We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sri Lanka haven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dodanduwa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House of Lotus Yoga Retreat
Reviewed February 6, 2013

After a very long travel from the UK to hikkaduwa, I was definitely in need of some relaxation. Well what can I say...the House of Lotus delivered. The rooms are spacious and perfect for my starfish position when sleeping(obviously in preparation for my yoga)
Food: faultless, I am not a picky eater, but I do love great food, and I was blown away every morning and every evening, plates were definitely discreetly licked clean :) five star. I ate so much and still managed to shift a few pounds !!!!
The surroundings, well the title says it all. A harmonic haven, I can't say any more I believe that sums It up. A great get away from the slightly more lively Hikkaduwa
The yoga, I hadn't practiced my yoga for about a month, naughty I know....shhhh.
But again It was perfect, I was at the retreat for two weeks, day one warmed me in, and as the days went on so did the level of yoga, I gained a great understanding of yoga from a deeper level, rather than just making a pose. I was able to gain a sense of mediation through out the whole class. All I can say is thank you Cornelia, it definitely has encourage me to take my yoga to the next level, something I would never truly of thought would happen.
I would just like to say thank you again, would I recommend a visit to the house of lotus. Definitely. Try and go for two weeks, I watched people come and go and how jealous I was of myself in those moments knowing I still had more time

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tavels-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 23 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We wanted a break from the usual beach/hilltop stays so after reviewing a lot of hotels in Sri Lanka, we came across this retreat from TripAdvisor and it was the best vacation so far.

This is not any conventional hotel but more of a home stay run by the couple. The website does not do any justice to describe the beauty of this place.

After landing in Columbo, we had requested for a airport transfer. Our flight was almost 2 hours delayed, but the driver promptly waited and picked us up from the airport. It was a 2 hour drive from the city which was faster since we took the highway and did not held up in the traffic. When we reached the place, we didn't have any expectation since this was our first home stay. We were shown to our room in the house which had like 6 rooms altogether. The rooms were well planned, one can either enter through the house and still had individual terrace that led to the outdoors directly. The house was clean, well-maintained and had a peaceful aura to it.

The house was pretty full for the first few days but later it was just 4 more guests other than us. The breakfast, evening tea and dinner were served everyday, it was vegetarian all along but the beauty is that the cuisine is from all over the world. One day we had ratatouille and the next we had Srilankan string hoppers with Curry. it was a surprise every day. I liked the different flavors of the tea that were served. We often end up staying up after the food for a generic chit-chat on various worldly topics!!

Since we had signed up for a singing bowl yoga retreat we had a chartered schedule of the yoga and meditation sessions for 7 days. They had invited guest yoga trainer from Nepal. Usually it is the host herself who would run the yoga sessions. The trainer from Nepal was very excellent and peaceful and we enjoyed his yoga sessions thoroughly.

We had like 6 hours leisure time in the morning that we mostly spent on the beach. The beach was at a stone throw distance, just across the road. A stroll to Hikkaduwa and back was enjoyable. Hikkaduwa is where one could find activities like snorkeling, surfing etc. with many more variety of eateries on the coast line. Since this was our first visit to southern Sri Lanka, we also went to the southern tip Galle, the host had arranged a tuk-tuk for us. We also took a boat ride in the backwaters just behind the retreat for a cinnamon plantation visit. The localities be it our cab drivers or restaurant people, were very friendly and they were eager to know if we are from Sri Lanka itself. The pool in the retreat was also awesome, it was well maintained. Rest of the time, we spent reading the books, they had a very good collection.

Downside, price-wise bit on the high-end, must be prepared for fighting the mosquitos when outside. But we had mosquito nets in the room which helped. Sometimes after the yoga sessions everybody would have gone for the bath and we found the pressure of the water was a wee bit problematic. There is no web payment to book a room but to wire transfer to their accounts, we had a bit of run around for this though. But the experience we got, made us overlook these cons.

Would definitely plan for another trip since we came back refreshed and with a different outlook towards life!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Positives: nice building, intense Yoga, great rooms and pool, delicious vegetarian food.
Negatives: prices for all additonal charges (drinks, massages, transfers) are way too high, traffic noise from highway and train, inconsistent application of concept, if you are not fully aligned to the owners concept, your stay will be difficult and this requirement is not communicated on their webpage.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank world-trekker67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

After two visits to Sri Lanka we finaly discovered a beautifull and tranquil place to stay. The house is setlled in a lush tropical garden just nest to the beach. Rooms are clean and tidy, daily serviced and provided with basic ammenities. They are attached with a big terrace perfectly orientated that you are not disturbed by other guests.The breakfast is something special, fusion of western and local ingredians. Also you can have and dinner on your request which is much better then in local restorants. Thanks to the owners, Cornelia and Ernest, we discovered so many intresting things about Sri Lanka like ayurvedic massage, yoga, crystals and places of interest aroun the house. Also there is a tuk tuk driver and a good guide who helped us to see all those places.

Room Tip: The room with the view on the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miroslav L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

The House of Lotus provides absolute peace, quiet and tranquility - it feels less like a hotel and more like a luxury private villa. The pool is stunning - cool and clean - and the grounds are immaculate. The location of House of Lotus is perfect: situated between the busy local town of Hikkaduwa and the beautiful tourist area of Galle, and only 10 metres from the sea and a white sandy beach.

The yoga instruction is wonderful and after each session you feel totally relaxed and invigorated. During just 6 days of instruction I noticed a huge improvement in my yoga.

The food is second-to-none, especially Cornelia's famous take on brownie-a-la-mode!

I cannot fault a single thing about my stay here and would absolutely recommend this property to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

The House of Lotus is an incredible oasis of calm in the thriving west-coast of Sri Lanka. Their website doesn't do this resort justice at all. On arriving, we were blown away by the beauty and calm tranquility of the accommodation and grounds. The yoga instruction is first-rate and the food is unbelievably tasty; the owner, Cornelia, goes to the market every day to buy the freshest produce. Staff are all friendly and highly respectful.
Rooms are impeccably clean and the grounds are immaculate, including the pool and yoga classroom. The House of Lotus is only 15meters from the a beautiful beach and there are numerous scenic walks and bicycle rides to choose from.
This really is a honeymoon-quality luxury resort at a price most travellers can easily afford.

Room Tip: 2 rooms at the back overlook the pool and grounds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle Zimmer sind ähnlich gut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Frankman2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dodanduwa hotels
0 mi away
Ravana Beach
Ravana Beach
#5 of 13 in Dodanduwa
20 reviews
0 mi away
Nimal's Homestay
Nimal's Homestay
#1 of 12 in Dodanduwa
45 reviews
0 mi away
Sea Shine Guest House
Sea Shine Guest House
#2 of 12 in Dodanduwa
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Minuri Villa
Minuri Villa
#2 of 13 in Dodanduwa
6 reviews
0 mi away
Mermaids Inn
Mermaids Inn
#3 of 13 in Dodanduwa
5 reviews
0 mi away
Thambili Garden
Thambili Garden
#4 of 13 in Dodanduwa
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Lotus Yoga Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Lotus Yoga Retreat

Address: 175 Galle Road | Hikkaduwa/Dodanduwa, Dodanduwa 80250, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Dodanduwa
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Dodanduwa
Price Range: $61 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Boutique Yoga Retreat House, well designed in the Feng Shui style. The Retreat is a small and beautiful oasis with 7 double rooms in a tropical garden with swimming pool. It is your place to complete a relaxing holiday. For our Cuisine we use only regional daily fresh food from local vegetable & fruits markets. All dishes are carefully balanced and prepared with love and consciousness. For ethical reasons we are only cooking healthy vegetarian Breakfast & Dinner and do not serve alcohol. The whole house is a smoking free aera. The House of Lotus schedule: Yoga classes from Sunday to Friday, 8:00 - 10:00am with Hatha Yoga Flow, Pranayama & Shavasana for Beginners & Advanced. Guided Meditation in Silence from 7:00 - 7:30am. Saturday is a day off. The yoga shala is open for self practice. Occasionally Kirtan Singing and Sound Healing after dinner. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing