We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding! A superb place to camp.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Le Brevedent
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castel Camping Le Brevedent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

It was our first time camping in France and we booked this site on a punt, attracted by the great location and the on-site fishing lake. We were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived at the park (at 6:30am...) we were made to feel very welcome and accommodated. The onsite Eurocamp representatives, Tony & Ann, had us in our tent by noon, even though check-in would not normally be until 3pm.
The on-site facilities were superb, kids-club, free kayaking, bike hire, excellent fishing lake (Common Carp up to 12lb), bouncy castle, cafe, restaurant, bar, games room, swimming pool, fooball pitch, volleyball, table-tennis, mini-golf (the list goes on). Toilets, shower blocks and dish-washing sinks were clean and the water was always hot.
The thing that struck us most about this park was how friendly and safe it felt. Full of families with children of all ages, it might not suit everyone, but we had no worries letting our nine-year-old run around the park all day, playing with the plethora of other kids.
The location is superb with plenty in the area to see-and-do including Cerza Zoo only a 10-minute drive, 40 minutes to Villiers-Sur-Mer beach, 50 minutes to Caen for the Memorial Museum and landing beaches, as well as countless local cider farms and idyllic French market towns to explore (and that's just for starters). More to see-and-do than we could cram into a week!
On our last day we realised we'd booked our ferry home a day late, having only booked a 6-night stay. With a 6:30am ferry to catch, we were set to leave the campsite around 3am, and with nowhere to sleep were not looking forward to the prospect of (half) a nights sleep in the car. Tony & Ann went above and beyond the call of duty offering us a vacant Safari Tent for a few hours, allowing us to get some well needed rest before our voyage home. We could not thank them enough.
I think personal recommendation says it all (that's why you're reading this, right?!), and one night over the communal dish-washing sinks we got chatting to a fellow camper. He told us the first year they stayed at Le Brevedant his son was nine-months-old. They'd been every year since, and the week we were there his son was now celebrating his 17th birthday...! That said it all to me.

Room Tip: 'Standard' tents are excellent value for money, well equipped with all mod cons, and we want...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Castel Camping Le Brevedent
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 112 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Overcrowded, over-hyped and overpriced. There are so many good campsites to choose from in France and this is not one of them. It's OK. Nothing too wrong with it but it's just not worth the high charges or the hype that seems to surround Le Brevedent.
When paying €150 for 3 nights you would expect a decent sized, well-maintained pitch with facilities to support this but unfortunately not here. This is a money printing exercise for Castels. You are constantly tripping over other campers, the site is poorly drained so a little rainfall creates very muddy conditions, the shower blocks are too small for the number of visitors and the general facilities are just not good enough for 4 stars.
This is neither a 'chilled' site nor is it an 'activity' site, it falls between all the stools and is now just a cash cow for getting people in and people out. Very disappointing all round.
I was told it was in the Cool Camping guide. I guess on a quiet warm dry mid-week with few people around this would be a beautiful site. On a busy summer week it is a heap of people crammed around a lake. No more, no less.

Room Tip: I can't think that there is a quiet spot on the site. Avoid the blocks as they're busy all n...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is the most picturesque of sites - after only starting camping this year - it was lovely to see and we were very excited. The staff were ok but not the most helpful. The shop is reasonable but was a little expensive, the playgrounds (especially the bouncy castle and the one outside the restaurant were a big hit with our children - aged 3 & 5). Our pitch was fab - very big in a corner near to the football/grass area - some of the other pitches I noticed were quite on top of each other - we did have a bit of a smell from the stream but not enough to bother us. The pool was great and our children loved it - it is the first place that we have felt safe to let them go in alone with us watching from the side - despite other reviews - I think it is perfectly adequate for the size of the site - we went at high season with temperatures in the 30+ and a full site but it was not feel over run with people. The lake was fun and you can hire the paddles for the canoes for 3 euros, and be out there pretty much as long as you want. The only thing that I think lets this site down is 'one' of the shower blocks. It is old, it is in desperate need of modernising. Overall - a great stay but just needs some polish before I would give it 4 stars but would stay there again and will look at other les castel sites in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We took our touring caravan here for a week in July over Bastille day. The site is situated around a lake, however we were sited away from the lake, which we were glad of as it was very hot and it seemed busier near the lake with tents. There was a magnificent tree which we used for shade. The staff were the friendliest we have encountered on trips to France. The cafe/bar had free wifi and served nice reasonably priced snacks. We dined in the restaurant twice as it was so good, even though the weather was fantastic for BBQs. Beautiful food with an authentic feel. The swimming pool was excellent too and not overly busy. There was plenty to do there for the kids with the play park, badmington area and large grassy bits for playing football, and table tennis. You could go out on a boat on the lake, but we didnt do that. The owner was very friendly too, and his band played on bastille night with some other entertainers in front of the chateau. Lots of people were sitting on the grass and listening, drinking wine, kids playing and it was such a beautiful evening. Then around 11.30pm the firework display began and it was really great. A truly wonderful and memorable evening. The weather for the full week was superb and I put this as one of my top holidays in France. We will definitely return...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluehills68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Spent two weeks here in August; our 6th annual visit. Out pitch by the lake was spacious considering this year we had extra people with us. It took our folding camper and two large tents admittedly not too much room to spread out to relax. Agree with a previous review that hot water in the showers and pot washing area could have been a tad warmer, it was too cold for my sister in law who preferred to go the newer block because the water was hotter. We always found the toilets and showers to be clean and loo roll holder always full. One really bad day of rain did mean the floors were dirty and gritty but this was unavoidable.
We broke down one day and Raphael came and gave us a 'jump start' let us phone the UK and then translated for us with the breakdown man. He always goes out of his way to be helpful as do all the staff there. It did seem to be rather full of English people this year with a sprinkling of Dutch people, We do like to mix with other nationalities when we are away so that was a disappointment.

Fresh bread delivered every day and a small camp shop for basics. The restaurant is always very popular and serves reasonably priced food certain items are available as a takeaway.
There are lots of things to do for children, maybe not for teenagers. there were a few noisy youngsters this year intent on making a nuisance of themselves when little ones would have been in bed, I think someone must have spoken to then after the second incident
Plenty of places to visit especially if you enjoy history. If you visit Pegasus Bridge they serve good food at the brasserie Le 3 Planeurs.
Despite the cool showers we have booked again for next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1978Juliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Don't usually write reviews but we booked this site on the strength of the reviews already written.
We spent three nights recently and although the site is set in a picturesque location the tent pitch we were given was considerable smaller than the other sites we had stayed at under the same brand in the days preceding our stay and this made us feel a little crowded in surely to maximise rental income.
Main points I felt that let the site down was the lack of hot water, once it had gone at peak wash time it meant a cold shower or nothing...not a fun experience for myself or the kids! Toilets without any paper( expect it from a much cheaper municipal but not a Castel site carrying 4 or 5 stars at these prices.
We also we given a pitch next to the lake which made me constantly have eyes on our toddlers just incase they strayed to close as there are no fences around the lake.

I will not mention the old toilet block as this has been well documented already.

I hope this helpful for others deciding whether to book here or not, overall a nice location with some basics not being covered. Just for your info the previous castel sites we stayed at were Canteloup near Le Mans & La Breche near Saumur which were light years ahead of Brevedent with very spacious pitches and fab facilities for the children.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I went to this site with my wife and two daughters(4&1). We stayed with Eurocamp in a standard tent which was fine. There was no problem in finding the site as it was sign posted and our sat nav had no problem locating it.
We were only there for two nights and unfortunately his involved being there on Monday when most of the facilities are closed. There was no kids club and the cafe was closed.
It struck me that if I didn't have children with me I would not like this site. The pitches were very close together and there was almost no privacy. As I have seen in several other reviews this is a very family friendly site and kids did seem to roam free until dark.
The shop is very small and only takes cash. There is a Resturant/ take away which seemed nice, we got two lovely pizza for €17 and this does accept cards.
Even without the kids club, there was plenty to do. My daughter and I went kayaking on the lake(free) which was fun. The lake is rather small and quite smelly but this was fun none the less. We also went swimming. The pool was ok, it was quite cool( too cold for my 1 yr old) but it was in a lovely setting. They have crazy golf which is also free and was quite good fun. There were three playgrounds and one in particular was good as it was outside the Resturant. This meant there were many parents having a drink while they were able to watch their children on the playground, this seemed quite a good set up to us.
Overall what made our stay special was the fact that my daughter made lots of friends and that was in no small way down to the environment the site have created. So I would probably return with a family but certainly not without one.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Mike186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castel Camping Le Brevedent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Camping Le Brevedent

Address: 241 route du Pin, 14130 Le Brevedent, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Le Brevedent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Le Brevedent
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can stay at Castel Camping Brevedent in Mobile home , Tent Lodge or just with your caravan, motorhome or tent . A small shop , a restaurant, a cafe open July and August, a bar in the Manoir , play areas for children, a heated pool with wading pool, a baby kitchen ... all services for a good holiday ! We organise “nature activities” and sense development for children for them to learn about the different species of birds and varieties of trees in a fun way. When the time of year is right, children have the opportunity to make their own apple juice after picking up the fruit from the foot of our trees. An orchard, a vegetable patch, a herb garden, butterfly trees are just a sample of the unique setting Le Brevedent campsite offers you… A kids club open in July and August offers nature activities , crafts and sports ! Our team is available to help you discover the richness of our region. You will also find all the necessary tourist information (places to visit, walks, cycling routes, curiosities…) Wander along Deauville’s famous seaside boardwalk and admire it’s multicolour parasols, go shopping at the renown fish market in Trouville or even stroll around the port at Honfleur while admiring the picturesque buildings… Le Brevedent offers the best of both worlds, being a peaceful and preserved domain but also being within twenty minutes (25 kms) from the touristic sites of the Cote Fleurie. You will find below a small selection of what is waiting for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing