We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Carbondale
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Carbondale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days. First room, the fan made a loud clicking noise and we tried two nights and couldn't stand it anymore. Got transferred to another room in only a couple minutes.....went to the new room and a man was in it....getting sick. I told the manager what happened and got another new room. This room was clean and person-free. I've never had this experience with Hampton and I think it was a freak incident. Anthony, the manager, fixed the situation within a few minutes. Breakfast is awesome!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhartsho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Carbondale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 411 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

Very dated - Very very dated looks like the owners have not kept up with anything . Also no refrigerator no microwave very small room- had scratches on walls - dirt and old debris under bed frame ( found as I went to plug in my cell phone )

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hasexpectations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was a good experience and I recommend this Hampton. The front desk personnel were friendly and helpful. Our request for a late checkout was honored. The room was clean. We appreciate that the bed coverings are washed for each guest.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffGundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We checked in with a very friendly and helpful staff. Our Whirlpool Suite on the second floor was very clean and roomy. We controlled the temperature with wall thermostat. We ran the fan to cover other guest noises. We at waffles and oatmeal at the delicious breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Whirlpool Suite has a lot of room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We dropped our son off at SIU and since it's a college town, some of the hotels/motels are not kept up. BUT, that was not the case with the Hampton Inn. We stayed at the Hampton Inn-Carbondale, IL and LOVED it!

The hotel is very nice; the front desk staff were friendly and accommodating. The room was beautiful! The beds, pillows and bedding were probably the most comfortable of any hotel or resort I've ever stayed at. There was a bottle of water and a bag of potato chips in the room upon my arrival. Kind of a nice snack to have at the end of the day.

The room was very clean and decorated nicely. The shower had great water pressure. There is also free internet service available so you can check email and Facebook!

The hotel provides a nice "free' breakfast each morning until 10:00 am and had a variety of delicious food including fresh fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee, hot chocolate, tea, cereal, milk, bagels, muffins, breakfast wraps, waffles and oatmeal with toppings. All for free! Throughout the day, there are apples and oranges available for free too.

The hotel does not have a restaurant, but there are a few within walking distance including Houlihan's. There are several restaurants within a couple minutes drive including Lone Star, Chili's, Steak-n-Shake, McDonald's, Applebee's - so lots of places to get a meal.

There is a movie theater down the same strip as the restaurants as well as shopping.

The lobby is very inviting. There is a television and a comfortable seating area by the fireplace. All the furniture is beautiful! As is the art and wall decor.

There is a nice sized indoor pool. And a patio outside the pool so you can enjoy the fresh air and get some sun at the same time. There was also a small workout room, but there was only an exercise bike. A sign was hung that we could use Gold's Gym, but I didn't.

The hotel is very, very nice and I highly recommend this as the place to stay when you're in Carbondale. I will return on my next visit.

Room Tip: It's always nice to stay on the second floor. I stayed in room 222.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlaSenora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

we had a great stay ...everything was very clean and the staff were very kind and helpful. we will be back for college move in.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The first time I reviewed this hotel, I warned readers to steer clear of the breakfast buffet, as the sausage gave me hideous food poisoning. This stay was much better, as I steered clear of the infamous meal.

Rooms were reasonably comfortable -- certainly quiet -- and, had we remembered to take our "do not disturb" sign from the door, would have been well-taken-care-of. (We came back on our second night to see the room was in the same shape we left it; the desk clerk apologized and gave us clean towels.) Wifi is good and strong and staff is friendly. Not the world's best hotel, but they certainly give you what you ask for in a hotel.

Minor complaint: Water pressure is weak (filling the sink took a manner of minutes) but adequate.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dsikula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbondale
2.5 mi away
Best Western Saluki Inn
Best Western Saluki Inn
#1 of 9 in Carbondale
426 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 9 in Carbondale
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Carbondale
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
10.7 mi away
Drury Inn Marion
Drury Inn Marion
#2 of 15 in Marion
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Carbondale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Carbondale

Address: 2175 N Reed Station Rd, Carbondale, IL 62901-7137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Carbondale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Carbondale
Price Range: $139 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Carbondale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover hotels in Carbondale, IL, and book the Hampton Inn Carbondale for your next business or leisure trip to southern Illinois. Perfectly located on the east side of Carbondale, close to many restaurants, golf courses and public parks. All hotel guests can take advantage of our free, hot breakfast buffet daily. Whether you're with us on business or for leisure, you'll enjoy our complimentary WiFi access throughout the hotel. Relax and unwind at our swimming pool, and stay fit in our fitness center. Bring all the comforts of home, we look forward to having you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Carbondale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Carbondale Hotel Carbondale
Carbondale Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing