We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best hotel in Wales (?)”
Review of Grove of Narberth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grove of Narberth
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Molleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
uk
Level Contributor
415 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Possibly the best hotel in Wales (?)”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic one night anniversary stay at the Grove. Situated in the beautiful countryside but very close to Narberth, from the moment you walk in to the moment you leave you are made to feel so welcome with the staff being some of the most professional, friendly and helpful we have ever come across. Our room (The Templar) was exceptionally clean, comfortable and had everything you could need for a very comfortable stay. Some country house hotels, although first class, are not that relaxing whereas this hotel is both relaxing & comfortable and before you have even left are thinking about making a return visit. The restaurant was also first class - delicious / excellent food and service although the only negative for us was that the courses were served a little too quickly. Everything else about the hotel is so relaxing but the speed of service, to us, seemed a little rushed. Thank you so much for our anniversary champagne and chocolates, much appreciated. The breakfast was also excellent - didn't need to eat again until the evening! Hung on the walls of the hotel are paintings by local artists which are for sale, we have now returned home having had a wonderful stay and purchased a painting which will remind us of our delightful stay at The Grove. We look forward to a return visit very soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaysabroad100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NDK14, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Annwyl/Dear Robert & Shan,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent visit to The Grove and congratulations again on your Wedding Anniversary!

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your one night escape with us and that our team were accommodating throughout your stay. We do however apologise for the fast speed of the service during your evening meal, which will be relayed back to our Restaurant Team for future reference.

Excellent artwork from various local artists can be found around The Grove. We are delighted that you took the opportunity to purchase a painting as a keepsake of your enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you both back to The Grove again very soon.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    124
    40
    6
    2
See reviews for
160
856
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, nice decor, relaxing ambience, great food and pleasant staff. We stayed in Cwtch. We had our dogs with us and the room has a room above it, so if the noise of people moving around will upset your dogs don't pick that room unless it's not let that weekend.
Very good sommelier who is adventurous and knows his list well to match with interesting bottles to the menu. Breakfast was a little understated. Relaxing break and we'd go back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NDK14, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Annwyl/Dear Deborah,

Thank you for your kind feedback following your recent stay at The Grove.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing break with us in our Longhouse Room 'Cwtch'. This is one of many of our outdoor rooms that allow dogs. Our friendly Reception Team will be happy to recommend the most suitable room to cater for your requirements.

We have a variety of excellent wines on our wine list, combined with our talented Sommelier whom we are pleased to hear took good care of you during your stay.

We very much hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just spent a rather wonderful child-free weekend at The Grove celebrating our wedding anniversary. What an absolute gem of an hotel!

We stayed in the Meadow Loft room which was sublime - quiet, clean, comfortable and private with it's own little terrace for two. The food was delicious, thoughtfully prepared and presented and exceeded my expectations in every way.

Staff were friendly and very helpful and the atmosphere in the hotel is very informal and relaxed.

This is a thriving, welcoming and still developing hotel - I can't wait to come back and I would most definitely recommend a stay here. It's a perfect place to escape from every day life!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SarahHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NDK14, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Annwyl/Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent visit to The Grove.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Anniversary stay and dining experience with us. Congratulations again to you both!

Our Meadow Loft Deluxe Room is ideal for peace and tranquillity, so we are glad to hear that you made the most of this during your stay.

We very much hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Pembrokeshire.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We arrived early for afternoon tea at this wonderful hotel but that was no problem at all. The hotel is set in beautiful manicured grounds and the service was second to none.

We opted for The Grove Afternoon Tea which was a selection of finger sandwiches, home made scones and preserves with clotted cream, assorted cakes and desserts. We also had a choice of exclusive Jing Tea’s or the Grove blended coffee. It was £19 per person but we could not eat it all so they kindly packed up the treats we could not eat into individual boxes for us to take home.

The hotel interior was charming and the scented candles throughout smelt divine. The toilets were absolutely spotless and the 'hidden' women's products was a nice thoughtful touch. The only thing that I think could have improved the experience would have been the playing of some light background or piano music when taking afternoon tea so it we would not have felt too obvious when making a noise/talking as the quiet surroundings tended to accentuate any noise! Overall, I would rate this hotel 10/10 for Afternoon Tea and look forward to a return visit to stay overnight.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel5012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NDK14, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Annwyl/Dear Rachel,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent visit to The Grove.

We are delighted to read that you all enjoyed your afternoon tea and were fond of the lovely interiors within the house.

We have recently been updating our background music collection for our lounge spaces, which perhaps was why this was not playing at the time of your visit so we apologise for that. This minor issue will be resolved very soon.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in future.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

From the exquisite cuisine, which , as a seasoned Ludlow fine-diner, is second to none and must be due for Michelin recognition, to perfect comfort, endless care and adorable staff, The Grove is perfect. GO there... and see Helen, she's a gem.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank endaxi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveNarberth, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Annwyl/Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent visit to The Grove.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience so much and that you were looked after by our team during your stay, particularly Helen.

We very much hope to welcome you back again when you are next in the area.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter, england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is an excellent country house hotel. Comfortable, welcoming and set in wonderful grounds which are a mixture of cultivated and natural and the ratio is just right. Helpful, friendly and attentive staff but never intrusive

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobmoodydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveNarberth, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Annwyl/Dear Bob,

Thank you for taking the time to put your wonderful feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to The Grove and took an interest in our manicured grounds and gardens. The herb and vegetable garden is a particular favourite of many of our guests.

Your kind comments regarding the staff and service will also be passed on to the whole team.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back on your next visit to beautiful Pembrokeshire.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The hotel is in a beautiful setting, and the staff were friendly and efficient.
The food and wine at dinner were excellent!
Breakfast was also very good and kept us going until dinner time.
The view from Seddon was lovely with views of the rolling countryside.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wombatalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveNarberth, Manager at Grove of Narberth, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear/Annwyl Guest,

Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

The Seddon Junior Suite is one of our top recommendations if you are looking for wonderful views across the Preseli hills, so we are glad to hear that you made the most of this.

We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us on all 3 nights of your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to The Grove again in the near future.

Cofion Cynnes/Kind Regards,

The Team at The Grove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Molleston
7.7 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
5.9 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
1,102 reviews
3.9 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
677 reviews
8.6 mi away
Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
12.1 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove of Narberth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove of Narberth

Property: Grove of Narberth
Address: Molleston, Narberth SA67 8BX, Wales (Formerly The Grove - Narberth)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Narberth > Molleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Molleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grove of Narberth 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the heart of the beautiful Pembrokeshire countryside, The Grove is a leading small luxury hotel with one of Wales's finest restaurants led by Executive Chef, Allister Barsby. The Grove is surrounded by manicured lawns, flower borders, meadows and mature trees - and a region that offers a great selection of delicious ingredients. The venue has 26 intimate luxurious rooms and suites that are full of character - with interiors individually designed to the highest standards. Gaze out of our windows for scenic views of the Preseli mountains, or make the short trip to Pembrokeshire National Park for stunning coastal walks. The cuisine has won national awards and critical acclaim, including AA Rosettes, Wales Tourism Awards and listing in the Good Food Guide. All dishes are served with creativity and flair, and many ingredients come from the kitchen garden - providing ultra-fresh flavours to delight every palette. In summary, the Grove is the perfect place to relax in intimate luxury for those travelers that want to experience the best of Welsh cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, LateRooms and HRS so you can book your Grove of Narberth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grove - Narberth Hotel Narberth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing