We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another excellent vendee holiday”
other traveler has booked this property
Stone Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stone Cottage
Heated Swimming Pool Main room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Stone Cottage
Heated Swimming Pool
Main room
Back garden
Kitchen area
Main room
Heated pool
Local beach, Brétignolles sur mer
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Shower room
Children's play area
Heated Pool
Bicycle hire available
Back garden
Local beach
Table-tennis and Wi-Fi area
Bicycle hire available
Gardens
Local beach
Night swim
Heated Pool
Gites in Vendée
Local beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
La Chaize Giraud, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
milhouse...
Wakefield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another excellent vendee holiday”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

It's our 2nd visit to dolphin gites and we couldn't fault anything. The accommodation was fantastic. Everything we needed for a family holiday. Having our own garden is also ideal for family meals, although our son spent most of his time in the extensive garden playing with his new 'holiday' friends.
Everything is laid back and your made to feel relaxed as soon as you arrive. It was perfect and we've already booked for next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2017
Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased that you had a relaxing holiday at Dolphin Gîtes and we look forward to welcoming you back next summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STRBanbur...
Banbury
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Stone Cottage”
Reviewed August 4, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely old cottage with everything you could need. Fab garden barbecue etc all for personal use. Great pool area and large field for ball games or just a stroll. A beautiful peaceful location but near to everything. Our granddaughter loved it.The weather was excellent and we spent most of our time outside playing games or swimming. Very welcome bottle of wine on arrival too. Thanks Cathy and Howard we will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2017
Thank you for your kind review. We hope to be able to accommodate you again at Dolphin Gîtes in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey10
Neath, South Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Another excellent two weeks in Stone Cottage”
Reviewed December 15, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Our third stay in Stone Cottage and Dolphin Gites. Howard and Cathy made us very welcome as usual. The weather this year was not as good as we had previously but at the time most of northern Europe was experiencing the same thing. However we still got out and about during the dry spells and Stone Cottage is very comfortable when ‘confined to barracks’. After a very busy period at home prior to our holiday relaxing in Stone Cottage was most welcome. Reading, watching TV and DVD’s, and internet access in the gite meant that we had a plenty to keep us occupied. In fact, we had such a good time once again we reserved Stone Cottage for 2017 before we left.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 16, 2016
Thank you for your comments. We promise you more sunshine next summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C M
County Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Getting away from it all but close to everything!”
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My family relaxed completely and enjoyed our stay. Close to a local town with good nearby amenities such as supermarkets. A lovely pool, well equipped kitchen - all the practical things you need to make a holiday easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and gated garden and proximity to beaches.
Liked least: The church bells ringing all night too a while to get used to.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey10
Neath, South Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Our second stay - brilliant!!!!!!”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Our second review of this gite and things have only got better. Gite 5 now has a brand new king size bed although there was nothing wrong with the previous one. We had two Tuesday evening guest meetings this time where Cathy and Howard supplied drinks and nibbles and hosted a very enjoyable get together for all guests and their children.
This year the weather was even better than 2014 and we found two new walks that we enjoyed, one along the coast at Sauzaise and one at the western end of Lac du Jaunay. Being a keen birder a lot of time was spent at the marshes around Isle d’Olonne where the avocets and terns were breeding.
One last comment – we enjoyed ourselves at Dolphin Gites so much once again that we reserved Gite 5 for 2016 before we returned home

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gite, garden and pool, the countryside and coast and Cathy and Howard
Liked least: The thunderstorm !! - Ha Ha
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey10
Neath, South Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“One of the best gites we've stayed in”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have rented gites from Brittany down to the western Pyrenees over the last twenty years so have a modicum of experience.
The gite is spacious and airy with a well equipped kitchen with a four burner hob and a free standing electric oven/ grill also a very comfortable lounge and dining area. The double bedroom has a comfortable bed and plenty of storage space. The bathroom is also a good size with a large shower area. Outside is a large lawn area with a patio table and chairs and a barbecue, eating lunch and dinner here looking out over the countryside was superb.
There are superb walks in the countryside and along the coast, two of our favourites being the cornice from Sion to St Gilles and the Grand Plage.
Cathy and Howard are very friendly and helpful and the weekly get together they host is very useful for meeting other guests in an informal and enjoyable way.
Finally, after having a very enjoyable and relaxing holiday we decided to reserve gite 5 for 2015 before we actually left for home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gite, the garden and the view.
Liked least: The barbecue (only joking Howard)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back next summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamblegat...
Wirral
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very comfortable and spacious gite in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Dolphin Gites, so much so we've booked to go back next year! It is an ideal location for a friendly, care free family holiday. Our gite was very clean and comfortable. The dishwasher and washing machine were appreciated as was the availability of English TV. The bedrooms were of a good size and the shower was very spacious. The lounge area easily accommodated the five of us and the garden had a sense of privacy. The BBQ was very well used throughout our stay and it was lovely to sit out in the evening and enjoy a glass of wine. The swimming pool was warm and well maintained, we took full advantage of the table tennis table and the grounds were very safe and child friendly. Howard and Cathy were lovely hosts, their weekly get together was an ideal way to get to know other guests. There was so much to do out and about. The local beaches are only a ten minute drive away, making it very convenient to pop down for an hour or two. We enjoyed kayaking on Lac Jaunay and cycling around the lake. The younger members of our group enjoyed climbing in the trees at a local facilty similar to 'Go Ape' and the free tennis court in the village was a big bonus for us. All in all Dolphin Gites was a great location for our family holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great amenities in a lovely location with lots to do out and about
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing