We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family or singles Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carol Stream
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Probably the nicest hotel in the city of Carol Stream. Great buffet on the weekend. Clean, comfortable and competent front desk staff. I loved their gym which was located in a medium-sized room with a TV, water, towels etc. I was able to use the treadmill without a wait. Lots of familes were in the indoor pool and jacuzzi. I stayed over the Memorial Day weekend and it was pretty busy there. I loved the fact that the pool was indoors. It wasn't too noisy except for some older guests shouting out to each other in the morning. I would stay here again. No doubt.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roguerox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2011

It is always great to hear that we have met the expectations of our guests. I appreciate your detailed review of your stay with us and we look forward to your return. Thank you for your kind words, as well as for choosing our hotel.

(Also, great room tip you passed along for your fellow travelers who may be light sleepers.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 162 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2011

My wife and I were both here for five days on business. I understand that being a Holiday Inn may mean low expectations, but I'm fairly dissapointed in a couple of areas. for one thing the day we arrived, there was no shuttle bus. The next evening we needed a ride to the train station and the driver had called off. I asked for a ride to the mall the followng day and finally got one. As a published amenity on their site, it was spotty at best.

I finally got a day with no work and was kept awake by some sort of pounding all day. I finally gave in and went down to the pool to get in the hot tub and it was closed! I went to the bar and put a beer on my room tab and was chased out of the bar by the bartender who told me I had to pay cash. We definately put a card down for incidentals.

I travel a lot and im pretty understanding when theres a hiccup, but this was a chronically poor experience from start to finish.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2011

Thank you for completing a review of your recent stay with us. It appears that we have missed a few opportunities to shine during your visit and for that I apologize. Our goal is to always exceed our guest’s expectations and usually seem to do a good job with that. If you have an opportunity, may I ask you to please contact me directly at the hotel so I can clarify some of your concerns and see how I can improve on this in the future? I can be reached at (630)665-3000 ext. 261. Again, I appreciate your candid feedback and look forward to speaking with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed here for one night. This was a normal Holiday Inn. There was no complimentary breakfast. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were perfect. The pool looked nice but we didn't swim. The room was clean and comfortable. The biggest problem which dropped this review down to a rating of only 3 was the air conditioning. We like the room on the cool side to sleep. We set the thermostat at 68 degrees (which was as low as it would go) and then went to bed. Four times during the night, I got up because I felt like I was suffocating. The temperature in the room was at 75 degrees each time. I'm not sure why the air didn't kick on. I probably should have complained but the night was over and we weren't staying again. So if you like a cool room to sleep in, you might not get it here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antsgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2011

I am pleased to hear how “clean & comfortable” your room was, specifically the bed & pillows. It is encouraging to hear that we are meeting the high standard set for Holiday Inn Hotels. Please know that even though a complimentary breakfast is not included with all rooms, we do offer several packages that have breakfast or other options available.

I would like to apologize to you for the difficulties you had with the air conditioning unit and that it did not respond properly when you tried to operate it. As you mentioned, notifying our staff of your situation during your stay (even in the middle of the night) may have allowed us to fix the problem while you were here.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Carol Stream. I hope we will see you again on a future trip through our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Room and bed was very comfortable and clean. No bed bugs. Stayed only one night using several rooms with several family members. Enjoyed our stay there, nothing to really complain about.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmherstTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2011

I am glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will have an opportunity to have you stay with us again. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

The rooms was average. It was clean but the paint was sloppy and the whole place looked a bit tattered. The walls are very thin and you can hear everything.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlustMBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2011

I appreciate you taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. It appears we have a few details to clear up with some painting issues, Thank You for bringing this to our attention. I am encouraged to hear that our staff and food were highlights of your stay. Every hotel offers similar items in there guestrooms, but we try to ensure that our staff exceeds our guests expectations, and it appears we met that goal. Our location is near several industrial parks, however Carol Stream offers multiple options for travelers as we are close to major expressways, surrounded by several restaurants, and shopping destinations. Our staff will gladly assist you in locating area attractions.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

I recently had my wedding at this hotel. The ceremony and reception were held in the tent and then the ballroom. The location is PERFECT, the hotel is very well kept and the prices were excellent. The package for our wedding included EVERYTHING and they gave us a great deal.

The staff? Not so much. It took weeks to get responses back from the "wedding coordinator" Debbie. She was very rude in them also. We had our rehearsal at the hotel the night before and she was talking to my stepped who was looking at her pictures in her office. She didn't know I stopped to ask a question when she said, "Well, I sure hope the marriage outlasts the wedding photos!" When she looked up, saw me, she just said, "oops!". She also told us that she would be there till at LEAST 10:00. She put another lady in charge without us knowing.

I was told to bring all my stuff the night before for them to put out on the tables and ceremony. I guess they decided to NOT decorate the ceremony for us and did not say anything. The ceremony got decorated 30 min prior to the start! When asked, they said it "Wasn't their job!"

I wrote to the GM and never recieved a response.

I would NOT recommend them if you are looking for a wedding location. Sure, the price is right but I guess you get the service you pay for.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hyperdog7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2010

Thank you for sharing your opinions of our hotel...while we strive for excellence in the visits of all our guests, the only way we can continue to improve is with our customer’s feedback. While we believe our customer service is something that sets us apart in a positive direction, you clearly have had a different experience. I only wish you (and would encourage this to everyone else) had asked to speak to the individual’s supervisor if they feel they are getting poor service. That allows the management a chance to correct the situation, from the beginning...rather than after it is too late.

Again, thank you for your candid feedback and I hope you receive this message, as it appears that my previous attempts did not reach you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

"Upgraded" to a king bedded room. Woke to a freezing room. Complained about heating unit and was told there's a motion sensor that turns heat off if no movement in room. Second night heat blasted non-stop. Slept poorly

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JALL_517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayIllinois, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2010

We have recently installed new HVAC units with digital energy efficient thermostats in our guestrooms. These thermostats are designed to detect both movement and body heat, to ensure they function to a guests settings while they sre in the room. I'd like to extend my apologies if our staff informed you incorrectly of how the units operate…and can understand why you would have set the unit higher to ensure you stayed warm your second night. We are providing all guests with operational instructions of the thermostats (As they are not your old fashion dials) to ensure that other guests do not have the same experience.

Thank you for your comments and I hope to see you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carol Stream
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago-Carol Stream
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Lombard
5.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lombard Downers Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Bloomingdale
3.6 mi away
Ramada Glendale Heights Addison Area
Ramada Glendale Heights Addison ...
#1 of 1 in Glendale Heights
65 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sheraton Lisle Naperville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream

Address: 150 S Gary Ave, Carol Stream, IL 60188-2079
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Carol Stream
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carol Stream
Price Range: $95 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*** Expanded & Upgraded Fitness Room *** Redecorated Indoor Pool & Whirlpool *** 37"LCD TV's in Every Room ***Experience the difference in service at the Holiday Inn & Suites Carol Stream The pride of Carol Stream, the Holiday Inn & Suites is located 4 miles west of I-355 off North Ave. (Rt 64), just a few minutes from companies such as Fuji Film, New Holland, Invensys, McKesson, Con Agra, Graphic Packaging, Spraying Systems, Inland Group, Smurfit Stone, Everpure, Planmeca, and more. Carol Stream is adjacent to Wheaton, Bloomingdale, Glendale Heights, and Hanover Park.This hidden gem boasts quality in every room, like free high-speed Internet, refrigerators, and pillow top mattresses. It also stands alone with its 2 room and whirlpool suites, which have been completely redecorated and feature 37" LCD & 42' Plasma TVs. Hospitals: Central DuPage Hospital and Glen Oaks Hospital. Colleges: Wheaton College and College of DuPage. Local attractions include the Billy Graham Center, Cantigny Museum and Center Ice Arena, only 25 miles from downtown Chicago with Metra Train service available to make travel easy. Families can enjoy shopping at several local malls, Cosley Animal Zoo, & Brunswick Zone (right next door). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago-Carol Stream Hotel Carol Stream
Holiday Inn Carol Stream
Carol Stream Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing