We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the exploration.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This is a fascinating old house, with a fascinating history and a labour-of-love restoration by Steve (the architect) and Jane. The rooms are beautiful, elegant and restored to better-than-new condition with the attention to detail in the materials, finishes and decoration that speaks for the love of the owners. Modern bathrooms and facilities have been incorporated so sympathetically that you wouldn't know that they weren't there before, so that the elegance of previous centuries is coupled with 21st-century mod cons. But the hospitality of Steve and Jane really sets the Old Rectory apart; there are the practical essentials, like the fabulous breakfasts, but even more important is they seem very happy to chat all day if you like, on any topic you might name! Even Edward and Rupert (the dogs) are interesting, elegant, and friendly, but perfect gentlemen. There is a wealth of things to do in the area - beaches, gardens, castles, railways, boats, walks - the list goes on, and this is a great, peaceful, out of the way, but accessible (when you've worked it out) place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandSOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 66 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

Had a fabulous stay at the Old Rectory. I was so excited at the thought of returning to a house where I had experienced many happy memories as a child. I was not disappointed in any way whatsoever. We had a lovely warm welcome from Jane & Steve, they have renovated the house beautifully and we enjoyed a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane_Steve_Fletcher, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thanks for the review. We are pleased you enjoyed your short stay and hopefully added to all those memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed for one night (wish it could have been longer!). The property itself is stunning, Steve and Jane have completely renovated this beautiful old building. It's in a very rural location, so no street lights or road noise made for a perfect night's sleep.

The breakfast was fantastic. Fresh home made bread, home made muesli and a cooked breakfast - it was wonderful.

The stay was excellent value for money and I would highly recommend this B&B.

I'd love to return here for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane_Steve_Fletcher, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Many thanks for the review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to you staying with us again, soon, for longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We recently stayed for 5 nights at the Old Rectory and found it superb. The Blue and Green bedrooms are very spacious with lovely views and even the smaller Amber where we slept was lovely. It was fabulous to spend so long in the house, beautifully restored, and enjoy the drawing room. We are no fans of a buffet breakfast and this was certainly not one. It was superbly served at the table by Jane and Steve. And the light supper with wine, again served at the table in the drawing room, was an unexpected delight. Jane and Steve were so friendly and helpful in every way. We would definitely like to stay again.

Room Tip: The Blue and Green rooms are at the front of the house overlooking the garden. They are both spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane_Steve_Fletcher, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Many thanks for the great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to you staying with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The house and room was lovely, the breakfast was perfect and the hosts, Steve and Jane, were really friendly and welcoming. Would love to visit again. Thanks very much! :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daf D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane_Steve_Fletcher, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

We are pleased you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for your review and hopefully you will be back, staying with us again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

A very warm friendly welcome received from Steve, Jane and Edward (the Setter) when we arrived at the Old Rectory, with an offer of tea, coffee and cake, which was very much appreciated after the long 3.5hr drive.

Set in a very peaceful location, this beautifully restored property, is immaculate, finished with high quality furnishings, galleried landing ,traditional flooring, gorgeous decor, and the attention detail and care throughout by Steve and Jane shines through so much. We stayed in the Green Room , overlooking the front of the house. It was a large bedroom and en-suite shower room, again with high quality furnishings, a very comfortable bed and fast WIFI connection! The website photo's don't really do the house or bedrooms justice at all.
Breakfast was delicious using fresh quality ingredients, with homemade museli and bread from Jane.
The Old Rectory is a perfect base for exploring South Wales, reaching most places within 20mins to an hour. Steve gave us great advice of places to visit including a perfect little coffee shop in Tenby overlooking the sea, serving the best coffee and huge scones with jam and clotted cream !!
We have already recommended the Old Rectory to family and friends and will look forward to returning sometime soon.
Thanks Steve, Jane and Edward for a lovely stay.

Sharon and Richard, Rural Leicestershire

Room Tip: The Green Room was a great size, with plenty of space to relax as well as sleep. Fast WIFI.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank storm2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane_Steve_Fletcher, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to your next visit when you will meet the latest edition to the family, Rupert, another setter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My six year old daughter and I had the most perfect escape to West Wales with The Old Rectory as our base. I can only echo all the other reviews - beautiful house, lovely hosts, wonderful extra touches like the cakes, muesli, freshly baked bread, handmade soap and so on. It's a vintage lover's paradise (and all exquisitely clean and fresh). We stayed in the Green room which was one of the larger rooms.
My daughter thought the gardens (which like the rest of the property are being thoughtfully restored) were magical and loved pretending to be a princess! There's a sweet little play park just opposite which was handy too. This is a superb location for exploring - we enjoyed Folly Farm, Oakwood, the Botanical gardens and Pembroke Castle (all within 30 mins drive). Narberth is just 10 mins away for dining and shopping.
Its worth noting you would struggle without a car here and I had no mobile signal (which made it even more relaxing), excellent free wifi is available though.
I can not recommend this place highly enough. Steve and Jane have created an absolute gem. We have been thoroughly pampered and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully furnished - the blue and green rooms are larger than the amber room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane_Steve_Fletcher, Owner at The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to you both visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast

Address: | Narberth, Lampeter Velfrey, Narberth SA67 8UH, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Narberth > Lampeter Velfrey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lampeter Velfrey
Price Range: $126 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently re-furbished (completed 2011), this period building offers Victorian grandeur. Through the porch lies a magnificent hall with original tiled floor which leads to the guest drawing room. The sweeping staircase leads to the bedrooms and galleried landing, lit by a magnificent Victorian glass dome, and where there is further seating, refreshments, books etc. A warm friendly informal home where space, comfortable beds and pets (cat and dog) all contribute to a relaxing stay.All rooms have king size beds, digital TV/DVD/Radio, WiFi, Hairdryers and en-suite shower rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Rectory Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing