We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home made local food”

Trattoria Vini e Cucina - Capre e Cavoli
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Orvinio
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Home made local food”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Eating here is like eating at someone's home in the local area. Staff is professional and their prices are very very honest. I recommend their home-hand made fettuccine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    36
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unpretentious local excellence”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This really is a lovely restaurant. The chef often uses ingredients picked from local hedgerows to add interest and variety to a perfect range of dishes and is happy to explain her approach to food and to share her wonderful recipes.
The house red is excellent value and combined with a three course lunch for 2 comes to about 35 euros.
English (and probably other languages too) is spoken by Roberta, who works with her mother in this marvellous little restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ardeche0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great local food and friendly service”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We've been to this little restaurant twice now on day trips out of Rome. Orvinio is a small but busy little town on the edge of the Monti Lucretili - a wonderfully wild national park in the Sabina area. Today we shared an excellent plate of antipasti, followed by gnocchi with gorgonzola and ravioli with ricotta and borage - both very tasty and the pasta home-made. I also had misticanza (mixed wild leafy greens) ripassata in padella, which were delicious. With half a litre of house white and coffee, we paid 36 euro. Great service too and English spoken. We'll be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hjb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great hearty local food”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

On Easter Sunday, as rain lashed the car on the mountain road to Orvinio, I had a mind to turn back to Tivoli, but fortunately persisted in the drive. The Trattoria Vini e Cucina proved to be a real treat: a sumptuous Easter feast. The delicious courses kept on coming: I cannot remember the names, but they were all so tasty. Some elements in the salad were new to us: slightly bitter leaves which perfectly complemented the lamb, which was juicy, tender, and subtly seasoned: just brilliant! Then came desserts... The local house wine served with the meal was just fine. The all-in price of 25 euros per person was amazing. All the diners received as a parting gift some Easter chocolate animals.
Our waitress spoke both German and English fluently, and we were made to feel at home throughout the meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Vini e Cucina - Capre e Cavoli also viewed

Orvinio, Province of Rieti
Orvinio, Province of Rieti
 
Orvinio, Province of Rieti
Colle di Tora, Province of Rieti
 
Pozzaglia Sabina, Province of Rieti
 

Been to Trattoria Vini e Cucina - Capre e Cavoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing