We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lubar and Bistro

The Lubar and Bistro
Ranked #8 of 22 Restaurants in Carlyle
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Pekin, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

This place was great. So much more than just a bar. The menu borders on gourmet and I had the BEST BBQ sandwich ever! It was so good. Very cozy and inviting. I loved the menu....it was Huge. Something for everyone here!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“One of Better in the Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We are staying in Carlyle for several days and stopped here on the first night. Menu was fairly complete - my meatloaf with cheese was very good and my wife's chicken Bruschetta (or something like that) was tasty. Portions were more than adequate to large and "smashed" potatoes and green beans were very good. The outstanding event of the evening was the Gelatto - many flavors and huge portions - where the standard Gelatto uses a very small dipper here they use a standard ice cream dipper - I had Michigan Dried Cherry and my wife, Rocky Road Chocolate - both excellent and at a very fair price of $2.99. Wine selection by the glass was good. Full bar service is available and service was prompt and attentive.
There aren't many choices for dinner in the area and this one is more than adequate.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not bad...but”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Me and a buddy came here for lunch while fishing at the lake. The menu is pretty large and looked pretty good. The prices seemed a little on the high side. I got the bacon chicken breast sandwich. It was very good and their homemade chips were also very good. Not much atmosphere in the place for the price. All in all, not that bad.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank magnifiedplaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best in Carlyle.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Have been several times and it is often hit or miss service. The value of the menu varies greatly in my opinion from item to item. My absolute favorite is the tortellini but it is only offered at night. I was recently offered apple sauce as a side since I can't eat their normal fried selections and was charged $2 for the "upgrade" during lunch. The spinach dip is good but pricey for the quantity received. I commend the restaurant for being accommodating to my allergies. I have never had a problem here and that is exceptionally rare! Downstairs is a nice bar area perfect for visiting with friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rssorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best bistro in Carlyle”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

They cannot execute their menu. I wish I had better things to say, but wait times of up to an hour for poorly executed food is the norm here. If they have over an eight top you will be ignored, been through it on several occasions. The up side is they are the only restaurant like it in the area, they have a nice building ,and good gelato.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PrairiecreekIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lubar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing