We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW What a Break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canaston Wood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bluestone National Park Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“WOW What a Break”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed in a Grassholme lodge overlooking the Preseli mountains What a view! . Lodge was top rate accommodation it was very clean and warm .The swimming pool was excellent and so was the childrens play area.Very family friendly place and staff also friendly and helpful.A buggy is essential if you are elderly. Food not so good ! suggest you take your own.Everything you could want for a quiet peaceful holiday with chlidren or by yourselves.Very enjoyable would return.

Room Tip: try to book lodge with good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TREVOR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,156
    843
    274
    96
    55
See reviews for
1,738
224
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Can't fault anything. Best Lodge - Skomer, Knights Rise 33 - unable to fault it for cleanliness, space, fittings everything. Customer service was excellent, everyone wanted to ensure we had the best time. Pub was gorgeous, a proper pub.The Blue Lagoon is every kids and big kids dream. Golf buggy is essential and great fun therefore well worth the expense. Just wish it wasn't a 3 hour drive for us.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASP14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at Bluestone in March, we had a deal which was £163 for 4 nights including breakfast and two activities.

We stayed in a "cottage" in the Village area of Bluestone. It was one bedroom property, very well furnished , Kingsize bed in a large bedroom , large ensuite bathroom / wet room. The accomodation is spacious and comfortable ( once it was warmed up! )

We were very close to the Pub and Restaurants, which was very handy. Other accomodations can be a bit of a trek, but nothing more than a 10 min walk, or a few mins if you hire a glof buggy.

In my opinion, Bluestone is better suited to familes, and has a leisure pool and adventure play area, which seemed to be very popular. A gym would be a good addition to the facilities.

The weather when we stayed was wet and cold, and this quite possibly meant we did not get the most from Bluestone.

I do think that the evening entertainment for adults could be much improved, and that may encourage more people to visit the Tavern Pub in the evening.

We visited Narbeth, which is certainly worth a visit to stroll around. We also visited Lydstep / Tenby.

Room Tip: The accomodation is spread out probably if you are staying with children and intend to use the Pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwanseaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed for a weekend myself, husband and our two boys. Our lodge was great, it was clean and tidy everything had it's place. The high ceilings had lots of cob webs from the beams but it's like you look a the ceilings and to be honest I don't no how any one could get that high.
We ate out once in the tavern, good pub grub husband really like the ham and eggs.
The staff are great how ever in the adventure centre we encountered the rudest person I have ever met. We simply asked fit a refund on the swing activity as after seeing another child do it while in the queue my son decided it was not for him. The instructor was fine with it and said we could get a refund if only it was that simple. The lady on desk need permission from the manager and she came to the desk and said we could do one of the other activities and tried to encourage my son by calling him a wimp and saying "Url be fine". I don't know weather she thought she was being funny or just nasty. She refused to refund us and gave us a 4 ticket. So now we had a different for more stuff my son didn't want to do. My son at this point was so worked up he cryer, The instructor on the skytrail was fabulous cheered him up and did the whole thing with him. Then after hearing the story he totally disagreed with actions of his manager and apologised on her behalf, he Came to the front desk with us to get us our refund that saved the day for us. We were then lucky enough to meet the instructor agin the next day for a very wet crossbow session which amusingly I won.
On the whole great place just watch out for for the very welshy manager in the adventure centre. Stick to the normal staff they much mote helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomsonfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The lodge we stayed in was very clean and well equipped. The adventure centre was also great, very clean and not overcrowded. However the aqua centre needs some TLC it looks quite grubby and tired. My husband also treated me to a spa treatment which included a 1 hour treatment and 2 hours in the spa. When I arrived at the spa the reception girl couldn't be bothered to show me around the spa properly and the treatment was only 45 mins. The treatment, although short, was very good but the spa area is below average. We ordered takeaway pizza one evening and I wouldn't bother again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had a Ramsey lodge this time and couldn't believe it was as a big as the 3 bedroomed Grassholm - just with 2 bedrooms. The lodge was old but very clean and well kept except for a few niggles such as wobbly toilet roll holders.

For us the big good change was that they've changed the stairgates and the new ones are fine and work well (although I couldn't see that they pinned back if you didn't need them which could be a pain I guess).

This time we'd decided not to bother with buying food there (previous meals there was truely dire) and just stocked up en route. However, we got an inclusive breakfast deal. The food was good (branded cereals, cooked breakfast, juice, croissants) but the service was chaotic/non existent! They had obviously booked more people for breakfast than they could cope with. On one day my husband waited 15 minutes for a bowl for his cereal as they were being washed!!! .

Yes, we'll probably go again trying to avoid the food and also planning a trip off site each day but with so much so close that's really easy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank personwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weymouth,uk
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a Ramsey Lodge for a midweek break and the accomodation cannot be faulted. Everything in the lodge was of a very high standard and it was very well equipped. The Blue Lagoon was also superb, with very good changing facilities and lovely warm water. However we felt let down by the standard of the food in the Knights Tavern. Having paid nearly£22 for two portions of Fish & Chips, which took over fifteen minutes to arrive, we were quite disappointed by the standard and quantity of the food. The chips were dry and lukewarm at best, and the size of the fish was nearer the size we would have expected for a child's portion. Although there is a shop on site I would recommend a 15-20 minute drive into nearby Haverfordwest to either Tesco or Morrisons.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canaston Wood
2.1 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
481 reviews
8.6 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
700 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel
7.1 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
1,112 reviews
8.6 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluestone National Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone National Park Resort

Property: Bluestone National Park Resort
Address: The Grange, Canaston Wood, Narberth SA67 8DE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Narberth > Canaston Wood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Canaston Wood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluestone National Park Resort offers fantastic free range holidays for families, couples and friends! The all-weather luxury short break destination in Pembrokeshire is like no other. Whether you want to relax and unwind or play and have fun during your break there is something for everyone! We offer breaks for generational families wanting to spend quality time together, romantic short breaks, and catch up getaways with friends. Guests can choose from a range of luxury lodges set around a private Welsh village where you will find the cottages and studio apartments, restaurants, shops, a pub and its very own holistic spa and thermal rooms. Choose from heart pumping activities in the Steep Ravine with its high ropes and zip wire around the old Camp Smokey; splashing fun in the Blue Lagoon water park and outdoor fun indoors at the Adventure Centre with its climbing walls, ball pits and Wild Wood Cafe. For those wanting to chill and unwind there’s The Well Spa with its holistic treatments and invigorating thermal rooms. Combine this with opportunities to visit the nearby coastal towns and countryside communities and you have a perfect short break destination, whatever the weather. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bluestone Hotel Narberth
Bluestone Resort Narberth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing