We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vomit Toilet, horrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Saluki Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Carbondale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 14, 2012

The toilet had vomit chunks on it, and urine around the base. There was hair all over the bathtub. I asked for my bathroom to be cleaned or moved to another room within the first 5 minutes of being there. After the housecleaning dept came to clean the vomit was still there and there was still urine around the bottom of my toilet. The hair had been removed from the tub. I had to go across the street to Walmart and buy bleach cleaning spray and sponge to clean my bathroom as I was afraid that I might catch something. I did not let housekeeping in my room after the experience of the re-cleaning request was no cleaning was done. The workout room was horrible; most of the equipment was broken. The light would turn off every 5-10 minutes; the dust on the equipment was at least 3 months old. The hot tub and pool room were a nightmare, the hot tub had a film across the top of it and there were dirt chunks on the bottom. I have never been so disgusted in any hotel I have ever stayed in before. My company was going to move me but I said it’s OK it’s only a few more days and I had already cleaned the entire room myself. The staff knew nothing and when you asked them for help they would tell you something then go back to playing on their cell phones. I brought my laundry down and the front desk girl says oh they have laundry on every floor. I was shocked I said Oh OK I will go back to my floor, ONLY to walk all the way down to the end to where a sign said laundry only on the first floor. I did mention this to the front desk girl and she said "oh sorry, must have been thinking of the last place I worked". The breakfast food was the same the entire week I was there, and they mentioned hot items, there were no hot items other than a pancake maker that we had to make our self. Best Western should be embarrassed to include this hotel in their chain. We removed the hotel from safe places to stay from our corporation list.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Misty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

429 - 434 of 434 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2012

First off, I'm not sure why there are so many bad reviews on this hotel. I was on a business trip(I'm a Police Officer) down to Carbondale move in week of siu-c. My first night I was forced to stay at a Podunk Americas Best Value In as there were no rooms available anywhere else because of move in week(lucky me). I left the other place after the first night and found a room here for 78/night. It had a nice tv, refrigerator, bathroom, and all the nice furniture in the room. They had a nice pool and free breakfast with waffles, bagels, and cereal. It was being remodeled at the time I was there, which wasn't a big deal. I almost didn't go in because I wasn't sure if they were open due to the work on the sign outside. The hotel is in a safe area(from what I could tell) and there were places to eat and a mall near by. I honestly could not find a reason why I disliked the place. I was just so happy to be out of that crap hole I was in before. I would stay there again if I'm ever in town again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevorclr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

I went to Carbondale on Decemer 20-22 for a little getaway. I went down to do some trail hiking and running. I Pricelined this hotel for $45 a night which was all I am glad I paid to stay there. It is an older hotel (1970 era) that had been remolded and in a cheap manner. When I checked in and went to my room I noticed a smell of dirty feet in the room. Lucky enough there was a dollar store next door and I spent two bucks for room deorderizers :) . The hot tub did not work and there was plaster and trim missing around the hotel. The hotel seemed to be pretty vacant. They had a free breakfast in the morning but it really did not look all that appetizing so I passed on it. I will say the bed was comfortable and everything did work in the room. I would keep looking and spend afew more bucks to stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Not a good experience. We called ahead to confirm our reservations and three times they couldn't find our reservation. Upon arrival the desk attendant once again couldn’t locate our reservation, even when we handed the confirmation printed out. We had requested and really needed a roll-away bed. The desk attendant claimed that they were locked up and he didn't have a key. A really bad situation considering that we were bring a guest down with us.

The room also had a very noticeable unpleasant odor.

Would not return to this hotel and would rethink staying at a Best Western again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa M, General Manager at Best Western Saluki Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

I am so sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience at our hotel. We recently went through new management. I as the new general manager will definitely say that we are not the same hotel as we were a year ago. I assure you on behalf of our entire staff and I, will provide you a wonderful and memorable experience. When you decide to pay a visit to Carbondale, please reconsider Best Western saluki Inn as place where you can have a pleasant comfortable restful stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Rooms are clean..decent for the price, tub was a bit grimy in my room, son's tub was clean, staff is "just", they boast an indoor heated pool, but it was dirty and cold. Conveniently located, breakfast is free from 6-9..Could stay here again if I had to.

Room Tip: we have double non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomsBizness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa M, General Manager at Best Western Saluki Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

I apologize on behalf of Best Western Saluki Inn for not being able to exceed your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we will use it in order to implement improvements. I hope you will consider us again in the future so we can provide you with a superior experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Johannes A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley P, General Manager at Best Western Saluki Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbondale
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Carbondale
Hampton Inn Carbondale
#2 of 9 in Carbondale
416 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 9 in Carbondale
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Carbondale
12.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion
12.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Saluki Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Saluki Inn

Address: 801 N Giant City Rd, Carbondale, IL 62902 (Formerly Carbondale Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Carbondale
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Carbondale
Price Range: $93 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Saluki Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN SALUKI INN IS NEWLY RENOVATED AND UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT. The BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn is within minutes to the home of the Salukis-Southern Illinois University. We are within walking distance to shopping mall, theaters and fine dining. The BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn is seven miles from Giant City State Park and closer to venues like the local wineries, golf and other local area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Saluki Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Saluki Hotel Carbondale
Ramada Carbondale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing