We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Carbondale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Super 8 Carbondale
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Carbondale
Edwardsville, IL
Level Contributor
160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Clean enough, comfortable beds, decent showers, and okay breakfast - this is all we needed, and it's what we got for a great price.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank clk215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    177
    105
    45
    16
See reviews for
203
53
60
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

This is the fifth time we have stayed at this property over the last 5 years and generally find it adequate - that's why we keep coming back. The value is good and the rooms are clean. A refrigerator and coffee service is a nice touch. WiFi worked well. Most of the staff was very friendly and accomodating - until we encountered an evening shift desk person. She was quite rude and not at all helpful in assisting a couple of us with several basic requests - like printing boarding passes for flights the next day (the computer couldn't do it!), giving a member of our party his room key back after he had left it at the desk that morning for safekeeping and helping advise how to access WiFi since it didn't appear to load and there were no directions as to which link to click on. Our group generally reserve 4 - 6 rooms and the consensus was to return next year. We'll keep trying and hope for a better attitude from the night person!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABQJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We thought the number of amenities were more than we expected for the price of the room. Nice Continental breakfast and longer hours, 5 to 10 a.m. Clean and well maintained.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank minissan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

I am rating this Super 8 four stars. It's nothing really special, as hotels go, in general. But at this price point ($59/night before tax) I was very pleasantly surprised. The property was very clean, and well maintained. The staff was polite and business-like, and did their jobs very well.

Yes, the rooms are on the small side, the "lobby" so small as to be almost nonexistent, the breakfast was pretty basic and there was no room to eat it anyway. Those are things you expect at this type of hotel. The unexpected was the nice staff, cleanliness and safety of the property, especially at this low price.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canada611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Without a reservation we showed up hoping for a clean, comfortable room for the evening. That is exactly what we found at the Super 8. The value was great, the breakfast was not bad - fresh waffles, fruit, cereals, bagels, and muffins. We were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

My wife and I went for the weekend to do some hiking in the surrounding areas. The front desk woman was quite nice and the room was fine. We chose it because we could bring our dog and the price was very reasonable.
Highly recommended for those simply needing a room in Carbondale with or without your pets.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigperm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Hotel wasnt spectacular, but it was clean and comfortable. Bathroom could have used a little work as the tile floor was loose. We enjoyed our stay and the price was fantastic for a Saturday night. I would definately recomend this hotel for the value consious traveler.

Room Tip: For the money we opted on the king suite. For a few extra dollars it was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkkjjjsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbondale
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn
BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn
#1 of 9 in Carbondale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Carbondale
Hampton Inn Carbondale
#2 of 9 in Carbondale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
2.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Carbondale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center
12.7 mi away
Super 8 Marion
Super 8 Marion
#6 of 15 in Marion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
12.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Marion
Comfort Inn Marion
#1 of 15 in Marion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Carbondale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Carbondale

Property: Super 8 Carbondale
Address: 1180 East Main, Carbondale, IL 62901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Carbondale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Carbondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Carbondale 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Super 8 Carbondale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Carbondale Hotel Carbondale
Super Eight Carbondale
Carbondale Super Eight
Carbondale Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing