We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay for us and all our family and friends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crockstead Farm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crockstead Farm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Halland B&B and Inns
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay for us and all our family and friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have just had a wonderful weekend at the Crockstead Farm Hotel celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary. The venue is stunning, all our rooms clean, comfortable and the chef very accomodating making us up veggie and meat platters for sunday evening in the bar.
Having the peacocks walking around and the cat joining in the party was lovely.The Hog roast at the party was superb and all our guests said how wonderful the food and surroundings are. Ross and the young girl who served our breakfasts, worked on reception and served drinks in the bar worked incredibly hard. I would highly recommend it as a party venue and a peaceful, country retreat. I can see us having more partys there in the future.

Room Tip: The Lewes suite is a lovely family suite of 3 rooms and a large sitting room opening onto the courty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madeleine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your evening and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    46
    28
    22
    32
See reviews for
45
84
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is our second visit to Crockstead, love the setting, peace and quietness of the location. The staff are more than friendly and very helpful. Rooms clean and tidy, comfortable bed. Breakfast and evening meals superb. Cats always a welcome sight and so is the peacock! If your looking for a rural location then this is for you! Surprised to see negative feedback, maybe those who do not do rural should go elsewhere and leave this tranquil place for the ones that enjoy the countryside and cats!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimjam46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are please to hear that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the wildlife around Crockstead. We would love to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a beautiful weekend at crockstead- really couldn't find any faults with this pretty little place! Nice location and beautiful grounds had some lovely walks with the dog also surrounded by wildlife/animals. All staff exceptionally friendly and go out of their way for you very personal touches and polite and attentive. Pretty restaurant very romantic and has lovely log fireplace, food was gorgeous excellent chef and very reasonably priced. Also very nice cooked breakfast was included. Our room was superb lovely decoration, clean and spacious, very warm and comfortable. Had such a magical time can't thank you all enough :) would def recommend this hotel to anyone and will def come back 10 out of 10 x

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstylou84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Many thanks for your comments - we look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

What a beautiful place to stay on our anniversary. Met at reception by a young lady with a pleasant greeting & beaming smile, very quickly booked in and shown to our room; the young lady asked if we were dinning in the restaurant & told it was a 3 course meal that evening.

The radiators were on and room beautifully warm. Once settled etc..went along to the restaurant to be met again by the young lady and the chef. We ordered drinks, sat down at a table and then ordered our evening meal. Must say the meal was very well presented and absolutely delicious. The young lady was extremely attentive without being intrusive all evening, chatting away like she new us once we had finished our meal.

We had a comfortable nights sleep and a lovely hot shower in the morning. Went along to the restaurant to be met by the chef, who served us. He took our order and my partner had a full English cooked breakfast, while I had scramble eggs/bacon & toast which again was well presented and much appreciated.

This hotel is set in lovely, pretty surroundings with additional wildlife; chickens, ducks, cats, peacocks and of course horses.

The two members of staff who met us are a real credit to the hotel and we hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kira1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I attended the Mid Surrey Farmers Hunt Ball on Friday evening and what a fantastic evening we had.
The marquee looked fabulous with plenty of space even though there were over 200 of us. The food was excellent (the lamb was superb) and the staff were extremely attentive.
We all enjoyed ourselves dancing until the early hours so much and hope to go back there for the Ball next year

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Everyone seemed to enjoy themselves and we have had very positive feedback. Hopefully we will have the Hunt Ball here again next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxted, , United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Arrived for a family party, checked in, went to the room found the heating was not on so put it on and the radiator never got hot at all.In the morning found dry blood on the sheets , cobwebs in the room,Went for breakfast next morning with our family , pulled out a chair at the table only to find a pile of dried cats poo.cats seam to have the run of the restaurant and lounge area .Breakfast was not the best we have had by a long way.would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Further to your comments on tripadvisor - it is as shame that if you experienced the things that you have said, as they are serious allegations that you are stating, that you did not mention any of it on checkout - surely if you were that unhappy you would have said something and you would not have paid if you weren't satisfied - there were three staff on duty that morning.

We have not received any other negative comments from the party and certainly no complaints about breakfast - they were certainly all eaten. The feedback from the party by everyone else was very positive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Halland hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Ascot, Berkshire
Level Contributor
188 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel as a friend of ours was celebrating her 40th birthday and had her party in the hotel's function room. We arrived and were met by a pleasant young lady who checked us in quickly and then walked us up to our room.

The room itself was nicely laid out, had the essentials: bed, bathroom, TV, wardrobe etc. We settled in, got changed, managed to switch on the radiator as the room was cold when we arrived and we then watched a bit of TV.

We headed to the bar to have a pre-party drink and were served with a smile. There's quite a bit of wildlife here at the hotel and it was lovely to see ducks, peacocks, cats and of course horses (it's an equestrian centre too).

The party was great and the staff did a great job serving us all night and into the wee small hours. We retired for the evening and had a reasonable night's sleep only to be woken by the noise of pipes and water - it sounded as if the water boiler was right above our room. The walls were a little thin so we could hear other people in their rooms, too. Also, we struggled a little with the small duvet, there were moments in the night when one of us hogged it leaving the other one to get cold.

We woke and had a nice shower, although it was on the luke-warm side. The shower gel and shampoo comes in sachets which seemed very cheap, it would have been nice to have proper little bottles, plus there was nowhere in the shower itself to put the shower gel and shampoo sachets on. The shower could have done with a little tray on the wall really.

We were slightly concerned when a member of staff (a young gentleman) knocked on the door and said that water was running down the walls of the room directly below ours. We checked the shower and sink and our water was draining in the correct way, so sounds as if some plumbing checks are needed.

Once dressed, we headed off to breakfast and was met by the young gentleman again who sat us and took our order. Sadly, the coffee was instant - despite being served in a cafetière. In fact, when I saw it, I thought that fresh ground coffee would be a real treat, only to be served instant... (Yes, I admit, I am a bit of a coffee snob...). The cooked breakfast was delicious, though both of us had just one third of a sausage each on our plate, but there were lots of bacon, toast, beans, potatoes and a nice fresh egg.

Then we checked out and again, the same gentleman settled our bill and wished us well on our way.

The + points:
Nice location
Great wildlife
Attentive staff
Nice breakfast

The - points
Lukewarm water
Banging noises early morning (pipes)
Instant coffee
And it would seem that the place is short-staffed given that the young man was working in the evening for the function, right up to 2am, and then was on in the morning, seemingly alone

In all, it's not the best hotel, not the worst, so give it a go!

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs (rooms 5 through to 12)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ascottowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockstead, Manager at Crockstead Farm Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halland
1.0 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
6.8 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
3.3 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#5 of 8 in Lewes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.5 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
9.3 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockstead Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockstead Farm Hotel

Property: Crockstead Farm Hotel
Address: Eastbourne Road | Halland, Halland, Lewes BN8 6PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes > Halland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Halland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockstead Farm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Crockstead Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing