We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cave in Rock State Park Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cave in Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cave in Rock State Park Lodge
Save
You added Cave in Rock State Park Lodge to your Saves list
1 New State Park Rd., Box 338, Cave in Rock, IL 62919   |  
Hotel amenities
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Took a quick trip to see Cave in Rock, Garden of Gods and Shawneetown area before taking the ferry to explore Kentucky. Stayed at the lodge and enjoyed the large balcony overlooking the Ohio River. Enjoyed the stay in a comfortable room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Streator, Illinois
Level Contributor
210 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at cave in rock. The room is very spacious and the view is fantastic. We were located close enough to garden of the gods and other hiking trails. We road the ferry across the Ohio river which takes you into Kentucky. We did not eat at the restaurant because it hasn't opened for the season yet. So, all around, it was affordable, clean and we would recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshinesandy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We loved our stay. The view is beautiful. I could stand on the deck all day and admire the view. The rooms have plenty of space. Not many extras but it was extremely clean and is a perfect place to relax and get away from it all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank sportsmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The cabins have an amazing view of the Ohio river, and a balcony you can sit on to look out over it. The view is breathtaking. The cabins are a little bare-bones--but have everything you need. Good air-conditioning, TV, fridge, microwave, lots of space. It is really beautiful, and provides easy access to many parts of the Shawnee National Forest.

On Sundays, they have an all you can eat buffet, that had amazing fried chicken and catfish. Crisp on the outside, juicy on the inside. Desserts were wonderful too.

Highly recommend if you are traveling in Southern Illinois. Stay here for a night or two to explore Garden of the Gods, Cave in Rock, the tunnel trail, go antiquing take the ferry to the Kentucky side, then head over to the west side of the state for the wineries.

Room Tip: All the rooms look out over the Ohio River, and seem to be very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackiesk_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed in one of the cabins for two nights (Saturday and Sunday). Yes, you can hear some noises from the other attached cabin, but we really weren't bothered. Could hear some footsteps and doors closing, but no big deal. The cabin we stayed in was wonderful. It was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. We loved sitting on the deck and watching the boats and barges on the river. The bathroom was well supplied and we had plenty of hot water. Beds were comfortable. The kitchen area had a small refrigerator and microwave and both came in handy for leftovers. There was a nice kitchen table/charis, which we didn't use, but would come in handy for a family who wanted to eat in. The tv was an older model but got good reception and had a good selection of channels to choose from (satellite dish).

The grounds of this park are kept very clean. The cabins are no-smoking, and sometimes at no-smoking places you will see an assortment of disgusting cigarette butts outside, but not here. Didn't see a single one.

We wouuld definitely stay here again, it is the nicest cabin we have ever stayed at.

Thre is a restaurant on-site, and the food is good and reasonably priced. However, the service was very slow, even though the restaurant was never crowded. It is good, just don't go there if you are in a hurry.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jlr51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

I was there on a Wednesday Night, it was a nice place, yes you could hear some of the noise next door but It didn't bother us. The view of the Ohio River was awesome. We ordered food and got within the time frame, and it tastes good. I felt it was well worth the money to stay. I went back in September but was unable to secure a room so ended up staying in Harrisburg at the Super 8...now that was the worst place I stayed at. I highly recommend Cave In Rock State Park Lodge if you want good service and a nice clean place to stay!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank syulm1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Kansas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We loved the room which included 2 beds, dining table, fridge, couch and TV. The deck was a great place to sit and watch the river traffic and enjoy sunrise and sunsets. This would be ideal room if you are lucky enough to be there and nobody has rented the other side of the duplex. You could hear every word and every footstep all night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cave in Rock
19.2 mi away
Riverview Mansion Hotel
Riverview Mansion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Golconda
4.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
8.2 mi away
River Rose Inn B&B
River Rose Inn B&B
#1 of 2 in Elizabethtown
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cave in Rock State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cave in Rock State Park Lodge

Property: Cave in Rock State Park Lodge
Address: 1 New State Park Rd., Box 338, Cave in Rock, IL 62919
Location: United States > Illinois > Cave in Rock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Cave in Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Cave In Rock State Park Hotel Cave In Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing