We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Carlinville Classic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taylor's Mexican Chili Parlor

Taylor's Mexican Chili Parlor
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Carlinville
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Central IL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Carlinville Classic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

If you're from Carlinville then you've grown up eating Taylor's Mexican Chili. If you're a chili fanatic or you like spicy chili then you have to try it and if you like it you can even buy a package to take home!

Love the Butterbean soup too, mixed with the chili of course. Delicious stuff!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Heftisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    7
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
177 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“authentic real mexican chili”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

chili is authentic. try there half butter bean and half vegetable. yum!! been gooing there for years, taco salads are good too.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Darla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlinville, Illinois
Level Contributor
161 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“more than a historic chili...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Yes Taylor's is famous for it's old historic chili....but my favorite thing when I visit is the taco salad. If you want to be pleasantly full, only order a "half taco salad with meat/sour cream"...it is hands down the best taco salad on the planet!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank bglenn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A specialty place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

This place is a Carlinville fixture. Taylor's serves only one thing: quality Chili. It's a tad on the hot and spicy side, but if you like hot, spicy, slightly greasy chili, then Taylor's is definitely for you. It's very high quality hot, spicy, greasy chili. If you don't like chili, then you can always order chili. Failing that, they also have chili on the menu. And if you ask for the secret menu, they'll bring you a bowl of chili.

Helpful?
1 Thank GaryH0522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Where's the beef?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Based on a mention in a AAA magazine, I had lunch at Taylor's Mexican Chili Parlor. I had a small bowl of chili without beans and a hot dog. Very, very disappointing. The "chili" was a greasy broth with maybe 1 teaspoon of meat. It did have a nice flavor but I didn't want a soup, I wanted chile with meat. The hot dog was boiled, I guess, with not much flovor and served with packets of relish and mustard. It was apparent the dogs were an afterthought.

Perhaps Taylor's was good a some point but I would certainly not when I visited.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taylor's Mexican Chili Parlor also viewed

 

Been to Taylor's Mexican Chili Parlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing