We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crockstead Farm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Halland B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We wanted somewhere convenient and reasonable just for the one night and this hotel ticked most of the boxes. It has a pleasant situation and only twelve rooms. It 'does' weddings, of which one was underway when we were there; of the wedding and its celebrations we heard nothing at all, but it was obvious that most of the staff were engaged in providing service for it. There was one girl only on reception and she was responsible also for the bar and for waiting at table in the evening: to her credit, she did her very best to fulfil our requirements and was lively and cheerful, but nobody is superhuman and we felt decidedly that we, as ordinary guests, had to take what was left of the staffing levels when the wedding had its requirements met; it just wasn't fair to leave her to do everything, even though she said she didn't mind. The excuse of the wedding was trotted out several times when we made observations and requests - frankly, if you can't accommodate ordinary guests properly at the same time, don't do it!

The problem with this hotel is that if a few hundred were to be spent on cleaning, repainting and touching up the many bashes and scratches, especially on the main door - first impressions not good - it could be really quite nice. Our room was furnished in a 'Sindy' manner, with a large, comfortable bed and reasonable bathroom - tepid water in the morning was unattractive, however, and there was no bathmat and the room looked as if it had been only superficially cleaned for quite a while. On the bedhead, for instance, which was made of an ornate collection of curlicues, there was a great deal of unpleasantly grey dust, under the kettle was a brown stain and the shower wheel was ingrained with dirt. Additionally, there were huge numbers of cobwebs around and over the door and window of the room and a large area of mouldy damp over the bathroom window.

The meals we had were good - the pate had a wonderful onion marmalade with it, made by the chef, and both our main courses were very nice indeed. Breakfast was mainstream, but perfectly reasonable.

For us, this hotel was just acceptable as a one night stay, but if only they would give it the facelift it needs, it could be so much better in so many ways.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pricelinda8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for your comments.
In response to your mixed review of the hotel, there were only two rooms for the waitress to serve so one member of staff to perform this service was more than sufficient, and as you have stated performed this well.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Crockstead Farm Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 213 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

Nice location, but the rooms and bathrooms feel a little tired. Had a nice shower in the evening but was cold the following (assuming no hot water left).

There was a wedding there when we went so the menu we had be shown when we checked in and was asked if we would like to eat in the restaurant was not available when we sat down for dinner.......very poor.

Tv did not work apart from forever pushing buttons to change channels. Remote did not work

Wifi did not work in the bedroom only outside in the courtyard. This was very inconvenient as they stated that wifi worked everywhere.

Will not stay there again and would not recommend....

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10, the tv did not work, apart from that...ok
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark-anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for your comments - we appreciate feedback both positive and negative.
As per our conversation on checkout we thanked you for advising us that the tv was not working as we were not aware of this and it has subsequently been replaced.
With regards to your comments about the menu - the menu in reception area is a sample one, you were offered a menu with specials which changes daily and dined with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Spent 2 days here 9on a voucher break, but worth a stay without). Set in open countryside, lovely grounds, pond, a roaming peacock (Percy), ducks dozens of horses and finally, cats! Whats not to like. Rooms were clean and comftable, with tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen TV and en suite shower
Meals were well cooked and with a fair choice of options. Good breakfasts too.
Staff very welcoming and friendly (special mention for Anna)
Highly recommend this hotel for a stress reducing break. If you wish to see other locations, Brighton, Easstbourne and Lewes are short drives away. .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have just had a wonderful weekend at the Crockstead Farm Hotel celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary. The venue is stunning, all our rooms clean, comfortable and the chef very accomodating making us up veggie and meat platters for sunday evening in the bar.
Having the peacocks walking around and the cat joining in the party was lovely.The Hog roast at the party was superb and all our guests said how wonderful the food and surroundings are. Ross and the young girl who served our breakfasts, worked on reception and served drinks in the bar worked incredibly hard. I would highly recommend it as a party venue and a peaceful, country retreat. I can see us having more partys there in the future.

Room Tip: The Lewes suite is a lovely family suite of 3 rooms and a large sitting room opening onto the courty...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madeleine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your evening and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is our second visit to Crockstead, love the setting, peace and quietness of the location. The staff are more than friendly and very helpful. Rooms clean and tidy, comfortable bed. Breakfast and evening meals superb. Cats always a welcome sight and so is the peacock! If your looking for a rural location then this is for you! Surprised to see negative feedback, maybe those who do not do rural should go elsewhere and leave this tranquil place for the ones that enjoy the countryside and cats!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimjam46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for your comments and we are please to hear that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the wildlife around Crockstead. We would love to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a beautiful weekend at crockstead- really couldn't find any faults with this pretty little place! Nice location and beautiful grounds had some lovely walks with the dog also surrounded by wildlife/animals. All staff exceptionally friendly and go out of their way for you very personal touches and polite and attentive. Pretty restaurant very romantic and has lovely log fireplace, food was gorgeous excellent chef and very reasonably priced. Also very nice cooked breakfast was included. Our room was superb lovely decoration, clean and spacious, very warm and comfortable. Had such a magical time can't thank you all enough :) would def recommend this hotel to anyone and will def come back 10 out of 10 x

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstylou84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Many thanks for your comments - we look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

What a beautiful place to stay on our anniversary. Met at reception by a young lady with a pleasant greeting & beaming smile, very quickly booked in and shown to our room; the young lady asked if we were dinning in the restaurant & told it was a 3 course meal that evening.

The radiators were on and room beautifully warm. Once settled etc..went along to the restaurant to be met again by the young lady and the chef. We ordered drinks, sat down at a table and then ordered our evening meal. Must say the meal was very well presented and absolutely delicious. The young lady was extremely attentive without being intrusive all evening, chatting away like she new us once we had finished our meal.

We had a comfortable nights sleep and a lovely hot shower in the morning. Went along to the restaurant to be met by the chef, who served us. He took our order and my partner had a full English cooked breakfast, while I had scramble eggs/bacon & toast which again was well presented and much appreciated.

This hotel is set in lovely, pretty surroundings with additional wildlife; chickens, ducks, cats, peacocks and of course horses.

The two members of staff who met us are a real credit to the hotel and we hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kira1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halland
6.9 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#5 of 8 in Lewes
820 reviews
0.9 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,218 reviews
3.1 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 8 in Lewes
245 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
171 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#3 of 8 in Lewes
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockstead Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockstead Farm Hotel

Address: Eastbourne Road | Halland, Halland, Lewes BN8 6PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes > Halland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Halland
Price Range: $94 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockstead Farm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crockstead Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing