We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!”
Review of The White Hart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Hart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We,ve passed this hotel many times & decided to go to lunch there today as it was our Anniversary. The Manager,. Hayley was so enthusiastic about the Hotel,s history, the food, the accommodation etc that one couldn,t help but join in. She was right, the food was superb & the service was fast & efficient plus the cost was very reasonable. The bar menu was sufficient but varied & as good as any top class restaurant,s main menu plus i saw that they,ve won quite a few awards for their cuisine! We,ll definitely go back as it,s so refreshing to have the kind of service that one only dreams about but doesn,t always have!

Room Tip: We didn,t spend the night here but we will in the near future.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeoStar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 216 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

We hosted our school summer ball here on Saturday 8 June in the purpose built barn and it was amazing!
The venue is beautiful and the food was absolutely first class, every plate was cleared, which has never happened before at other venues!
The staff, expertly run by Hayley, were polite, tidy and totally professional and the evening ran seamlessly.
Having organised balls previously, this was a joy and I felt that the white hart made it totally stress free and enjoyable!
Thank you! We will definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonSilky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

we had our wedding at this venue a few weeks back, all our guest were amazed with the venue its self, the food and also the staff!! We honestly couldn't fault this place at all.
The staff are a real credit to the white hart, nothing is too much trouble and always have a smile on there face. I know we had our wedding there but the restaurant is as good if not better, Some of our guest stayed over in the rooms they had available and they were all very clean and tidy the honeymoon suit has been done up - and it was amazing!!! even if your not getting married its worth paying that little bit extra and have that room!! We love this place so much that we now go back time and time again to enjoy the ambiance of the place and enjoy a fantastic meal every time!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenna w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We visited the White Hart last month for the second time on a dinner bed and breakfast deal. The food was, once again, outstanding and the hotel was kind enough to honour our request for a four-poster room for my daughter and son-in-law. Breakfast the following morning was a lovely finish to our stay and we have booked again to stay again next month.

Room Tip: Both rooms we have stayed in were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crumblesthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My Girlfriend and i went and stayed at The White Hart today and were amazed!!
From the moment we walked into the building we were warmly welcomed by very attentive & smartly dressed staff.

After receiving our welcome drinks (glasses of champagne) we were given menus to look at and the young waitress was extremely happy to explain how everything worked, when she told us we had six courses awaiting us we both looked at each other in astonishment.

Amuse bouche before starters was a great start to the meal which consisted of, slow roasted pork belly, black pudding, caramelised apple, calvados foam, sage leaf, crackling stick and apple blossom. would choose it as a main course if i could!!

To start i had the rabbit dish which had amazing flavours and textures, i would highly recommend! All the dishes we had we would both happily have again as they were to die for! The food should definitely have a higher rating than it already has!

The hotel is amazingly decorated with lavish soft furnishings I felt like a king for the night, the home made biscuits were a lovely touch.

Breakfast is served from 7am all the way through till 11am so we didnt have to rush around and be there for a certain time, so we came over around 9am and the menu we were giving had a very good variety to choose from. when our breakfast came it was served on a hot plate (hard to find these days) and was a very good size!

Overall the stay was brilliant, food to die for. i would highly recommend to anyone who has a high quality in dining out!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaneEdwards86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Smell of damp in Room 9, television not working anyway(they moved me to room 3), no tv remotes in the rooms, no free wifi, water filter filthy, dirt and dust around the foot of he bedside table, a lamp on the bedside table with absolutely no way of plugging it in. Ground floor guests cannot be anything but woken up when guests upstairs get out of bed because of the horrendous creaking floor - has to be heard to be believed. Room 3 is a " double" but with two single beds pushed together. Not ideal if on a romantic break rather than a business trip like mine. Oh and the blind had been ripped off he wall the previous evening and had not been fixed "try not to touch it".

Food? Awful. Sirloin steak served with "hand cut chips". Arrives with fries a la McDonalds. Advised chef "has run out of chips". Run out of chips? "Yes, potatoes didn't arrive with delivery" - fine dining? Poor excuse for good food. Asked for more bread. 10 minute wait...mustard and mayo...another ten minutes. We were the only ones in the restaurant with two waitresses.

Breakfast in the morning, very average. I had 14 baked beans on my plate.

Beautiful building, lovely location but clearly very poorly managed at the moment. Lost a lot of business over this episode. Just unacceptable, disappointing and a little sad.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HenshawSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

I live locally to the the restaurant and me and my husband decided to splash out on the a la carte menu one Wednesday evening. This was a treat for us and we have to say we were pleasantly surprised. We were warmly welcomed and the 6... (Yes 6!!) course menu was clearly explained to us by the waitress. We were amazed by each course as they were perfectly presented and tasted delicious. The service was quick yet informative as the manageress Hayley informed us on the the local area and where they get thier produce (all fresh and local I have to mention). All round a romantic and delicious treat.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cutie12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart

Address: Poole Street, Great Yeldham CO9 4HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Great Yeldham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yeldham
Price Range: $111 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The White Hart 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The White Hart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing