We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of The Forge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Forge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halland
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

A very average hotel. Generally clean but the bedspread was stained. Could do with an upgrade as the finishes look tired. If you are looking for a cheap place to stay its not bad but not as good as a premier inn at a similar price.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOLLYAMELIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 175 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel sits right by the roundabout in Halland, a good location for nearby Lewis or Ringmer.
Looking a bit like an American motel with all the accommodation facing the car park with access to both lower and upper levels.
First impressions were good until I opened the door, perhaps it was because it was on the ground floor, or because it was on the end of he building but there was a distinct smell of damp. A bit of an update may well solve this problem with new double glazed units and door to replace the original metal casements.
Although comfortable enough the choice of room may be critical.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank John D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

After having had a disastrous meal here two years ago, I was rather uncertain about returning. However, the in-laws had said that the carvery was excellent. I was disappointed initially as the only joints on offer were beef or pork. I opted for the beef as the pork looked rather fatty.
Beef was not too bad. Veg cooked well and not mushy. However, I was disappointed with the roasties as they were very clearly cooked from frozen. Too perfect, not fluffy or crispy. Yorkshire puddings were burnt and the stuffing lacked substance or taste.
The puddings did look delicious but we opted not to try after our average roast dinner.
The place was very busy and people seemed to be enjoying their meals, which left us wondering if we were being fussy - however, we simply prefer the fayre of another local carvery.
The decor has hugely improved from my last visit and it did make for a cosy and warm atmosphere. The food however, does need a little improvement....
I don't think we will return..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pygmyhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Another Groupon deal - and excellent VFM! Owners are in the process of refurbishing - restaurant first, then rooms, so can't comment on the decor, but will be back to see what has happened. However, our room was warm, comfortable, spacious, inviting and clean. (NB rooms are motel style - in a separate building so you can come and go as you please.) There was some noise from the A22 but not enough to keep us awake. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was superb! We had afternoon tea (three kinds of sandwiches including smoked salmon, freshly baked scone with jam and cream and a deliciously light sponge) with tea/coffee and a glass of champagne. After we had walked that off, we sat down to a substantial two-course evening meal, beautifully cooked and presented. Breakfast was of the same standard, classic English (lovely bacon) with eggs cooked to order and help yourself to anything else. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: You have a choice of ground floor or first floor rooms. All accessed from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret151151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We also did the Groupon thing. And after reading some of the reviews arrived a little uncertain of what to find.
With national hotel chains bullying there way across the country it was nice to see an independent hotel doing the best they can in a very difficult times. Yes the rooms are a little dated and yes the heating was a little suspect but we finished our stay pleased with our choice of accommodation.
Afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast were all more than satisfactory and again considering what we paid we were very happy with the dining experience.
Staff were all very friendly and always alert to any request.
All in all we were very pleased with the Halland Forge. 7 out of 10

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thepearcefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

If you are staying here it is more motel than hotel. ie access to room is outside not through pub. 2 AA stars and is what it is. The room was dated but clean with a good size bath room but only shower from taps. Did have a trouser press and hair dryer though and tea and coffee facilities in room. Bed not especially comfy but we were only there for one night and on a deal so who can moan.
Restaurant is large with menu and carvery option. Food was good value. Service was a little lacking as the meal went on. Think there was a change over - always a problem.
Breakfast was classic English with eggs cooked to order - a nice touch

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gardengel-IoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Lovely place the room was warm Cosy and inviting and most of all clean
Staff where friendly and very Helpful
This was a Groupon offer and well worth it
Afternoon tea was very good nice sandwiches,2cakes and scone jam and cream,glass of bubbly
Evening meal was excellent with good fresh veg everything was nice and hot
Bed was not to bad felt a few springs and just a little noisy not to much to bother us but that was the only downside I can tell you.
Breakfast was very good freshly cooked eggs as you like them and help yourself to everything else.
Also no problem with early check i
Free wifi worked well in rooms

Room Tip: We had room 9 which was up about 10 steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halland
7 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#2 of 7 in Lewes
407 reviews
6.8 mi away
Pelham House Hotel
8.9 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 7 in Lewes
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
245 reviews
1.6 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,292 reviews
3.9 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forge

Address: Heathfield Road, Halland, Lewes BN8 6PW, England (Formerly Halland Forge Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes > Halland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halland
Price Range: $104 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Forge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing