We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“front desk & Albertos' Restaurant staff were great. ROOM WAS TERRIBLE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carol Stream
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“front desk & Albertos' Restaurant staff were great. ROOM WAS TERRIBLE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

As a Consultant and a frequent traveler my wife and I have been fortunate to have visited all the Continents and now all of our States. This last auto trip was for approx 30 days and involved over 5,000 miles. My review of excellent for the staff of the hotel and Alberto’s Restaurant by no means represents that of our stay, which was terrible .

On the bright side, the General Manager was extremely gracious and understanding along with his staff and that of Alberto’s; Sara, Theus, Stacey, Nelson, Lenora and Ingrid are all truly examples of fine employees who support the goals and ideals of IHG.

As the former head of an agency, I believe in giving credit where it is due and mentioning where it is not. This is presented by the only gloom spot of our stay… THE ROOM.

We had stopped to visit our grandchildren at Wheaton College and were on the verge of traveling home after over a 5,000-mile auto trip. So we were TIRED.

After we brought our luggage up and returned from a late dinner we realized the problem. The A/C was so noisy that you could barely hear the TV after raising the volume to the highest position that would result in disturbing guests in the adjoining rooms… and we were too tired to even think about changing rooms. So it was a restless sleep that put us on the road to begin our journey back to Stuart, Florida.

We did mention this to those at the front desk and they were very sorry but informed us that THIS problem exists with the rooms that overlook the atrium (DUH). My thought then was why would you even think of putting guests in such inferior rooms.

Quite frankly at a total price of $ 130.00 per night one would and should expect better. In contacting customer relations they agreed on my points and credited us 3,000 points. I inquired and ask about some sort of a cosnideration for staying two laters in Novemeber in North Carolina. There answer was you would have to book more rooms then two for that to happen. A very poor understanding of customer relations, understanding and future stays by a customer.

Room Tip: We always first check the room and the TV,but up now have not lowered the AC to hear the noise when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for the high praise of our staff. I will ensure that you kind words are passed along to them all. As I did on your departure, apologize for the disruptive night you had due to your AC unit. It is unfortunate that an issue that could have been easily solved ruined your stay. If your travels bring you back this way to visit the grandchildren at Wheaton College again, we hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you, and fix any maintenance issues if they occur.

Thank you again for the praise of the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    49
    44
    7
    11
See reviews for
45
18
12
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed several nights as part of a wedding party. The beds were comfy, the room was clean, staff was so very nice. The restaurant & bar were outstanding. Bartender Dee - amazing! A very large group converged on the breakfast buffet without prior warning; kitchen & staff handled with great patience & grace. THE OMELETS ARE TOO TOO GOOD! We had to cancel one night's stay unexpectedly & were cheerfully given a refund even though it was after check out time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisvilleGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your visit with us. Seeing you high marks regarding our hotel, as well as the kind words of praise, will continue to encourage our staff and allow us to keep providing the great service you recently experienced.

Thanks again, and we hope your travels will bring you our way again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The staff was welcoming and efficient. They acknowledged my reward club status and voluntarily upgraded me to a larger room. My request for a higher up room was also honored. The restaurant was a great value, and the hostess and server were accommodating. Parking during the stay was only available on the side and rear of the hotel. The lobby was spacious and inviting, and delicious cookies were offered at one time. The hotel was clean throughout, and the room was comfortable. We were disappointed with excessive noise from guests late one evening. The staff took care of the situation, but it took almost an hour for the noise to stop after I notified the front desk. I would return to the hotel and recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for the detailed review of your recent visit with us. Beyond reading that the hotel was clean and comfortable, your comments that our staff is not only accommodating, but able to ensure your requests were honored, is what I really like to see. I will ensure your remarks are passed along to them.

Looking forward to your next visit and thanks for the future recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Exceptional Hotel and great location. Staff was very professional and friendly. Room, common areas, and pool are well maintained and very inviting. Would definately stay her again. Many good restaurants in the area. Hotel is convenient to area expressways.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for the high praise. I am glad to see you enjoyed your visit and that every aspect of your stay was exceptional. I will ensure our staff hears your kind works, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is an older place with very nice rooms and in a quiet setting. Prime parking close to the door is all reserved for Albeto's customers and that is the"but". Not convient for rain or snow days.The dinner meal the night before was reasonable and delicious. The breakfst bar is over priced, has just average offering (oatmeal in August?) and the staff was rude. The front desk offered to comp the breakfast, but I just checked out. The location does not make for any easy commute to the south anyway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToughOlBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of your visit with us. I appreciate the feedback in all areas of your stay. I apologize that you found parking difficult and that our staff appeared rude during your breakfast and would be glad to discuss further if you'd like to. (630.681.7305) I am happy to see that our staff offered to make this right for you and that it did not ruin your visit. Thanks again for the praise of our rooms, the cleanliness and your overall thoughts....and if we can offer any assistance with directions for your travels, let us know. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights visiting family in Wheaton. This was the closest hotel and one of only a very few in the general area. We were pleasently surprised at how nice this hotel was for a Holiday Inn. The lobby and hallways are not much but the rooms are clean, nice, very spacious, and had everything we needed. We got a great rate on the Holiday Inn website for a king suite. Our room had a large whirlpool tub. It was a little odd because the tub was basically in the bedroom part of the room. We never used the tub so I can't say much about it. The bathroom was a walk in shower that was nice and clean and the vanity area was spacious and even had a sitting stool in it. We did not check in until almost midnight and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We had breakfast in the restaurant one morning. We had the breakfast buffet. We don't usually eat buffets however we were in a hurry to catch our flight home so this was the quickest option. The food was about average. The staff was exceptionally friendly. I would definitely stay at this hotel again when visiting the area.

Room Tip: Go for the suite. It is only a few dollars more and worth the extra space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for the very detailed review. It really tells the story of your stay with us, and I am delighted to see that it went so well. I will make sure your comments are shared with our staff. We look forward to your return on your next visit to Wheaton, and appreciate you sharing a tip with your fellow travelers. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Nice Suite design that is very comfortable and efficient. Had a breakfast skillet deliver by room service which was very tasty and enough for two people. Very clean and quiet. Reasonably priced for Chicago. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beidup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for kind review of your recent visit. It is always great to hear how a guest was able to enjoy some of the extras a full service hotel offers, like room service. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed you meal, and found your suite comfortable, efficient, clean & quiet.

Finally, thanks for sharing the tip of getting a suite...they may cost a few dollars more, but we too believe they are worth it to pamper yourself a bit! We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carol Stream
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago-Carol Stream
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Lombard
5.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Lombard
Comfort Suites Lombard
#7 of 10 in Lombard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada Glendale Heights Addison Area
Ramada Glendale Heights Addison ...
#1 of 1 in Glendale Heights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
2.7 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Bloomingdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream
Address: 150 S Gary Ave, Carol Stream, IL 60188-2079
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Carol Stream
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carol Stream
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** Expanded & Upgraded Fitness Room *** Redecorated Indoor Pool & Whirlpool *** 37"LCD TV's in Every Room ***Experience the difference in service at the Holiday Inn & Suites Carol Stream The pride of Carol Stream, the Holiday Inn & Suites is located 4 miles west of I-355 off North Ave. (Rt 64), just a few minutes from companies such as Fuji Film, New Holland, Invensys, McKesson, Con Agra, Graphic Packaging, Spraying Systems, Inland Group, Smurfit Stone, Everpure, Planmeca, and more. Carol Stream is adjacent to Wheaton, Bloomingdale, Glendale Heights, and Hanover Park.This hidden gem boasts quality in every room, like free high-speed Internet, refrigerators, and pillow top mattresses. It also stands alone with its 2 room and whirlpool suites, which have been completely redecorated and feature 37" LCD & 42' Plasma TVs. Hospitals: Central DuPage Hospital and Glen Oaks Hospital. Colleges: Wheaton College and College of DuPage. Local attractions include the Billy Graham Center, Cantigny Museum and Center Ice Arena, only 25 miles from downtown Chicago with Metra Train service available to make travel easy. Families can enjoy shopping at several local malls, Cosley Animal Zoo, & Brunswick Zone (right next door). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream Hotel Carol Stream
Holiday Inn Carol Stream
Carol Stream Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing