We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean and gorgeous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodland Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carbondale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodland Cabins
Save
You added Woodland Cabins to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Decatur
1 review
“Clean and gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had an amazing weekend. Very clean and cozy! Will return as soon as we can! They thought of everything! Pond was beautiful and canoe was fun! Our bed was super comfortable too! Very romantic getaway!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelandDustin02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
88
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Booked white tail cabin for my parent's 40th wedding anniversary. Jim and Leslie (the owners) were wonderful in helping make my parent's stay easy, comfortable and memorable. They had arranged two beautiful baskets of flowers and wine for them as I requested and sent me pictures of them the night before my parent's were to arrive. My parents said the cabin and surrounding scenery was beautiful. They enjoyed the hot tub, fire pit, and having breakfast overlooking the water. They had a full weekend of hiking, visited 3 wineries and enjoyed dinner at a few of the places Jim had recommended. Definitely plan on enjoying all woodland cabins has to offer with my husband sometime!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

A friend recommended Woodland Cabins to me. My husband and another couple were lucky enough to rent two cabins for a three day Fourth of July get away.We have rented many homes and apartments over the years and I wonder sometimes if the owner every really stays there. I think the answer at Woodland is yes, or if not,they know what they want and need to be comfortable. I appreciated the top quality amenities, great knifes, pans, dishes, A kitchen you can actually cook in. Comfortable beds and furniture. Everything inside is well thought out for your comfort. Very clean and well decorated. It makes it so much easier to enjoy the beauty outside your window. Which is just perfect. So peaceful and relaxing. Hiked the trails, went to the wineries(Blue Sky if wonderful) Had great meals at the cabins and then a wonderful gourmet dinner at Tom's in DeSoto. We hope to return soon. And Jim couldn't have been nicer. These are more than just cabins in the woods, they are a home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynda-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ile-de-France, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We celebrated our anniversary and had a wonderful stay in the Woodlands Cabins. They were very clean, comfortable and felt like home. I can't wait for our next visit. The area is full of things to do: hiking, biking, and many wineries.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieterich, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband and I spent a few nights at the end of May for our 15th anniversary. We had never been there and let me tell you it was nothing less than spectacular! The Cabin, scenery, etc. will not leave you disappointed! We couldn't have been happier. During our stay we visited Giant City Park, Southern Illinois Wine Trail and was able to go into Carbondale for some shopping! A must if you are looking for a southern Illinois getaway!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JHM670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minooka, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Our second time visiting the Woodland cabins and we chose a different cabin then the 1st visit and it was just a wonderful
Of a stay! Love that everything is there for your use that you really only have to bring clothing and food and drinks not much at all when traveling for a weekend from as far as we travel to get there! Just far enough away from everything but close enough for convenience! And locations to hike and wineries to visit are just a beautiful scenic drive away!! Look forward to visiting again soon!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Forever-n-Always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

An absolutely wonderful place to stay. The cabin was superb with a very comfortable bed, complete with linens, towels, full kitchen, A/C and all. Close to Carbondale - only about 15 minutes from campus. Also right in the middle of the Shawnee Wine Trail. Did some hiking at Giant City, kayaking at Little Grassy Lake and stopped at a few wineries. The cabin with its hot tub was private, secluded and very quiet. I whole heartedly recommend these cabins to everyone (but would love to keep it a secret for ourselves)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badrian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbondale
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn
BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn
#1 of 11 in Carbondale
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Carbondale
Hampton Inn Carbondale
#2 of 11 in Carbondale
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion
16.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Marion
Comfort Inn Marion
#2 of 15 in Marion
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
7.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Carbondale
Days Inn & Suites Carbondale
#6 of 11 in Carbondale
3.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Cabins

Property: Woodland Cabins
Address: 299-301 Green Ridge Rd, PO Box 1179, Murphysboro, IL 62966 (For Mail), Carbondale, IL 62903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Carbondale
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Carbondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 miles SW of Carbondale and on the Shawnee Hills Wine Trail, Woodland Cabins sits at the edge of Southern Illinois rolling hills and the Shawnee National Forest. Woodland Cabins offers four luxury accommodations, sitting on 44 acres of privacy, where mature woods are interspersed with open fields. A three acre pond offers fishing & boating. Our woods and fields are great for exploring & taking walks. Watching the many different species of birds and wildlife are a favorite pastime of our guests. Deer, wild turkey and red foxes are frequent visitors as well as pileated woodpeckers, songbirds, and migrating water fowl. If you're lucky, you might even catch a glimpse of "Fraidy", the bobcat! Sleeping only two people, cabins only in name, our luxury accommodations are truly "romantic retreats", providing the perfect place to get away with that special someone. Whether meeting the morning sun or putting daylight to rest, the tranquility from your private deck with your own private hot tub inspires relaxation and romance. Let Woodland Cabins be your place to relax, unwind and make memories that last a lifetime. All our cabins have an outdoor hot-tub, gas log fireplace, flat screen HD TVs, Blue-Ray/DVD Player and outdoor fire pit with fire wood. Towels & Linens and hair dryers are also provided. The cabins include full kitchens with all the appliances, utensils and pots & pans you need to make your stay a home away from home, as well as a gas barbeque grill. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing