We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly, Well-run Property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Carbondale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, Friendly, Well-run Property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stay here whenever we visit our son and daughter-in-law who are attending SIU. Staff are always courteous and friendly, the place is kept very clean, our bed has always been super comfortable, and the breakfast is just right.
I noticed on our last visit that the hotel has a new upgraded digital TV system which is a lot nicer than what they used to have - nice improvement!

Room Tip: There are three floors, so keep that in mind as you request a room or check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    114
    32
    24
    8
See reviews for
191
51
25
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

These guys were great! Just wanted to say thank you and acknowledge all of your staff for a great job on hospitality and being very accommodating to myself and my family. They gave great recommendations for eating establishments and were very accommodating for the swim pool area; which was exceptionally well-kept. I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Corner room was quite large and was on the far south side away from the highway; very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was a very clean hotel. The staff was very helpful and knew a lot about the area. They gave us great tips on dining and theaters in the area.We were there 4 days they served breakfast earlier than usual to accommodate our schedules,it was just really nice to be in a place where they actually wanted and appreciated our business.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

The motel is clean with decent acommodations. The staff, however, is exceptional. Every single staff person we encountered was extremely polite and helpful. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank aliceo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I was on a road trip to visit my elderly father and had my dog with me. The Super 8 in Marion IL had given my room away when I tried to check in at 2:00 a.m. in June 2013.On top of that, there was a classic car show in town and lots of the hotels were booked up. This hotel accommodated my dog and me. Unfortunately, I only had time to sleep for five hours and shower then hit the road again. I wish I had been able to stay longer. The room was very nice and very quiet. I was at the end of a hallway. The provided breakfast was fine. A bit pricey.

Room Tip: get one near the end of the hallway for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morgahnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

The staff were particularly friendly, without being overly intrusive. The rooms were clean and the overall experience was a great value. I don't usually leave reviews, despite being a regular hotel-goer. My experience at Best Western Saluki, however, warranted a note. If I ever head back to Carbondale, I will definitely be visiting them again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have stayed here many times while making numerous road trips to SIU . This hotel is always warm, clean and very friendly. The rooms are well maintained and clean, with comfy beds all at a great rate. The breakfast is always good and filling. Defiantely worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Momonthego1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbondale
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Carbondale
Hampton Inn Carbondale
#2 of 9 in Carbondale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center
1.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Carbondale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Marion
Comfort Inn Marion
#1 of 15 in Marion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
12.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion
12.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn
Address: 801 N Giant City Rd, Carbondale, IL 62902-6423 (Formerly Carbondale Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Carbondale
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Carbondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN SALUKI INN IS NEWLY RENOVATED AND UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT. The BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn is within minutes to the home of the Salukis-Southern Illinois University. We are within walking distance to shopping mall, theaters and fine dining. The BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn is seven miles from Giant City State Park and closer to venues like the local wineries, golf and other local area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Saluki Hotel Carbondale
Ramada Carbondale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing