We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cave in Rock SP and area”

Cave-in-Rock State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ballwin, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cave in Rock SP and area”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I'll start with a review of the cabin we stayed in. very clean and spacious. Nice view of the Ohio river. Grounds were well kept and neat. The park itself is not overly large and has limited things to do. Besides the cave, there is not much to do in the park itself. No pool. The lodge is small and only open on the weekends. We ate breakfast there one morning and the service was slow. I don't know if it is always that way, but it was for us. The highlight of the trip was the trip to Garden of the Gods. Very scenic and worth the drive. We also visited Rim Rock NP, also worth the drive.
Now to the bad. There is NO good place to eat on the Illinois side of the river. It is worth the drive to cross the ferry and find a place in KY. We drove all the way to Kentucky dam to eat at Patti's 1880. Also be sure to stop at the Amish store on the KY side of the river as well.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Curtis053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    44
    17
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very short hike--Outstanding views of Ohio River and Ferry Boat”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Just a little out of the way--but, worth the trip. Park at the top and save yourself extra steps. Too bad so many have decided to leave a piece of themselves in the cave (mostly with spray paint) but, still worth doing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon95GCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Scenic but severely neglected”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Tip: Continue on past the first parking lot, shortly after the entrance. Turn at the sign for the lodge/restaurant and proceed down that road to a parking lot much closer to the cave. Doing this saves you from walking one of the flights of stairs.

The cave is scenic and has a neat history. It's very deep and large at the end with a 'skylight' to the top for natural lighting. On our visit, it was wet inside and several visitors fell while walking to the back of the cave.

The level of litter and graffiti was both heart-breaking and completely inexcusable. In the upper park area, garbage cans were over-flowing and the outhouses were in deplorable condition--filthy with no supplies and doors that wouldn't close. The cave itself was covered in graffiti, both inside and out.

We asked some locals about this situation, and they told us that the State stopped taking care of the park some time ago. They said that county and town employees had approached the State and offered to do upkeep--mow lawns, empty garbage etc. but that the State officials would not give them permission to do so. I'm not sure how much of this story is true, but I can't imagine why people would lie about something like that.

Shame on you, State of Illinois, for letting such a neat, historical attraction fall into such disrepair. Whoever made this decision should be ashamed of themselves.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank BusinessTraveler04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, IL
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ok...”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Have always wanted to visit Cave in Rock state park. The cave was neat to see, & the river was pretty, but was a little disappointed. Park office & restaurant was only open on weekends. A good amount of litter inside the cave. Didn't see one park employee anywhere.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bluestreak95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
2 reviews
“impressive”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We returned the next day to have a picnic there. The kids were fascinated. On a hot day, you nicely cool off in this cave and enjoy the biew over the Ohio river.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank a g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cave-in-Rock State Park also viewed

 

Been to Cave-in-Rock State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing