We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice in Carbondale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Carbondale
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best choice in Carbondale”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I recently took a group of 28 people here on a tour I scheduled. The hotel was very easy to work with, got us checked in quick upon arrival and was a great, clean facility. I did not hear a single complaint from anyone in the group.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmcdta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    41
    21
    5
    8
See reviews for
58
18
9
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Big Rock, IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is far and away the best hotel in town. We have tried to save money by staying elsewhere and always end up back here. The people are very nice. The rooms are large, clean, and comfortable. They continue to have issues with the attached restaurant, particularly for breakfast. The restaurants they've had in the space just can't seem to get it together for breakfast. Lighting in the bathroom could be better. Other than that, you'll love it there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ndubld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitchell2013, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel! We pride ourselves on the friendliness and efficiency of our staff, from our housekeepers to our front desk associates. I apologize that the restaurant's breakfast has not lived up to your expectations - we are constantly looking for ways to improve our guest's experience through the feedback received. We do hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I used my IHG rewards points but was charged two different rates and after using my card at only this location; my bank froze my card because of some fraudulent activity. I chose this location because they listed an on site restaurant, the restaurant was down for repairs. When I spoke to "Jane" she implied that I was either a male or had fraudulently checked in under someone else's name. Overall rude, untrained staff and not worth the $161.04 a night or the 20,000 points! Avoid this location at all cost!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theressa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carbondalemgr2011, General Manager at Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you experienced a less than perfect stay at our hotel. An error occured upon your arrival in which billing was not setup properly for your awards stay. This was an honest mistake and not an attempt to "rip-off" a guest. Your credit card was not charged and, in fact, points for the stay were returned to your Priority Club account in full, resulting in a comped room. Again, this was an error on our part, but in no way was this an attempt to defraud you. We hope you will consider us again should your travels bring you to the Carbondale area.
Sincerely,
Jane Kearney, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stopped late without a reservation, the front desk was welcoming, was very helpful and very accommodating. My room was clean and very comfortable. When checking out the bill was not under the door but again, the front desk could not have been more helpful in my check out. A very good experience for a weary traveller. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitchell2013, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear guest:

I'm thrilled to see your enjoyed your stay at our property! Thank you for your compliments on our front desk and housekeeping staff. I will be sure to pass your comments along to both departments. I'm glad to hear my staff took care of all your needs and gave you a great experience after a long drive. We look forward to seeing you return!

Sincerely,
Matthew Graham
AGM, HI of Carbondale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The front desk staff was very friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. We stayed in a whirlpool room, which was a bit of a disappointment. The whirlpool isn't in the bathroom; it is in the room about ten feet from the bed and five feet from the TV. One person couldn't watch TV while the other was in the tub. It was too noisy. This HI doesn't have a free breakfast. You get a $4 coupon for breakfast at the restaurant that is in the same building. We stayed on a Saturday night and the restaurant closes for Sunday breakfast at 10:00 AM. So no breakfast if you sleep in.

Overall,not bad. But it could have been better.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for the whirlpool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitchell2013, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear guest:

Thank you for your feedback concerning our property. I love hearing that you enjoyed our friendly staff & clean accommodations! I do apologize that the whirlpool tub in your room did not live up to your expectations, and I will forward your comments to the head of our maintenance department for review. We strive to offer the best breakfast options available to our guests and complimentary breakfast choices are available Monday-Friday at our hotel's attached restaurant.

We would love to see you again if you are in the area!

Sincerely,
Matthew Graham
AGM, HI of Carbondale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Overall I was impressed with this Holiday Inn in Carbondale, IL. The hotel was built in 2006 making it one of the newer hotels in the area. The lobby is spacious with high ceilings and marble floors. Check-in was quick and easy. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The beds were quite comfortable with soft bedding and nice pillows. The bathroom was clean and updated. This hotel was very well maintained and exceptionally clean. Based on some of the other hotels I saw in Carbondale this seemed to be the best in the area.

The room included free wifi and cable television. The cable t.v. was actually kind of difficult to navigate due to several channels that didn't work. Management should probably work on setting up the t.v properly to eliminate channels that don't get a proper signal, but overall this was a minor issue. The staff was generally friendly and I didn't have any real complaints. The hotel includes an indoor pool and very small workout area. I felt the room was reasonably priced given the accommodations. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoehr-Grenzhausen, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed with 5 other guys on a BBQ tour through some states for 3 days.
The Hotel seems to be very new and so we had nothing to complain.
The staff was very friendly, the rooms were well cleaned and the beds were comfortable.
Will stay this year again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avr4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbondale
1.4 mi away
Best Western Saluki Inn
Best Western Saluki Inn
#1 of 9 in Carbondale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Carbondale
Hampton Inn Carbondale
#2 of 9 in Carbondale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Carbondale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
10.7 mi away
Drury Inn Marion
Drury Inn Marion
#2 of 15 in Marion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
10.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Marion
Comfort Inn Marion
#1 of 15 in Marion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center

Property: Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center
Address: 2300 N Reed Station Rd, Carbondale, IL 62901-7117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Carbondale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Carbondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award Winning Holiday Inn Hotel & Conference Center Carbondale, IL. We have received Holiday Inn's Service Excellence and Torchbearer Awards. Guests appreciate how our corporate atmosphere makes comfort and convenience a top priority. We are just 5 miles from Southern Illinois University and are located 12 miles from I-57. We offer the finest in upscale hotel services in all of Southern Illinois. Relax, It s Holiday Inn. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center. Swim year round in our indoor pool or unwind in our hot tub. Catch up on work in our business center. Houlihan's serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, where Kids Eat Free. Houlihan's is perfect for dining or for watching your favorite sporting event.Our event space and outstanding service makes Holiday Inn Carbondale the Southern Illinois elite meeting venue. Our meeting planner coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for all your conference and banquet needs. Businesses near hotel: SIU, Carbondale Memorial Hospital, Comprehensive Center, Carbondale Clinic. Near hotel: Shryock Auditorium, Race to Race, DuQuoin Fairgrounds, Giant City Park, The Holiday Inn Hotel & Conference Center Carbondale, IL. Everything you expect, and a whole lot more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Carbondale Hotel Carbondale
Carbondale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing