIFUL VIEW of the Ohio River from our own balcony! It was so peaceful, quiet and lovely. Even though the restaurant/main bldg. are only open on Saturday and Sunday, we had cell phone numbers to reach someone at any time for needs. We only had the free internet access up at the main bldg. patio or parking lot during the week...but they said next year they're upgrading to get access in the rooms along w/ new flat screen televisions and new balcony furniture as well. Will definitely go back in the future!

We also liked the location - close to the free ferry that crosses the Ohio over to the Amish community rural stores in Kentucky. It was also a good "home base" every night while being out during the day visiting the local attractions w/ hiking and gorgeous views/sights to see as well as several wineries.

Mattresses aren't the best - but all in all, was a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights at the end of September. Room was comfortable and clean. Spent both mornings and evenings on the deck enjoying the view. Restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. We plan on staying here again and encourage anyone wanting a quiet, relaxing stay in a beautiful location to do the same.

Room Tip: We stayed in 4B, which was the last cabin in line. A little more private than the other cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in 3B fantastic view of the Ohio River. Very large room much more than we expected. No plates, etc. microwave coffee and frig is about it. The restaurants hours are limited. But it was a very pleasant experience, so I would say you would not be disappointed. The drive to get there is beautiful drive, just a quaint place to be. Last Ferry on the Ohio River a minutes away.

Room Tip: 3B is all we know sooooo 3B
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseanne111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmi, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I have lived only an hour away from Cave-In-Rock most of our lives and are now kicking ourselves for never staying at this beautiful location before now! Although we did have neighbors and did hear an occasional door or voice, this place was still so much more quiet than staying in a conventional hotel in the middle of a city somewhere! The view from the room is breathtaking....we sat and watched the river until past dark, and we loved waking up in the morning with the sun coming up over the river. The room was immaculate, and the staff in the lodge (where we had breakfast before leaving for the day) was quite friendly. There were only 4 or 5 staff total so I probably would not want to bring a large group to stay or eat there, but for a small family or couples retreat, this location is ideal. My husband and I will definitely be returning soon for another "get-away-from-it-all" weekend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Renea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Took a quick trip to see Cave in Rock, Garden of Gods and Shawneetown area before taking the ferry to explore Kentucky. Stayed at the lodge and enjoyed the large balcony overlooking the Ohio River. Enjoyed the stay in a comfortable room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streator, Illinois
Level Contributor
210 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at cave in rock. The room is very spacious and the view is fantastic. We were located close enough to garden of the gods and other hiking trails. We road the ferry across the Ohio river which takes you into Kentucky. We did not eat at the restaurant because it hasn't opened for the season yet. So, all around, it was affordable, clean and we would recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshinesandy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cave in Rock
19.3 mi away
Riverview Mansion Hotel
Riverview Mansion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Golconda
4.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
8.2 mi away
River Rose Inn B&B
River Rose Inn B&B
#1 of 2 in Elizabethtown
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cave in Rock State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cave in Rock State Park Lodge

Property: Cave in Rock State Park Lodge
Address: 1 New State Park Rd., Box 338, Cave in Rock, IL 62919
Location: United States > Illinois > Cave in Rock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Cave in Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Cave In Rock State Park Hotel Cave In Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing