We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Darn good pizza”
Review of Paglias Pizza

Paglias Pizza
Ranked #11 of 119 Restaurants in Carbondale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Darn good pizza”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I went with a group of co-workers on a weeknight. We got several pizzas - thin crust. I tried the chicken and ranch, which was delish, and the everything, which was not - it had four kinds of meat and two kinds of olives, and was just too much. The root beer was served with ice, which is a no no - the ice ruins the foam! I tried the spaghetti, but didn't like the sauce. I didn't care for the tiramisu, but two of my companions liked it. The chocolate on chocolate cake was very rich and should be shared.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kocickasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    27
    9
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olney, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“MMMMMMM....Got hooked on their pizza back in high school!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I got started going to their pizza place back when I was in high school, back in the late 70's, when I buddy of mine said their pizza was good. We had a thin & crispy pizza with hamburger, pepperoni, mushroom and extra cheese. It is fabulous and the best pizza in Carbondale in my opinion, know the owner Larry, and have been going regularly ever since. I now live over 2 hours away so when I get a chance to go down and visit my family, we go to Pagliai's for the same pizza I got started on back in 1977.

Over the years, yes their price has went up, who's hasn't? But its still worth it to me.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BandSRoadHogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tuesday nights are not what they use to be...”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

For years Pagliai's has been known for their tuesday night Spag nights. But me and my family went there Tuesday night and the food was good but service and prices are not what they were. I understand that you have to increase your prices but 3 people 3 spag 3 salads and 3 drinks was over $30 dollars. Our server took our order and brought us the salads and drinks then was not seen for 40 mins again..People seated after us and with parties of 6 or more already had their food and I looked at the kitchen window and saw plates they sat in the window for atleast 15min after I noticed them...Yep they were our order when they got to the table they were not rcold but they were not hot either. They brought the table next to us there food and didnt bring them plates for their pizza, brought 4 salads they did not order and did not bring forks. Women tried to stop 2 different waitress and non would help her she had to go up to cashier to get forks. Cashier totaled up our bill and when it came up more then we ordered she got mad because I questioned her and after she ran debit card for wrong amount I asked for receipt she printed it and looked at it and show she over charged us by almost $4 had to give me cash back then got mad again because I asked for receipt....Food is really good but who wants to go some place you feel like you are bothering them to be there and takes almost a hour to get food and never a refill on $2 tea.....

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Corrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Love the thick and chewy crust and the garlic cheesesticks are amazing!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herrin, IL
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Its really good, but they're sure proud of it.”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I love their food but they're way over priced and the new building is nice but parking sucks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruthsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paglias Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Paglias Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing