We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jungle Beach by Uga Escapes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuchchaveli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed 3 nights last week with family in 2 jungle cabins. This place is set within the coastal bush in harmony with nature and our stay was very relaxing. The food here was excellent and not having a buffet like other places made the restaurant uncluttered and peaceful without people walking all over. Staff all the way to the resident manager were very professional and went to great lengths to make our stay comfortable. The ocean here is very nice and we took a dip even at 7:30am. At other times the pool next to bar/restaurant which is also set within the jungle was a nice place to relax.
We came here soon after climbing Adam's Peak and was looking for a nice massage but the spa will only open from May 11th.
It takes some hours to get here by road but it was fully worth for us. Will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Jungle cabins we stayed were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antc777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

702 - 708 of 1,100 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

We just completed a magical holiday in Sri Lanka with a two night stay at this beautiful resort. Nothing can prepare you for what awaits you when you pull off the road - a simply stunning location with a team of people who welcome you with a smile.

My hubby and I wanted some time to relax, unwind and recharge and this was a perfect spot to do exactly that. It's an ideal place if you want to appreciate Mother Nature’s beauty, with a unique combination of a jungle+a beautiful beach. We chose this hotel because of it's stunning location and did not care about the price. Some may think it’s a bit pricey, however we will vouch it’s worth every penny!

The hotel oozes luxury and has uninterrupted views of long sandy beaches. We stayed 2 nights in a beach cabin (Room 7) which had a massive living space, private decking, outdoor shower and its very own pathway to the beach. –The cabin was perfectly situated to enjoy sunsets and a short stroll to the pool and open air restaurant. The food was fantastic, and we absolutely enjoyed the breakfast platter. Head chef Vichalya was a pleasure to meet with and he prepared a mouth-watering lobster dish which we thoroughly enjoyed. His experience as Chef is a fantastic addition to the resort and the hotels menu caters for everyone and allows everyone to taste the authentic Sri Lankan cuisine. We also enjoyed a private dining experience by the beach – The sounds of the waves + beach bar that served gorgeous cocktails+ nice food is a memory that will always stay with us……

We had the most relaxing stay at this hotel. From the moment you wake up to the end of the day, the service standard of staff was highly commendable. Special mention has to go to Thimasha Wanasinghe the hotel’s guest relations exec- who went out of her way to make our stay pleasant. She arranged transfers to the airport/ helped us choose local activities/booked our return flights from Trinco to Colombo- During our stay the Resort manager Shivapriyan personally checked that we were satisfied with our stay- which we ABSOLUTELY were! Now that is a service you don’t get elsewhere!!

The hotel clearly is a good location for people of all ages In short, this is a fantastic resort, with fabulous staff, competitively priced and highly recommended- we would certainly want to revisit this magical hideaway again !!!!

Room Tip: The beach cabins are great as they have a own pathway to the beach, however if you are going as a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shamina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Recently stayed for 3 nights as part of our trip touring around Sri Lanka. We had a lovely relaxing time at the resort, lovely bungalows too. We were a little disappointed with our view from the balcony so they upgraded us to a different bungalow with our own private pool, just a few steps from the pristine beach. The rooms were very clean, well equipped, extremely comfortable beds and massive bathrooms with outdoor rain showers! Food was presented beautifully and the Sri Lankan curry was fantastic!! Staff were very polite and helpful. Worthwhile having a go at the complimentary yoga session - the teacher was excellent. The beach either side of the hotel is deserted apart from local fishermen.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magraths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

place is bit small (for the price you pay) the Staff smile a lot but are inefficient (i tried to make booking for there other property and they took photocopies of my credit card and my details BUT the booking was NEVER made!) also they say something and then forget (this happened many times)

The food was recycled :-) but the presentation was good!

the rooms are nice but not too privet the beach is well kept!

the price (for everything) is more than i would have liked to pay .....

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohandelanerolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Jungle beach resort is one of the best resorts that I have been in so far.
We had a wonderful time and enjoyed the natural jungle like surroundings as well as the spectacular view of the ocean.
I would like to extend a special thanks to Chef.Vichalya for preparing delicious meals with true srilankan flavor, the food is just awesome. .

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Shavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The Jungle Beach was a fabulous Surprise in the very underrated resort of Trincomalee ! The hotel was Very comfortable with every need taken care of ,even down to the fresh milk in the fridge for our teas and coffee (a Very pleasant change to the powdered alternative). The restaurant was efficient and the food Delicious ,All the staff were Delightful,nothing was too much trouble.
the close proximity to the stunning beach was a huge plus. our only niggle was that on the first night they ran out of a very reasonable and acceptable White sancerre and were unable to offer anything in its place except VERY Overpriced Chardonnay but if thats my only gripe then you must assume that Jungle Beach Is a Must , Oh and the Breakfasts were Stupendous Thank You.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kurinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

From the moment my wife and I arrived at the beautiful Jungle Beach resort the warm welcome and exceptional service was simply first class. We stayed in one of the lovely beach cabins and found the rooms to be of a very high standard, the private outside shower was an added luxurious touch! The quality and choice of food was superb with a good mix of Sri Lankan and European food available. The resort itself is located on an secluded, sandy beach with plenty of sun lounges and is supervised by life guards throughout the day for added peace of mind. What makes this place really special however is the highest level of service consistently delivered by the great staff at Jungle Beach. A special mention has to be given to Thimasha the Guest Relations Executive and Shivapriyan the resort manager who looked after our every need throughout our stay - thank you! I can't rate this place highly enough and will certainly be back next time I am in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Book a beach side cabin and you'll have your own private path straight down to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuchchaveli
12 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 11 in Trincomalee
1,386 reviews
11.9 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 11 in Trincomalee
395 reviews
4.7 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Nilaveli
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 6 in Nilaveli
477 reviews
3.7 mi away
C Beyond
C Beyond
#4 of 6 in Nilaveli
22 reviews
5.2 mi away
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Beach by Uga Escapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Beach by Uga Escapes

Address: 27th Kilometre Post Pulmoddai Rd, Kuchchaveli 31014, Sri Lanka (Formerly Uga Jungle Beach)
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Kuchchaveli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuchchaveli
Price Range: $159 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jungle Beach by Uga Escapes 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within just 30 minutes drive from Trincomalee, Jungle Beach is located in Kuchchaveli, on the eastern seaboard of Sri Lanka. Jungle Beach is every bit as its name implies - spectacularly set in an entirely natural and harmonious blend of Sri Lanka’s most celebrated virtues – its wondrous beaches and teeming jungles. Nestled within a secluded 10-acre reserve, sandwiched between the vast Indian Ocean and a lagoon filled with colorful birds, this luxury beach resort beckons with over 4km of private beaches, tropical mangroves and endless pursuits. 48 luxurious villas of modern design yet crafted from indigenous materials as to appear born of the jungle and fused in harmony with the natural surroundings all offering spectacular views of the ocean. Each villa tucked deeply within luscious foliage, offers utmost privacy and seclusion. Spacious 650 square feet villas, each one luxuriously appointed with king sized beds, high-end entertainment systems, private decks and outdoor rain showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jungle Beach by Uga Escapes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing