We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this place at all costs!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cahokia
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Avoid this place at all costs!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2006

I knew this might have been a mistake when I got off the freeway and saw the "city" of Cahokia. To call this a one horse town would be one horse too many. I have never seen a greater collection of misfits and a greater lack of things to do/places to eat/etc. in one city in my life. I was especially thrilled to see the man relieving himself in the parking lot then getting back into his truck. I was traveling from Chicago to St. Louis to see a Cardinals game, and decided to save some money by staying in this city close to St. Louis. Don't make my same mistake.

For starters, the hotel appeared fine. It had a decent lobby with computer (where I sit now typing this review), a large breakfast room for the free continental breakfast and a swimming pool (which I have not used). The gym left a lot to be desired consisting of one elliptical trainer, a broken treadmill and an antique rowing machine. I was also less than thrilled at the giant cockroach greeting me in the gym bathroom sink. We told the girl at the front desk, but the IQ challenged clerk did not respond with "thank you for letting me know," "I'll take care of that," "I'm sorry to hear that," or any other expected response. She just stood there with her mouth agape staring at us.

As for the room itself, it was large with a sitting area and two queen beds. It seemed okay on first glance, but then on closer inspection was less than adequate. It had mold growing on the shower curtain, leading us to wonder whether we should drench the bathroom floor to avoid having to be in the same tub as the filthy plastic. The advertised "free internet" was useless as my computer would not connect. (It isn't my computer, which worked fine at the hotel in Chicago only that morning). I asked to try another room as I needed my computer for business purposes, and it did not connect in that room either. I finally gave up and began using the one downstairs each day.

The cherry on top of the sundae of a room was the cockroach hanging out in our bathroom. I'm not sure if he was dead, lost from his friend in the gym, or just bold enough to dare us to run away instead of him. I just hope his buddies don't accompany us back to Chicago. Needless to say, there is little point in telling the girl at the front desk about this roach, since she was less than effective in dealing with the last one.

I really wish I had discovered this website before we booked this reservation. Reading what others had to say about this hotel would have saved us some misery. Hopefully my review will do that for you.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StaciB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    40
    26
    14
    15
See reviews for
65
43
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2006

We stayed in June of 2005. We enjoyed our stay here the room were nice, bathroom clean. We a little concerned because of area but was safe had room on first floor. Breakfast was average not biggie it was free. If going to six flags, go to grocery store across street for discount tickets. I would recommend this hotel. The gym was ok, as was the pool. Very queit and easy access to interstate.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMM1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2005

After making reservation at this hotel, I read the above comments and I was concerned. We have several small children and were going to be staying there for a little vacation while visiting St Louis. However, when we arrived we were very pleased with this hotel. It was very clean, the rooms were very spacious, the pool was perfect for small children, there was a nice size fridge in our room, and there is a Walmart and a grocery store nearby. The breakfast was served from 6-10 am and had a nice variety of things to pick from. I was told when checking out that the hotel had just replaced all of the carpet, beds, chairs, etc.

The pool was very small, but perfect for young children. 3' deep in the shallow end and 5' in the deep end.

It was nice to be very close to downtown St Louis without having to worry about the parking fees at the hotels downtown. Everywhere we visited downtown (arch, city museum, savvis Center, etc) were all within 5-10 minutes of the Holiday Inn Express.

I would and will definitely stay there again when I visit St Louis.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2005

Dirty, smelly rooms. Staff was dumb ... no make that stupid! They couldn't figure out how their reservation system worked!!.
My wake-up call came about 1/2 hour late!! The continental breakfast is a joke!!!! And of course, they could NOT get the billing correct, with an AARPdiscount!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2004

I stay more than 50 nights a year in hotels. Almost exclusively at Holiday Inns. Probably the worst Holiday Inn expresss. I have stayed at. Dirty walls and carpet. In a very poor part of town. Loud and obnoxious guests. Got a wake up call out of the blue at 12:30 in the morning. When I called the front desk to make sure it didn't happen again he said "I don't know what to tell you about that" Generally poort staff, although the maid was nice.

Not recommended...stay at another St. Louis area Holiday Inn..I wish I would have.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahokia
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
BEST WESTERN St. Louis Inn
#1 of 1 in Tesson Ferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hill
Red Roof Inn Plus St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 1607 Pontiac Dr, Cahokia, IL 62206-2541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Cahokia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cahokia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites(R) hotel in Cahokia will get you rested and ready for anything. We're merely minutes away from downtown St. Louis, Missouri. You'll find plenty of other sites and activities to explore near our smoke-free leisure hotel in Cahokia, some of which include: Jarrot Mansion Fairmont Park Racetrack Busch Stadium Edward Jones Dome Gateway Arch Anheuser-Busch City Museum We are also close to Scottrade Center, Southern Illinois University, Soulard, Lumiere Place, Laclede's Landing, America's Center and Ballpark Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Cahokia
Holiday Inn Cahokia
Comfort Inn Cahokia
Cahokia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing