We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Stay Here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Carbondale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't Stay Here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

They did not have my reservation and I should have taken this as a sign to go elsewhere. The room was filthy, cigarette hole in blanket, no battery in smoke detector. The toilet ran all night and continuously flushed. The chain lock on the door was broken. There were cigarette burns on the bathtub. The bed skirt was stained. The mattresses were old and worn, even had dents in them. The staff was clueless and unable to provide me receipt for my stay. I would never stay here again. I really wonder if some of the reviews posted are false.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sally617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    114
    32
    24
    8
See reviews for
191
51
25
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bourbonnais, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our extended family (9 rooms) stayed at the Best Western Saluki Inn in Carbondale, IL for 1 to 5 nights each for a memorial service and family reunion. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The swimming pool was great for all the kids. The breakfasts were wonderful with hot and cold food and drinks readily available. The best thing was the manager, Melissa, who was so helpful to make all the room reservations and changes at the last minute. She was also able to give us a great rate on the conference room and make it available for setup and displays of memorabilia. Thank you, Melissa, so much!
Ivor

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I briefly stayed at this hotel with my family a couple of weeks ago, and we found it to be comfortable, reasonably priced, and came with all the amenities we were looking for. We found the staff to be professional, the rooms were clean, and the swimming pool is definitely a plus!

I get it, reviews differ, mostly because people look for different things in a hotel. Personally, if you wanted the Ritz Carlton you should probably have booked a room there because this hotel has all the basics and the website is accurate - what you see is what you get! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panda319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We recently stayed at the Best Western in Carbondale and had a very unpleasant experience. When we pulled the covers down to go to bed one of the beds had dirty sheets. I called the front desk and was told that she was the only person on staff. It was approximately 10:30 pm. She could not leave but her replacement was due there at 11 pm and one of them would come up and change the bed. Understandable. Mistakes happen. Around 11:10 I decided to call again since we were still waiting and was told that her replacement should be there soon and again, one of them would be up shortly. About 10 minutes later a gentleman knocked on the door. He apparently did not speak English very well and put the sheets on the bed and walked out. Needless to say, I did not pay for a room so I could change my own bedding. The next morning I complained and was given our pet fee of $20 off plus an additional $10. If this had been the Hampton Inn we would not have paid anything but you live and learn and I know I will not stay at a Best Western again after this. In addition, the breakfast was horrible. The eggs were disgusting and there was an empty sausage bin. We had to ask for more sausage and it was an hour before the scheduled end of breakfast. When it came out it was cold. There was 1 banana in the bin and it was totally brown. No yogurts were left and the bread and muffins were stale. All in all it was a really bad experience and the attidue of the staff was not very customer service oriented.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on tripAdvisor on your recent stay at the Best Western Saluki Inn. Your feedback is very important to us because it helps us improve in areas that need an extra tender loving care touch.
I am sorry to hear that your stay did not exceed your expectations. I insure you that we have taken your response seriously and measures have been made to avoid this specific situation from happening again. I hope you can give us another opportunity to show you that we are a hotel that cares about our guest and that we are striving to go above and beyond in customer care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice place. It's close to shopping, and several restaurants are within walking distance. Pool area has no Jacuzzi. Its on the far east side of town on the main drag. They gave me the room location I wanted as well.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed here one night for business recently. Opinions differ, but the quality of the bed (mattress) is one of my primary concerns. I found few items to pick at but this was one of them as I found the mattress to be very, very firm and uncomfortable. The breakfast was also fairly meager with juice that seemed watered down. Not much selection, but enough to get the job done. Other than that, mostly a positive experience. Nice staff (particularly Sunday night). They had a better than average exercise room as to number and types of machines (which I did not get a chance to use). Good TV service, nice desk in the room. Parking was easy and location very convenient. Improve the breakfast and mattresses and I would likely come back. If not, I definitely won't.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freeagent35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbondale
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Carbondale
Hampton Inn Carbondale
#2 of 9 in Carbondale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center
1.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Carbondale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Marion
Comfort Inn Marion
#1 of 15 in Marion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
12.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion
12.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn
Address: 801 N Giant City Rd, Carbondale, IL 62902-6423 (Formerly Carbondale Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Carbondale
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Carbondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN SALUKI INN IS NEWLY RENOVATED AND UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT. The BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn is within minutes to the home of the Salukis-Southern Illinois University. We are within walking distance to shopping mall, theaters and fine dining. The BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn is seven miles from Giant City State Park and closer to venues like the local wineries, golf and other local area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Saluki Hotel Carbondale
Ramada Carbondale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing