We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away paradise”
Review of Uga Jungle Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Uga Jungle Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuchchaveli
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tucked away paradise”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent 3 nights in Jungle Beach in one of the lagoon view cabins. The cabin itself was gorgeous, very spacious with a large comfy bed and lovely ensuite, without doubt the best room we stayed in throughout our 2 weeks in Sri Lanka. The lagoon view was the only let down, go for the beach view if available. The food at the resort was mixed, breakfast was excellent with lots of options/courses. The lunch/dinner menu wasn't what it ought to be though. For a beach resort there should be a lot more seafood on the menu, this was probably the biggest disappointment. Of the meals we did order we found the tuna steak and the ravioli to be exceptionally good, so much so that we ordered these dishes 3 times. The other dishes we tried were pretty average, the grilled swordfish sandwich and quesadilla spring to mind.

The beach the resort sits on is very nice, you can walk for miles along the beach without bumping in to anyone. The water was also flat calm at this time of year so we were able to enjoy daily swims in the sea. The resort pool is very nice also and is in a lovely setting.

The staff were very friendly and helpful although at times they are a bit disorganised in the restaurant. Overall I would highly recommend staying here and believe it is well worth it's 5 star rating on TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank overmarsirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    175
    38
    20
    4
See reviews for
303
445
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed for three nights at Jungle Beach in a beach chalet. We were travelling with our 18 month old daughter. From the minute we arrived to the time of our departure we were made to feel very special. The location is spectacular with a beautiful clean beach and lush jungle surrounds. The rooms are very well appointed with a beautiful outdoor shower. They also have a resident deer called Bunny who is absolutely gorgeous and in my opinion should become the resorts official mascot. Whilst all the staff were outstanding, Rohana, the restaurant and bar executive, made our stay unforgettable. He is an asset to the Jungle Beach team and can not do enough to assist guests with anything they may require. Rohana even suggested that rather than tipping him we tip his hardworking staff. This is in my view a trait of an outstanding manager and someone who is destined for higher management roles. I also need to mention Miss Chandani who not only takes wonderful care of Bunny but also took great care of our daughter which gave us an opportunity to have some lovely dinners. It was the experience of a lifetime and we hope we can come back soon and meet lots of baby Bunnys! Thanks again to all at Jungle Beach.

Room Tip: Beach Chalets are well worth the extra money. You can hear the ocean from your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeAndMegs21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I accidentally discovered this hotel while surfing the net - it is beautiful nestled in the middle of the forest..stayed in the Ocean view suite with my wife for 2 nights. scenic views with excellent room service..they have a lovely private beach. breakfast menu is well thought through with an innovative range.swimming pool is like a little pond in the woods.aesthetically designed well maintained resort though a bit away from the main town centre

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArjunK21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Jungle Beach has a wonderful setting and passionate staff. The chalets are spacious and great outdoor shower ! The food has to be mentioned as outstanding both in taste and presentation and service. The hotel is run with passion and the hotel staff eager to perform.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myron2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were there for 1 night everything was good only disappointed part was we thought since was a beach resort we were expecting much more sea food as you can expect when any one travel around beach resorts in sri lanka. Same story with uga bay passikudah

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0saliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragama, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed there one day, it was really a nice place to be. Nature at its best. You couldn't ask for more. The beach was amazing. There are lot of beach sports. The view from the room was great. If a family is going best would be the cluster room, you get the private pool.
But the service they have to improve, other than that its nice place to be.

Room Tip: Cluster room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCG_Wickramasinghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in a beach hut for 3 days which was lovely and the beach was fun with some good waves to body surf. BUT for the money we paid it was three days we could easily have done without on our trip. The food is average. At best. It is average and expensive. Of a two and half week holiday for our honeymoon this was the most disappointing hotel, lacking character and service. I would recommend Kandy house or ulagalla or wallowa much more highly.

On a positive note, the cocktails were really good though.

Room Tip: The beach rooms are nice with good power showers and only 30 seconds to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camilla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramli G, Director / Chief Executive Officer at Uga Jungle Beach, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your stay at Jungle Beach.
We are sorry that some of our services and facilities did not meet your expectation and your constructive feedback has already been taken up with my team.

Guest feedback is of great importance to us to continuously improve in the services provided to our guests and we thank you for your comments.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Jungle Beach.

Yours sincerely,
Ramli Ghaffoor
Director/ CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuchchaveli
11.9 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
297 reviews
4.7 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Nilaveli
150 reviews
12.0 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 10 in Trincomalee
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 5 in Nilaveli
430 reviews
5.2 mi away
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Nilaveli
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uga Jungle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uga Jungle Beach

Property: Uga Jungle Beach
Address: 27th Kilometre Post Pulmoddai Rd | Trincomalee, Kuchchaveli 31014, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Kuchchaveli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuchchaveli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Uga Jungle Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within just 30 minutes drive from Trincomalee Jungle Beach is located in Kuchchaveli, on the eastern seaboard of Sri Lanka, Jungle Beach is every bit as its name implies; spectacularly set in an entirely natural and harmonious blend of Sri Lanka’s most celebrated virtues – its wondrous beaches and teeming jungles.Nestled within a secluded 10-acre reserve, sandwiched between the vast Indian Ocean and a lagoon filled with colorful bird, this luxury beach resort beckons with over 4km of private beaches, tropical mangroves and endless pursuits. 48 luxurious villas of modern design yet crafted from indigenous materials as to appear born of the jungle and fused in harmony with the natural surroundings all offering spectacular views of the ocean. Each villa tucked deeply within luscious foliage, offers utmost privacy and seclusion. Spacious 650 square feet villas, each one luxuriously appointed with king sized beds, high-end entertainment systems, private decks and outdoor rain showers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Uga Jungle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing