We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotelesque”
Review of Uga Jungle Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Uga Jungle Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuchchaveli
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotelesque”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We spent a fantastic three days at Jungle Beach and were thoroughly spoilt by the location and staff. If you are looking for something slightly extrordinary for a beach resort then look no further. Although in some hotels you may be able to roll out of bed right on the beach the short 2 minute walk thorough cultured fawny and flora to get there is nothing but magical; the hotel even has three hand reared tame deer who will join you for breakfast! Once at the secluded beach you will not be disappointed. The sea is warm and clean with waves that are big enough to body surf and ride, and unlike the rather turbulent East Coast of the country, very safe to swim in. The pool around the bar and restaurant is small but adequate and nicely shaded from the searing sun.

Although in our group there were mixed reactions about the food, personally I thought this was the nicest thought out and presented menu that I have had in Sri Lanka. There were European dishes, Sri Lanka specialities and fusion dishes too, but I would certainly go for the local specialities and seafood if you want the authentic experience. The portion sizes for the main courses were of Man v Food proportions, so you won't be leaving the table hungry and half board is more than adequate.

I cannot thank the staff who went out of their way to help us. The hotel has a policy of hiring local staff, many who were caught up in the unfortunate conflict that beleaguered the country for many years. Money is therefore kept in the local area rather than all being funnelled back to Colombo which will hopefully continue to help the North South divide and allow the area to prosper.

My only reservation which prevented me from giving the hotel full marks, was that for a recently opened (within the last couple of years), hotel there were small glitches within the rooms that I wouldn't have expected. The rooms themselves were luxurious, but to have burnt/nibbled curtain linings, a non functioning lock on the bathroom door, sticky lock on the front door and a wobbly toilet are small inconveniences. The sound proofing is not good if you are in a downstairs apartment and the WiFi only available around the reception/bar area, but none of these should put anyone off from this otherwise exceptional hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with beach front balconies and the special ones with their own pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ysamarasinghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    189
    38
    20
    4
See reviews for
316
468
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Beautifully designed rooms, with all modern fittings, in separate thatched houses linked by pathways through jungle to stunning central area of restaurant, pool, and bar, and just minutes walk from a beach which is not quite in the same league. A Robinson Crusoe fantasy. Any criticisms are quibbles. Staff are very friendly and helpful,(say hello to Banda) sometimes verging on obsequious, although service can sometimes be slow. Slightly pricey menu has too much international cuisine and lacks enough choice, especially of Sri Lankan food, although one night there was a superb Sri Lankan buffet. The feel is intimate, if ever so slightly isolated from the real world. Our rooms, 32 and 33 leaked badly in a rain storm, and management didn't seem surprised. We had a wonderful 4 nights here.

Room Tip: We had North Lagoon rooms and, if the leaks are repaired, they were wonderful, though not the luxuri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 222BenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Spent 4 days here during the middle of a two week trip to Sri Lanka. It was the perfect relaxation spot. The food was excellent but a little pricey but the portions were massive. I love that the hotel employs local disadvantaged boys that they train up to be able to work in the hotel trade. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous.
The room was perfect and snorkelling out on the reef was great.
Our whole trip was booked using Red Dot Tours - they were fantastic!

Room Tip: Choose a beach room - you then get personal access to the beach. Part of which is designated a child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matara, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent 5 days here at Jungle Beach a few Kilometres outside of Tricomalee. Its rather isolated and so you need to be half board but the food is good and quite varied . the breakfast is immense and you can easily do without lunch to save a bit of money. Jungle Beach is a small resort right on the practically deserted beach. The sea is perfect for swimming and there are lifeguards, umbrellas, sun beds and beach service . the pool is beaurtiful but with only a handful of loungers. The whole resort is very green with water running round the bar and restaurant that is full of fish and even a water snake, lots of trees and plants and flowers. There are deer which come right up to the restaurant and seem very tame. The service is very attentive but sometimes they do not have enough staff in the restaurant for dinner and so it means that you have a long wait, they are always apologietic though. The rooms are big with fantastic beds and all have balconies - this is one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in in Sri Lanka. The decor is modern and tasteful but the internet connection is non existent in the rooms and not very strong in the bar and restaurant. It is expensive but it is worth it if you want to have a complete break and relax in luxury - just one tip - dont' take the nature walk offered - the guide can barely speak Englsih and does not seem to know where to look for anything - he was on his phone a lot of the time but did try to point out a couple of 'common babblers' when he could be bothered. They need to get someone who has a more outgoing and friendly personality for this role. Otherwise a great hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the jungle - not much of view but there are sea views from some of the ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAWMatara_SriLanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The rooms at Jungle Beach are very luxurious, large, and comfortable. The bathroom is huge with two showers - one outdoors. The beach is relatively unspoilt and not crowded like the popular Nilaveli beach. However, the downside is that the sea is not as calm as Nilaveli and you need to travel some distance by boat to access the snorkeling locations of Pigeon Island and other areas. The common pool is lovely with water jets and shady during the hot afternoons due to tree cover. The only downside we experienced at Jungle Beach was the food. There is very little choice of food especially for vegetarians. As the hotel has no buffet the choice can be pretty limited especially during dinner and lunch. Introducing some old seaside favourites such as fish and chips or baked crab/crab curry would add much value to the menu. Breakfasts were interesting though with a choice of yogurts, fruit, bread and smoothies. The staff were very friendly and courteous. Good place to relax.

Room Tip: Jungle and beach chalets are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmalee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights at the end of a trio around Sri Lanka. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and the rooms are very well equipped.
All of the staff were attentive and friendly.
the food was some of the best we have sampled anywhere in the world. We were travelling with our 2 teenage children who were also impressed (and they do not impress easily). The food is quite expensive compared to other meals we had had in Sri Lanka but the quality was superb. I wold advise opting for a half board option to sample the daily changing menus with great choice.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Jungle Beach was absolutely amazing! The hotel rooms were beautiful and the staff was excellent and very helpful. The overall atmosphere was great...the cluster rooms had a beautiful private plunge pool and you felt like you were living in a jungle but the beach was just a few steps away. I had an amazing stay there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv1389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuchchaveli
11.9 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
331 reviews
12.0 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 10 in Trincomalee
1,297 reviews
5.6 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 5 in Nilaveli
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Nilaveli
475 reviews
12.2 mi away
Anantamaa Trincomalee
Anantamaa Trincomalee
#2 of 90 in Trincomalee
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uga Jungle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uga Jungle Beach

Property: Uga Jungle Beach
Address: 27th Kilometre Post Pulmoddai Rd | Trincomalee, Kuchchaveli 31014, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Kuchchaveli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuchchaveli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Uga Jungle Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within just 30 minutes drive from Trincomalee Jungle Beach is located in Kuchchaveli, on the eastern seaboard of Sri Lanka, Jungle Beach is every bit as its name implies; spectacularly set in an entirely natural and harmonious blend of Sri Lanka’s most celebrated virtues – its wondrous beaches and teeming jungles.Nestled within a secluded 10-acre reserve, sandwiched between the vast Indian Ocean and a lagoon filled with colorful bird, this luxury beach resort beckons with over 4km of private beaches, tropical mangroves and endless pursuits. 48 luxurious villas of modern design yet crafted from indigenous materials as to appear born of the jungle and fused in harmony with the natural surroundings all offering spectacular views of the ocean. Each villa tucked deeply within luscious foliage, offers utmost privacy and seclusion. Spacious 650 square feet villas, each one luxuriously appointed with king sized beds, high-end entertainment systems, private decks and outdoor rain showers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Uga Jungle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing