We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mainly bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crockstead Farm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Halland B&B and Inns
Warickshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mainly bad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had to unfortunately stay here for a weeding we were attending. Music all night and terrible noise in our rooms. Breakfast consisted of floppy bacon and puréed saussages. Wedding food was ok but evening took place in a waterlogged marquee.

good points were those to be expected. hot water, adequate bathrooms, nicely decorated, wifi in our room just, tea and coffe, but NO phone.

staff seemed to be constantly running round like headless chickens, chasing the various cats and peacocks back info the farm area

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We are extremely sorry that you did not appear to enjoy the wedding that you were attending or the venue.
The Marquee and the music were organised by the bride and groom so maybe it would be more appropriate to raise your issues with them as these are the things that they had chosen for their special day.
The weather was particularly appalling with torrential rain all day so if the staff had to go out into the courtyard then they were running out of the rain but not worthy of your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    46
    29
    22
    32
See reviews for
46
84
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

My daughter booked this hotel for us as we were celebrating my 50th birthday and going on to a party in Eastbourne with family the following day. We had been informed there was a wedding taking place but that would not interfere with us and would be contained to another part of the hotel. When we arrived we had to go through the area where the wedding guests were all drinking - checked into our rooms which were very tastefully decorated. The bedroom area looked lovely although smelt of wet dog! put this down to being on a farm but daughters bedroom didn't smell. The bathrooms were adequate but could do with a deep clean.We had booked into the restaurant for an evening meal. Upon arrival nothing was set up but a staff member quickly set us up a table with just cutlery no napkins etc. and was for best part of the evening attentive. We were informed that only the bar menu was available and not the full a'la carte menu as we were led to believe. We were the only ones dining there so can see why they didn't want to go to too much fuss. But the meal we had was ok. During our main course the Wedding party made there way into the restaurant area and used the bar there I assume they were clearing tables in their room - Although the young lady served us well while we were eating after she brought up dessert we were left alone and no one returned. No offer of any more drinks or coffee etc. Tried to find someone but assume they were dealing with the wedding party. Breakfast was adequate - and we were served by the same young girl still in the same clothes - perhaps she hadn't even made it to bed looking at how tired she looked. Would be a nice place if you were staying as part of the wedding party but if there's a wedding going on I would avoid - Could go to so many other places in the area that are much better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

I feel it is unfair to claim that your waitress was wearing the same clothes as the day before but the rest of your comments have been fed back to her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockenhurst
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Attractive location, bright well equipped rooms, comfortable bed, efficient shower. Very pleasant and helpfull staff. Dinner provided one of the best steaks I have had for a long time, and perfectly cooked. Breakfast a bit of a let down obviously cooked earlier, dry bacon , tasteless sausage. Also bitter at £5.00 a pint , a bit strong.This said still well worth going there

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is one of the most friendliest Hotels we have stayed at not only the Staff who were all wonderful but the other guests were so friendly it was truly wonderful it was our wedding anniversary and we had a great time Ross was a dream and looked after us very well. the views were smashing and it was so relaxing. It is very close to Eastbourne and Brighton and everything in-between. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Many thanks for your comments - we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We wanted somewhere convenient and reasonable just for the one night and this hotel ticked most of the boxes. It has a pleasant situation and only twelve rooms. It 'does' weddings, of which one was underway when we were there; of the wedding and its celebrations we heard nothing at all, but it was obvious that most of the staff were engaged in providing service for it. There was one girl only on reception and she was responsible also for the bar and for waiting at table in the evening: to her credit, she did her very best to fulfil our requirements and was lively and cheerful, but nobody is superhuman and we felt decidedly that we, as ordinary guests, had to take what was left of the staffing levels when the wedding had its requirements met; it just wasn't fair to leave her to do everything, even though she said she didn't mind. The excuse of the wedding was trotted out several times when we made observations and requests - frankly, if you can't accommodate ordinary guests properly at the same time, don't do it!

The problem with this hotel is that if a few hundred were to be spent on cleaning, repainting and touching up the many bashes and scratches, especially on the main door - first impressions not good - it could be really quite nice. Our room was furnished in a 'Sindy' manner, with a large, comfortable bed and reasonable bathroom - tepid water in the morning was unattractive, however, and there was no bathmat and the room looked as if it had been only superficially cleaned for quite a while. On the bedhead, for instance, which was made of an ornate collection of curlicues, there was a great deal of unpleasantly grey dust, under the kettle was a brown stain and the shower wheel was ingrained with dirt. Additionally, there were huge numbers of cobwebs around and over the door and window of the room and a large area of mouldy damp over the bathroom window.

The meals we had were good - the pate had a wonderful onion marmalade with it, made by the chef, and both our main courses were very nice indeed. Breakfast was mainstream, but perfectly reasonable.

For us, this hotel was just acceptable as a one night stay, but if only they would give it the facelift it needs, it could be so much better in so many ways.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pricelinda8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
In response to your mixed review of the hotel, there were only two rooms for the waitress to serve so one member of staff to perform this service was more than sufficient, and as you have stated performed this well.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Nice location, but the rooms and bathrooms feel a little tired. Had a nice shower in the evening but was cold the following (assuming no hot water left).

There was a wedding there when we went so the menu we had be shown when we checked in and was asked if we would like to eat in the restaurant was not available when we sat down for dinner.......very poor.

Tv did not work apart from forever pushing buttons to change channels. Remote did not work

Wifi did not work in the bedroom only outside in the courtyard. This was very inconvenient as they stated that wifi worked everywhere.

Will not stay there again and would not recommend....

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10, the tv did not work, apart from that...ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark-anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments - we appreciate feedback both positive and negative.
As per our conversation on checkout we thanked you for advising us that the tv was not working as we were not aware of this and it has subsequently been replaced.
With regards to your comments about the menu - the menu in reception area is a sample one, you were offered a menu with specials which changes daily and dined with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Halland hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Nottingham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Spent 2 days here 9on a voucher break, but worth a stay without). Set in open countryside, lovely grounds, pond, a roaming peacock (Percy), ducks dozens of horses and finally, cats! Whats not to like. Rooms were clean and comftable, with tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen TV and en suite shower
Meals were well cooked and with a fair choice of options. Good breakfasts too.
Staff very welcoming and friendly (special mention for Anna)
Highly recommend this hotel for a stress reducing break. If you wish to see other locations, Brighton, Easstbourne and Lewes are short drives away. .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halland
0.9 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
6.9 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
3.1 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#5 of 8 in Lewes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.5 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockstead Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockstead Farm Hotel

Property: Crockstead Farm Hotel
Address: Eastbourne Road | Halland, Halland, Lewes BN8 6PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes > Halland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Halland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockstead Farm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Crockstead Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing