We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco friendly excellence”
Review of Uga Jungle Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Uga Jungle Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuchchaveli
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
545 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
“Eco friendly excellence”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The first thing that struck me about this all-chalet resort was its clever architecture -- preserving the jungle and building around it, in harmony with nature.

Our chalet was perfect, spotlessly clean , with a comfortable bed, shower and toilet and an additional outdoor rain shower . Well stocked mini bar and complimentary tea/coffee. The patio was great for a chat and in room dining. Good lighting, flat screen TV, DVD and iPod docking unit. Wifi could have been better but this was not an issue.

The family area which consisted of three chalets ( sleeps upto nine pax were were told ) and its own pool in a semi circular arrangement was beautiful and cosy -- noted for a future visit!

The beach nearby was fine although there are better beaches in Sri Lanka -- not too far from the hotel.

All the staff were super - friendly, efficient and very conscious of their role as guardians of the environment. In fact they said that this last fact was crucial to their recruitment.

Chef Vichalya must be one of the greatest assets of this resort , with his innovative fusion cuisine -- high quality, great taste , variety and presentation.

The resort has a resident naturalist who arranges excursions -- whale and dolphin watching, boat trips to Pigeon Island etc. The area is a bird watcher's paradise , especially during the annual winter migration from the northern hemisphere starting around November.

It was heartening to see the area around Kuchchaveli developing after Sri Lanka's 30 year civil war, with all communities living peacefully together; an effort worth supporting. I will definitely return soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roshni2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    181
    38
    20
    4
See reviews for
310
456
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Perfect in every way - from upgrading to a beach view villa (well worth it), to catering to vegetarian needs. Combined with a great and empty beach. A wonderful stay with brilliant staff. (To say nothing of Bunny the pet deer!)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rossaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great place, wonderful staff, clean location & good amenities. Albeit there is room for improvement in the F&B section. dinner Alarcate menu was not great other than the Sri Lankan dishes. Great place for family and friends. Couples also will enjoy but tranquility will be an issue in the restaurant and bar area as children roam freely :). More water sports activities must be introduced as the 2 jet skies are not adequate. Dolphin and whale watching is been offered and sightings are a plenty. Will go again for sure. The staff are a true asset.

Room Tip: Beach chalets or the cluster chalets. Avoid Lagoon Chalets as the sun hits the lagoon and is unbeara...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KishanDominicPerera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a very special hotel and sums up what is so great about Sri Lanka...great scenery, friendly people, amazing variety of wildlife and fabulous fresh food.
The eco-type resort is nestled in 'jungle' adjacent to a long pristine beach. We were told only 2 trees were cut to make way for the buildings. The entrance is via a wooden walkway that cleverly takes you almost into the tree tops. Infact you have to walk around branches to descend to ground level via steps. Pathways lead you through vegetation to the individual villas.
The rooms are well laid out and spacious and you definitely feel you are away from the modern noise and rush of city life. The outdoor shower surrounded by a high mud wall was a great experience.
The pool is a little small given the number of rooms at the hotel, but it is surrounded by luscious vegetation and ponds with water lilies and fish. We watched butterlies and kingfishers as we relaxed on the sun loungers.
The beach is extensive in either direction and perfect for shell collecting and long walks early in the morning to see a variety of birds. I spotted a pair of wild boar in the distance one morning and fresh elephant dung. Sadly we did not spot the animals themselves.
The resident naturalist at the hotel was very interesting and helpful when identifying the local fauna. He took us on a bicycle ride early one evening to the salt pans opposite the hotel, through a local village and further on to a local fishing community. The morning we left he had just returned from taking hotel guests out on the hotel boat to spot dolphins. Blue whales are also off the coast here to be seen from April/May. The resident 'pet' spotted deer 'Bunny' was popular with the children, arriving at the kitchen door when it was time to be fed.
Do visit Pigeon Island when you stay here. We spent a happy few hours snorkeling amongst tropical fish and black tipped reef sharks! Turtles can also be seen if you are lucky.
The service and staff at this hotel are excellent. The staff are well trained, attentive, friendly and helpful. The food is just amazing, and chef will prepare dishes to suit individuals.
We stayed 2 nights and only wish it could have been a lot longer. Definitely one of our favourite places in Sri Lanka and somewhere we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

After a long journey to Trincomalee we stayed there for two day & it was a really nice experience. Kinda ideal place for a couple to getaway. They have a private beach & according to the manager it's 3kms long so you can have a quiet & calm time over there. We went there at the beginning of monsoon therefore the sea was little bit rough & polluted with some salvinias. So sea bathing was not the most enjoyable of we had.
The staff was really helpful well trained. They have a la carte menu but there wasn't much choices which was one of the main negative points for me. Overall it's a good hotel with really nice staff.

Room Tip: All rooms have access to the beach within a minute so don't think Beach chalet worth the extra m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACTPerera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and it was wonderful getaway - A place where servise at its best -
Young staff is remarkable - we were served by jayalath at the restaurant and he was excellent - his collègues helped him allways until the last moment - Good team work when there is a complicated menu on offer -







Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nilusha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel and it indeed were two memorable days. From the arrival until the departure service of the staff was excellent. They were friendly and took great effort to make our stay comfortable and relaxed. The hotel is a great combination of the jungle and the beach.The place had been constructed with minimum impact to the environment. Even though we couldn't enjoy much in the beach (since it was very hot), the beach area is very beautiful. The food was very tasty and fresh. Presentation of food was great. Only thing i missed here were spa facilities.
Attractions close to the hotel include Hirigandu Seya (world's first dageba), Marble beach, hot water wells, Koneshwaran Temple and it takes only 45 minutes to 1 hour from the hotel to reach these places.
It was one of the best relaxing hotels we have been to. Love to visit this place again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dulani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuchchaveli
11.9 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
315 reviews
12.0 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 10 in Trincomalee
1,267 reviews
5.6 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 5 in Nilaveli
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Nilaveli
463 reviews
5.1 mi away
Nagenahira Beach Villas
Nagenahira Beach Villas
#1 of 25 in Nilaveli
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uga Jungle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uga Jungle Beach

Property: Uga Jungle Beach
Address: 27th Kilometre Post Pulmoddai Rd | Trincomalee, Kuchchaveli 31014, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Kuchchaveli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuchchaveli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Uga Jungle Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within just 30 minutes drive from Trincomalee Jungle Beach is located in Kuchchaveli, on the eastern seaboard of Sri Lanka, Jungle Beach is every bit as its name implies; spectacularly set in an entirely natural and harmonious blend of Sri Lanka’s most celebrated virtues – its wondrous beaches and teeming jungles.Nestled within a secluded 10-acre reserve, sandwiched between the vast Indian Ocean and a lagoon filled with colorful bird, this luxury beach resort beckons with over 4km of private beaches, tropical mangroves and endless pursuits. 48 luxurious villas of modern design yet crafted from indigenous materials as to appear born of the jungle and fused in harmony with the natural surroundings all offering spectacular views of the ocean. Each villa tucked deeply within luscious foliage, offers utmost privacy and seclusion. Spacious 650 square feet villas, each one luxuriously appointed with king sized beds, high-end entertainment systems, private decks and outdoor rain showers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Uga Jungle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing