We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jungle Beach by Uga Escapes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuchchaveli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The stay at JBH was lovely and the three night stay was very relaxing.... The jungle concept which was adopted to do up the hotel was a unique experience along with the beach frontage......
The staff was very friendly, the food and cleanliness was at its peak.The jungle cabins we stayed in were very romantic and gorgeous.....The furniture and deco were tastefully done.......We enjoyed our holiday and recommended the hotel to most of our friends locally and overseas!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheran2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,031)
There are newer reviews for Jungle Beach by Uga Escapes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

663 - 669 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

Thank you to Jayalath and all staff at JBH, Trinco. We had a lovely time with excellent service and food. The whole atmosphere in the hotel is just serene, peaceful and uplifting.Recommend for anyone who wants to relax and forget about the rest of the world. Just dip into the lovely pool or go for walks tramplling on the waves in the beach or simply watch the sun rise and set over the vase blue green sea.

Beautiful place with beautiful people.

Room Tip: South side leading to beach are fab
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harshani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is a perfect place spend the holiday in a peaceful way , without worrying about food , cleanliness, etc. nice maintain the environment without damaging the nature that is so wonderful. I must give credit to the stuff who is so supportive and helpful .this place is a great ....thanks .

Room Tip: all the rooms are really good.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruchika M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Myself and a friend have just spent 2 nights at the lovely Jungle Beach Resort. From the endless and deserted stretch of beach, gorgeous cabins, attentive staff and varied cuisine, this was the perfect way to finish a 2 week trip to Sri Lanka. The decor throughout is stylish and sustainable, built to fit in with the surrounding foliage and including a lagoon pool in the middle. The staff couldn't have been any more helpful to ensure we had the best stay possible, and arranged a (huge) delicious birthday cake for my friend's birthday. They also specially went into Trincomalee (30 mins away) to buy us the train tickets we needed to get back to Colombo at no extra cost. The outdoor showers in each cabin are a real treat and going to sleep you really feel buried in the jungle with all its accompanying sounds, but with the beach on your doorstep. It may be a bit tricky to get to, but for those craving a stunning getaway and the adventurous nature to get there, the Jungle Beach Resort is an ideal and luxurious retreat.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank kenningtonqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We just came home from two weeks in paradise at the Jungle Beach Resort. The amazing surroundings, the well kept hotel area, the beach and above all the staff made our trip to an unforgettable memory. The only possible negative remark that we could make is the remote location and that you will have a hard time finding other restaurants for dinner. But with that said, why would you want to? The food in the hotel restaurant is astonishing and they are very flexible if you for example want to make a dish vegetarian. The location on the less touristy east coast of Sri Lanka gave us so much. You have kilometers of beach all to yourself and you really get a feeling for the "real" Sri Lanka and the wonderful nature of the area. We went on a couple of well organised excursions to Anuradhapura/Mihintale and Dambulla/Sigiriya/Safari and even though the hotel has a list of fixed excursions, there was no problem adding special wishes or destinations. Once again I want to mention the well trained staff that went out of their way to make us feel at home. Always there with a smile. Keep up the good work - we will come back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StefanBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Five things made our stay at the Resort perfect:
1. Superb cuisine: All fresh, international food - but you can also get some traditional curry. Not cheap but well worth the price! Also the vegetarian choice is absolutely no problem, just talk to the kitchen - they are very flexible and creative!!
2. The facility: all items are build in the middle of a jungle right in front of the beautiful beach but in a very sustainable manner. The concept is not to interfer in nature too much. They just cutted off two trees for the hole complex, which is very well maintained. We felt a little like in a tropical zoo with lots of colourful butterflies and plants.
3. Rooms: We had the jungle villa - which was the best choice: Same comfort like the beach villa (high standard furniture and outdoor-shower - the beach villas do not have beach view for sustainable reasons, but their own path to the beach) but less expensive!
4. Location: The location is a bit remote but therefore not touristic at all. The hotel offers a bunch of great guided trips and you can still explore the area on your own (Trincomlee, Nilaveli Beach, walks and bike-tours around...). Thus you are not isolated. But notice that there are no shops around - the next one is 30 km away in Trincomalee. But it is very easy to take the bus or get help from the staff to organize a taxi or Tuktuk.
5. Staff: Unbelivable friendly, helpful and up front! They noticed everything you like or dislike but were never too intrusive. They are very endeavour to make you feel home and also were always a great support in organizing our trips. And after all this area had to struggle in the last 30 years - again the concept convinces: The company cares for the staff and tries to employ local people.

Don't miss the Cocktail creations (Wild Toddy, Green Paradise, and if you're lucky you'll get one which is off the menue) of barkeeper Raja - and Raja himself (When I was a little sick he mixed a special medical drink - Thank's again)!

Room Tip: We had the jungle villa - which was the best choice: Same comfort like the beach villa (high standar...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We only stayed one night but it was great.
We arrived early morning and had planned to stay at the beach until the room was ready for check-in. After 10min the Frontdesk Manager (a very serviceminded friendly young man) came and upgraded us to the highest category; the most fantastic private house in the jungle by the beach.

Our room was big and spotless clean. A huge bathroom with both a normal shower and one outdoors- Great! We had a patio with a sunbed and a private pool (shared with 2 other houses, but nobody was there)
This is a place you stay at. There is basically nothing around. You are in the jungle by the beach. The staight highway can take you with tuktuk about 20min into Trincomalee.

The restaurant serves a mix of western and Sri Lankese food. It was all good but it was never exactly what it said in the menu. Things were missing or replaced without anyone letting us know.

We were happy to find out that Trincomalee has a small airport! Instead of taking a taxi for 6-7 hours we took a small plane to Colombo with Sri Lankan Airforce. (HeliTours-4650Rs) You have to book online 2 days before or go get the ticket the day before. Departs 3 days per week. Only 15kg aloud but you can pay 700Rs/kilo overweight.
The lovely young woman from reception named Thimasha arranged everything for us! We could just relax by the pool! Again: -Thank you soo much!! :)
Before going to the aiport we were welcomed to stay in our house an extra 3h after checkout-time.
Jungle Beach Resorts GM can be very proud of all the friendly, proffessional staff!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatjaKarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuchchaveli
11.9 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
353 reviews
12.0 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 10 in Trincomalee
1,326 reviews
5.6 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 5 in Nilaveli
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Nilaveli
172 reviews
5.2 mi away
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Nilaveli
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Beach by Uga Escapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Beach by Uga Escapes

Address: 27th Kilometre post Pulmoddai Rd, Kuchchaveli 31014, Sri Lanka (Formerly Uga Jungle Beach)
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Kuchchaveli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuchchaveli
Price Range: $141 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jungle Beach by Uga Escapes 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within just 30 minutes drive from Trincomalee, Jungle Beach is located in Kuchchaveli, on the eastern seaboard of Sri Lanka. Jungle Beach is every bit as its name implies - spectacularly set in an entirely natural and harmonious blend of Sri Lanka’s most celebrated virtues – its wondrous beaches and teeming jungles. Nestled within a secluded 10-acre reserve, sandwiched between the vast Indian Ocean and a lagoon filled with colorful birds, this luxury beach resort beckons with over 4km of private beaches, tropical mangroves and endless pursuits. 48 luxurious villas of modern design yet crafted from indigenous materials as to appear born of the jungle and fused in harmony with the natural surroundings all offering spectacular views of the ocean. Each villa tucked deeply within luscious foliage, offers utmost privacy and seclusion. Spacious 650 square feet villas, each one luxuriously appointed with king sized beds, high-end entertainment systems, private decks and outdoor rain showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jungle Beach by Uga Escapes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing