We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just as good as I remembered” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paglias Pizza

Paglias Pizza
Ranked #11 of 117 Restaurants in Carbondale
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Garden City, Idaho
Level Contributor
127 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“just as good as I remembered”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Haven't been to this restaurant in several years but it is just as good as I remembered it. The pizza was hot and tasted good. They must be using the same quality ingredients and recipes Keep it up its worth it

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    26
    9
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
218 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good but not as good as usual.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Getting a late night slice back when attending SIU in the 90's was great. Although I was always partial to LaRoma's, which is no longer in business. Anyway, when in town visiting family we will often order a pizza for one of our meals. Usually Paglias or Italian Village but since IV's does not deliver we opted for Pag's this time. Gotta say, not as good as previous times. Maybe just a bad day or something. Certainly willing to give them the benefit of the doubt as they have been a Carbondale icon for decades.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BDAD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hostile Owner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I was waited on by a girl who is either incredibly dense or poorly trained. When I mentioned this to the owner, he told me his staff always does a great job and perhaps I should not bother coming back. I took his advice. Just another example of the parachocial attitude that happens in Carbondale.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank hrw97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
129 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Known as Pag's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband works at SIU and loves Pag's salads for lunch. They have a very reasonable lunch special that is served quickly. I love it for their pizzas for dinner. Can't go wrong if you eat here. It used to be in a smaller building down the street but have expanded recently. Same great food. They will give your kids pizza dough to play with if you ask while you are waiting for your meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dottyb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Decent pizza but extremely poor customer service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

The pizza is decent. Definitely one the top five in Carbondale who fortunately has been blessed with excelent pizza eateries.The problem with "Pag's" is their poor customer service. They claim it's a family restaurant however good luck finding one of their few highchairs, especially on a busy evening. The last time I was there, I actually got up and refilled three drinks myself along with stack of napkins since our waitress was no where to be found. I've also placed orders for pickup and or delivery and almost every time, they forget something. After notifying management, who acted bothered and almost irritated that I brought it to their attention, they throw it back on me to decide how to be reimbursed. Not exactly the customer serice or attitude you should have towards customers especially since the mistake is on their end. Oh, and don't call it "Pag's" because heavin forbid you call it by its incorrect pronunciation that all their radio commercials like to point out. Sorry, but even with some tasty pizza, you can keep that overpriced poor customer service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ineedabreak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paglias Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Paglias Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing