We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our perfect wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crockstead Farm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Halland B&B and Inns
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our perfect wedding”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We married at Crockstead on 21st September and can only describe it as 'a perfect day'.
From the date we booked it (Jan 2012) Ross and Lynn went through everything with us and answered our numerous questions either by phone or e-mail.
On the day, myself and bridesmaids were constantly being asked if there was anything we needed, Hannah, bless her was a star !!!.
The ceremony room looked absolutely stunning with the candles and fairy lights.
The Mill room, where we had our wedding breakfast was decorated beautifully and the meal was
hot,. plentiful and cooked beautifully. The boys and girls who served us were polite and swift.
Breakfast next morning again, was wonderful.
We could not fault this hotel and wish to thank Ross for all his hard work and making the day go so smoothly.
Last word to Lynn. What a wonderful team you have, you must be so proud of them.
Everyone worries about things going wrong at their wedding, i know we did but the whole day was perfect, just perfect. THANKYOU

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 718Mrssadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    47
    30
    24
    32
See reviews for
49
85
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked Crockstead for our wedding venue and it goes with saying this is a EXCELLENT venue for a wedding or party.

Myself and family friends stayed the night before the wedding and had a lovely 3 course meal in the restaurant, food was excellent, great size portions and quick and friendly service from all member of staff.

Breakfast on the wedding morning was also a 10/10 great selection and nothing was to much for the staff to deal with.

Myself and bridesmaid stayed in the Lewis Suit which was great. Big rooms, comfy beds, nice and warm and cosy.

Other wedding guests stayed in other rooms and all said how they all had a great nights sleep and found the facilaties excellent.

Wedding took place in the Mill Room which was decorated by staff and it really was magical. Food and drink for the wedding breakfast again a 10/10 and waiting staff helpful and all dietary requirements were taken into consideration.

The staff make you feel so at home and they are also great fun, always have a smile on their faces and enjoying there jobs.

I couldnt fault Crockstead Farm and will be returning again for Wedding Anniversaries or even to one of there function night as they sounds like loads of fun.

Thanks all members of staff especially Lynn and Ross for making our day so special and something we will never forget.

Louise and Andy Gray

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments and for your card and gift for the staff. Everyone has commented on what a wonderful day it was, even the DJ has said that it was his favourite gig of the year!! We hope that you have a fabulous time in the far east and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We've just stayed at the hotel as attended a beautiful wedding here. The place is so lovely, peaceful & a lovely setting. The room was clean, fresh towels, tea/coffee making faculties etc. the staff were great & all worked so hard. Breakfast was lovely the following morning a full English just to finish off the stay nicely. Would defo stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments. So nice to have positive feedback and we hope to see you again. From all at Crockstead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Beware, some of the rooms are nothing like those on the hotel website. The rooms we stayed in had a strong smell of damp, were furnished in very poor quality furniture, no headboards, nowhere to hang your clothes, a bathroom with a macerator toilet which was very noisy and a shower that was unusable as it was either boiling hot or freezing cold. Worst of all they were dirty, with stained bed linen, soiled carpets, soggy damp curtains dragging on the floor. Never again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela6T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We are sorry that you have felt that the accommodation did not meet your requirements.

As stated in our emails you were not booked into the hotel but the Lewes Suite, which is not pictured on our website. You were advised that this consisted of three bedrooms, a shared lounge and bathroom at the time of reservation.

Your family checked in TWO hours prior to normal check in so if the accommodation was as you stated then there was plenty of time to raise your concerns with the staff who would have been able to rectify the situation but nothing was said until checkout and via email.

All other comments from people who have stayed in the Lewes Suite have been very positive with several reviews stating this on the tripadvisor site so we are extremely sorry that you feel that your stay was a negative one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Halland hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

With resident peacocks and their own equestrian centre next door this is a great setting for a countryside break. Beautiful grounds, good location for the countryside and only half an hours drive from the sea. Comfortable rooms, good food, good service.

Room Tip: You will get noise from the peacocks, hens, horses etc, but it is a working farm and equestrian cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Many thanks for your comments - we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warickshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had to unfortunately stay here for a weeding we were attending. Music all night and terrible noise in our rooms. Breakfast consisted of floppy bacon and puréed saussages. Wedding food was ok but evening took place in a waterlogged marquee.

good points were those to be expected. hot water, adequate bathrooms, nicely decorated, wifi in our room just, tea and coffe, but NO phone.

staff seemed to be constantly running round like headless chickens, chasing the various cats and peacocks back info the farm area

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We are extremely sorry that you did not appear to enjoy the wedding that you were attending or the venue.
The Marquee and the music were organised by the bride and groom so maybe it would be more appropriate to raise your issues with them as these are the things that they had chosen for their special day.
The weather was particularly appalling with torrential rain all day so if the staff had to go out into the courtyard then they were running out of the rain but not worthy of your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My daughter booked this hotel for us as we were celebrating my 50th birthday and going on to a party in Eastbourne with family the following day. We had been informed there was a wedding taking place but that would not interfere with us and would be contained to another part of the hotel. When we arrived we had to go through the area where the wedding guests were all drinking - checked into our rooms which were very tastefully decorated. The bedroom area looked lovely although smelt of wet dog! put this down to being on a farm but daughters bedroom didn't smell. The bathrooms were adequate but could do with a deep clean.We had booked into the restaurant for an evening meal. Upon arrival nothing was set up but a staff member quickly set us up a table with just cutlery no napkins etc. and was for best part of the evening attentive. We were informed that only the bar menu was available and not the full a'la carte menu as we were led to believe. We were the only ones dining there so can see why they didn't want to go to too much fuss. But the meal we had was ok. During our main course the Wedding party made there way into the restaurant area and used the bar there I assume they were clearing tables in their room - Although the young lady served us well while we were eating after she brought up dessert we were left alone and no one returned. No offer of any more drinks or coffee etc. Tried to find someone but assume they were dealing with the wedding party. Breakfast was adequate - and we were served by the same young girl still in the same clothes - perhaps she hadn't even made it to bed looking at how tired she looked. Would be a nice place if you were staying as part of the wedding party but if there's a wedding going on I would avoid - Could go to so many other places in the area that are much better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

I feel it is unfair to claim that your waitress was wearing the same clothes as the day before but the rest of your comments have been fed back to her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halland
0.9 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
166 reviews
6.9 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
767 reviews
0.9 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,416 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#4 of 8 in Lewes
366 reviews
6.8 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#7 of 8 in Lewes
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockstead Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockstead Farm Hotel

Property: Crockstead Farm Hotel
Address: Eastbourne Road | Halland, Halland, Lewes BN8 6PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes > Halland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Halland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockstead Farm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crockstead Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing