We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST management”
Review of Pinch Penny Pub

Pinch Penny Pub
Ranked #24 of 119 Restaurants in Carbondale
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Marion, Illinois
1 review
“WORST management”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Very organized establishment, but the owner of bar treats employees and customers awful. Hard for me support a place when I witness the staff being treated like dirt.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taylor s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Kid's only”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is the Walmart of bars in a college town. It's a big meat factory where SIU's "cool" kids go everytime you got out. Try a real bar in Carbondale if you want to experience the real deal. Pk's, cellar, tres, or Hangar and let the kids have this place.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CMC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice friendly pub”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This pub is tucked away off the road, close to the university. Has a large outdoor area with picnic tables, wifi access. Friendly server on a quiet Monday around dinnertime with free popcorn. Lots of beer choices.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank goodeye2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice bar”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

After a long hot day of hiking my husband and I went to cool off at the local college bar. The menu was extensive and we split a buffalo chicken sandwich, which was really good. Overall, it looked to serve better than average bar food. Prices were reasonable

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank thetrouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday Pizza Deals”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Their Sunday pizza is a great deal and very tasty. Great option for watching football and having a few beers. Outdoor space is really nice; bands are sometimes too loud for my taste.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Gena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinch Penny Pub also viewed

 
Carbondale, IL
 

Been to Pinch Penny Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing