We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice Place in the Centre of many attractions”
other travelers have booked this property
Bed Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bed Room
Arial Shot of the premises Clovefield Villa front View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Bed Room
Arial Shot of the premises
Clovefield Villa front View
Living Room
Living Room 2
Dining Area with Table Decos
Bathrooms
Mountain Biking through the Woods
Mountain Biking through the Woods
BBQ
Tea Gardens
Road towards Laxapana Falls
Laxapana waterfall
Aberdeen Falls
Warleigh Church
Adams Peak
White Water Rafting
Trekking through the Woods
River Baths
Water Sliding
White Water Rafting
River
Location
Dining Area
Sri Lankan Food
Dining rooms
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Norton Bridge, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Manikgun
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice Place in the Centre of many attractions”
Reviewed November 10, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Me and my wife went to Laxapana and we stayed at Clovefield for two days and it was a wonderful experience. They got us a cosy bed and nice spacious room for us and we were extremely happy with the hospitality we experienced through out the stay. The surrounding is very calm and quiet for a relaxing stay. During the stay we had a chance to visit Laxapana and Aberdeen falls which were just about 20 minutes away from the villa as the caretaker said and we had a chanse to get into the peak of the Laxapana falls and that was a quite wonderful experience for both of us. I hope to visit Clovefield again again with my friends in future. Special thank goes to the caretaker for cooking us amazing meals and to the owner (Anjana) for guiding us about the attractions around the villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable bed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2016
Thank You very much, we wish to host you once again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiten2013
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It is really not what it claims”
Reviewed November 8, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I had chosen this villa for my family of 5 based on the reviews & the description on tripadvisor by paying a very high price of 658.30 USD for 2 nights. Unfortunately we had very bitter experience. On the first day I came to know that the Villa owner is offering this very same property on his private website at half the price for 10 persons occupancy ! On confronted the villa owner promised to give some refund & later offered to give discount in food bill which was not accepted by us & even though we had paid for 2 nights we checked out after one night stay only. This is the exact reason he is demanding 50% deposit with the booking confirmation.

As for the Villa it is really very far from all the happening places, Adam's Peak is nearly 45 to 50 minutes drive, White water rafting is also 45 to 50 minutes away ! The road leading from the main road to villa is really very steep, narrow & sloppy. Only experienced driver can take the vehicle up. There are no direct views from any of the rooms or hall, there is a terrace which also has obstructed views. It is really not suitable for the elderly as there are many steps to climb just to enter the villa from the parking place.

Only 2 bedrooms are with attached bathrooms. Other two bedrooms are so small that they can not be called bedrooms. Forget about air conditioning, There are no ceiling fan in the entire villa ! They have provided some cheap pedestal fans which does not work properly. The Bathrooms are very old needs lot of refurbishment, One of the bathroom does not have any provision for holding the shower. The water is running very slowly without any pressure & it is hardly hot ! There are no charging points anywhere, only one extension box in the hall. TV is only in the hall.

The kitchen is dirty & there is a peculiar smell which does not go away with any amount of air fresheners. In the evening we had to turn off all the lights for 2 hours because of Moth attacks & still many insects came inside the bedrooms & bathrooms. also on the dining table.

As claimed in the narration we asked the caretaker to take us to the river for the so called 'natural jacuzzi bath !' And he took us to a place on the main road where water was flowing out of plastic pipes which was no where near to the description.

Please do not get fooled with the nice words this is really not a worth place & do not spoil your holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Caretaker Cook lady Wasanthi, She is really nice & humble
Liked least: The location, overcharging
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
Thank you for the feedback here, but it has become more of a fabricated story at many points, all because of the price you have checked on the Website is not matching with the Price you paid at TripAdvisor. FYI Once a booking comes through any booking engine, we never grab the customer and trying to take him away and give a different price. Just because we are connected on WhatApp even though we could have done that, we stick to our policy that we are not going to take the guest away from the Booking Engine which they 1st contact us.

Thank you !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddyed911
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden jem in the middle of the mountains”
Reviewed October 14, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My wife and I stayed at the Clovefiled Villa for 2 nights and had a very pleasant experience. The housekeeper made sure every one of our needs was tended to. The meals prepared by the housekeeper were delicious. The residence also provided us guidance on which rafting company to go to when we had to go to Kitulgala for rafting. Some places that are close by and worth a visit are the Laxapana falls and the hydro power station. The area has very small roads which is why traffic is less and you get the feel of traveling on and off beat path which is an experience in itself.

I would definitely recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2016
Thanks for the Comment Sir !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinusha C
1 review
“Ideal Relaxation”
Reviewed July 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We spent two days at clovefield villa with my friends and relatives in may. It was fantastic and had a great time with them. The place was clean, neat and well managed by the staff and food too were delicious. We had a BBQ at one night its pretty good too. Owner arranged the rafting and trekking and we got a discount for that from his service provider. Its an ideal holiday home for a group like us as it gave us a very homely environment with the care we need from such a getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nature, greenery, quietness and caretakers
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2016
Thank You !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A-SriLank...
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed April 27, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Clovefield Villa is located in a very peaceful surrounding. The days we went there, it was only us, and we had the entire place to ourselves. Very nice. And the people who looked after us were very helpful and nice, even going to the extent of giving us a BBQ dinner on our first night. Very accommodating and homely.
Would definitely visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and surroundings
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milantha...
1 review
“Had a Gala Time”
Reviewed April 23, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We booked this beautiful property in the beginning of April and had a superb time there with my Campus Batcha mates. We reached there after doing the white water rafting and jungle trekking with Ravi (Introduced by Anjana the Manager of the Bungalow) and it was a gala fun . We reached Clovefield Villa for Lunch and the Care Taker aunt has cooked some delicious meals for us including some best of local cuisines i ve ever had. At night we had BBQ night while singing with the friends and the staff was very helpful in preparing BBQ and meals for us and they joined the party with us after the preparation of meals as per the request made by us. They are very friendly and entertaining too. Next day morning we went to aberdeen falls and then had lunch over there. The lunch was parceled and prepared by the Care taker aunt at Clovefield Villa. We only booked it for one day but felt like staying there for another day but unfortunately it was booked for the next day so we came back with some beautiful memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Service, Food, Sleep Quality
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nayanatha...
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not Again!”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Clovefield villa on 15th April with my relatives and family. I feel sorry to review this beautiful place with negative experience. It is only because of the female caretaker who was there to welcome us. She gave a very rude welcome when we went there. She was very angry with our visit. I cannot figure out yet how a person can behave that bad to customers. When we went there she has not done the rooms or cleaned the house. As I was the group leader I wanted calm her down and get the things sort out helping her out. I wanted to make sure that my group would not get upset hearing her angry, loud moaning. Me and mum had to do our own breadlines for 6 rooms while my relatives were waiting in the TV lounge. She did not even give us the bed sheets and pillows. I found the pillows and sheets in the kitchen table unfolded. Is that what we expect?
She was not even kind enough us to smile even at a single occasion. She was talking over the phone loudly to somebody cursing us. I really yet do not understand why she behaved like this in front of customers. She did not even realize that we were trying to help her to move fast and she was not even grateful to us. The management should have sense of quality of service and know how to train their staff in a difficult situation.
The house is out of nowhere. Laxapana waterfall is 12km away. Very narrow roads and difficult to find groceries. You should whatever you need before reaching there.
I informed all the way all the incident but it got in to worst when the Manager ‘Anjana’ called her. I am really disappointed with the money we spent. If I were the manager I would have gone extra mile and offer something to make the customers happy. We had an awful experience at that house. We left the house with a regret of booking that place. One person ruined entire group’s happiness from the moment of stepping the bungalow. We will never go there or recommend the place to anyone if this caretaker works there in the future! Don’t hire cheap labor! Don’t be too eager to make money if you don’t do your job properly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Environment
Liked least: Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing